Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
My initial reaction was that it is somewhat remote, but this came to be a bonus as I was walking to various locations, the positive meant my fitness improved. I also had the opportunity to speak with local people to get to learn their point of view for the area. Unfortunately as it is coming to the end of the Holiday season, I was transferred to a sister Hotel, in the Across Hotels Group as Maintenance work was to start a week early than planned. The Silver Bay Hotel in Kontakali, I was told this was a better quality Hotel, I am afraid to say my opinion differs. The initial reaction was positive but once you get to the rooms I am afraid the standard of quality nosedives. A distinct lack of investment in general maintenance comes to light. The cleaning staff are OK but it is the lack of maintenance that lets the Hotel down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Improvement required

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Hotel nearly 2 kilometres from beach and restaurants. Road not very safe on foot or pedal bike. Heard well located if you're planning on trips to villages by vehicle. Taxis very expensive but can book the shuttle bus online for transfer to and from airport. Buses are 2 kms away and dont run that often to Corfu Town and Paleokastratis etc. Asked about supper on first day and told better to inform them if want day before. Supper appears to be whatever is left over from their other hotel. Eventually provided with 3 chicken wings and a plate of spaghetti with no discernable sauce cost 8 euros. A cup of very small tea 2 euros. A glass of wine 2 or 3 euros. Noted can get a carafe of wine in Arios restaurant for 3 euros. Breakfast generally dull one type of cheese and spam. Usually hard boiled eggs occasional fried. If there is asniff of bacon you need to be quick. An omelette would have been appreciated. A couple of breakfsst cereals. No toast. In room A/c wouldn't budge under 17 degrees. TV only Greek no English movie option. Internet access variable. No tea or coffee with kettle and dont bother asking. Cleaning staff noisy shouting in the mornings. Room is kept clean and beds made. Pillow rock hard. Music from pool area audible most of day and night although improved at end of week as volume reduced after 9 pm. Wouldn't return as it stands.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a good position on the island.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Good position on the nicest area of the island. Garden outlook very pleasant. Pool and its surrounds lovely. Staff friendly and helpful and room clean
Cons: Several breakfast items ran out. The room smelt damp. No proper restaurant or deli as described In details.
Location: Paleokastritsa and surrounding beaches, view points good. Glyfada, Pelekas and Kaiser's Throne worth visiting. Great sunsets from the west coast.
We hired a car and saw much of the island. People friendly, tavernas offered good food, portion sizes a bit big, we never made it to a dessert course! Some lovely beaches and sights and we enjoyed our day in Corfu town Sadly roads in a poor state and a lot of rubbish - bins overflowing and fly tipping. Liapades, the closest beach looked good but had a sewage outflow on one side and smelt terrible.
3 out of 5
by Aleksandar from Belgrade

2 weeks @ Corfu

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Definitely this is 3 star hotel but definitely doesn't worth 1800 Euros I paid for 14 days (2+1 beds,BB).Also depends what room you will get. On arrival we got something that you cannot call a room, more like a refurbished cave.After serious complain,next morning, we got a better, normal,room. Hotel is based in the "middle of nowhere" and transport vehicle is mandatory. No sea view , just a hill across the road. The benefit is very pleasant temperature over night - no need for AC even during August. Breakfast is "first come first served basis", and if you come late you will miss most of the food and drink. Parking is nice and safe. Staff is polite and friendly. Internet is working pore , even for simple e-mails.Rooms are clean with fridge operating. Old fashion CTR TV, with lot of cables hanging around.Pool is OK, but with lot of bees all around - must be very careful when entering/leaving.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A 50/50 experience

