Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

extremely good staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
my first visit to Greece and i was awed by Greeks hospitality and their genuine friendliness. We have met great people there and had time of our lives. That statement includes hotel we styed in and its fantastic staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.Our restaurant manager- George always had some get-around tips for us and recommended great places to visit, very approachable person and a real asset for the hotel. During busy breakfasts skilfully managed his team and i have also noticed staff from other departments were called to help when a coach tour came down all at once for brekkie. Food was always fresh and warm, selection of items was absolutely satisfactory. I dont really understand why some guests are so quick to complain, perhaps they dont really understand the concept of hotel industry and pricing strategies, although i believe these people are always unsatisfied, malcontent types and keyboard warriors. Oh ad Victoria, thanks for all your assistance with sorting plates and cutlery for us :) The reception Staff always very friendly and accommodating, they tended to every need we had, organized a bottle of champagne for my friend's birthday, and gave us complimentary late check-out. Maria, Lenka and Christina, thank you so much for your lovely smile, greeting us every time you saw us and making our vacations so special, night team also thank you for your help. You make all the difference and again i want to underscore that it is the people, the staff that make th
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kanoni

Great views!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Views
Ok, well we went half term in October so out of season. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and would go out of their way to help. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. We had a sea view over looking the runway which meant there was noise but not that much. The planes didn't fly through the night and the earliest flight was about 6.30am and most mornings we slept through the noise. Out of season meant not many planes but I would imagine the summer months would be more. The noise really didn't bother us and we was prepared to have noise since it stayed close to the runway. The