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The pool is nice and clean, very few ppl use it. The room cleaning is excellent. Hotel is sufficient if it budget price is paid.
Cons: Breakfast should be covered as some dishes had flies on them. Quality of hotel dinners Location on google is misleading.
Location: The best dinner in the Lipades town has to the Cricketer Taverna - the food is delicious and the owners very welcoming!
We stayed here for 10 days using it as a base to see the Corfu area. The hotel is sufficient if you plan to go out everyday, offering basic clean rooms and a reasonable breakfast. But if you want a relaxing pool/beach experience with good food and drinks at hand, I would recommend looking at other hotels in Corfu. Please note the hotel is not within the Lipades town (as shown on Google Maps) - you WILL need a vehicle to get around! Our first 2 days weren't the best at the hotel - there was hardly any food left at breakfast (no replenishments) despite arriving there with more than 1 hour left. I had to keep asking for breakfast items and cutlery; plates were left on the tables despite staff walking in and out of the room. I had to clean the table and plates away before we sat down - so first impressions were not great. On our first evening, we had dinner at the hotel and sent both dishes away as they were cold. It turned out my dish was frozen in the middle, and they only make 1 fresh meal a day. After the first 2 days, we complained to the manager; the service did improve thereafter (including breakfast). The hotel has a lot of potential, but it's under staffed and needs more training and direction. The hotel is fine if you paid budget price, plan to go out during the day, and just do a B/B deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Relaxing stay in the sun

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet pool.
We planned a stay somewhere quiet and relaxing. Away from the beach so that we could take things nice and easy, so that we could relax in the sun. The hotel was easy to find, quiet with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hazlemere, UK

Excellent base for touring & great pool to relax

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and great pool, with complementary iced water from the adjacent empty bar plus romatic swims in the setting sun.
Cons: The breakfast could do with a bit more variety and some more traditional fresh Greek fayre.
Location: The location is a little remote but an excellent base from which to explore the best of Corfu by car - NW and NE. Nearby Paleokastritsa is beautiful.
A very enjoyable week at the end of August spent at the Paradise Inn. The staff running the hotel were very friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel was never busy even with all rooms taken and the pool, cleaned meticulously every day, was often empty with loungers always available. Other visitors were mainly middle-aged couples with few children around, presumably due the hotel's remote location. For a family, hiring a car is essential which can be easily done in advance online - although quad bikes and scooters seemed to be the choice for many couples. The breakfast provided was a bit basic and repetitive but the fridges provided in all our rooms meant it was easy to supplement with milk and fruit from the nearby supermarkets. The hotel itself was very peaceful and the piped pool music also quiet. The best rooms were at the back, away from the road, looking out onto an old olive orchard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Fantastic staff. Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Staff were fantastic. Hotel clean and well kept. Hotel was slightly understaffed. Breakfast could be better. Would return just for the exceptional staff and lovely pool. Location good / central and v nr paleokastritka.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Noisy Music

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Not many guests evident during the day...no scramble for sun beds
Cons: Remove speakers and let people relax.If you do you will probably find that more people use the pool bar and restaurant.
Location: Vehicle essential.Old town Liapades is a must
Do not think as some previous reviews suggest that this is a family run hotel.It isnt.It has been taken over by a company and whilst the staff are eager to please and work tirelessly when the hotel is busy they struggle to cope.A vehicle is a must.A road (not a busy one but with fast moving traffic none the less)runs directly in front of the hotel so walking along there in safety,especially at night is not recommended( and in any case the hotel is quite a distance from other attractions)On booking this hotel I requested a quiet upper floor room.We were eventually allocated a ground floor room which was located within metres of the pool bar and its powerful and noisy music speakers.(more olater)On arrival during the specified booking in time we were told there would be a delay in our room being ready.We would be told it would be an hour.So we enjoyed the beautiful and guest free pool area.After several requests we were finally shown to our room TWO hours later which is NOT acceptable.Wanting to wash and freshen up there were no towels, a request revealed that they would not be ready until later that evening and when they eventually did arrive they were still damp.The family room was reasonable..separate bedroom for the kids which was a bonus.Fridge and large terrace/balcony.During the day the pool area was deserted so no problem with availability of sun beds.Basic breakfast and annoying,loud,constant pool bar music spoilt our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welwyn Garden City,England

Paradise at Paradise!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Great stay,great place. Lovely place to relax and un-wind. Staff are so friendly. Would definitely recommend/return.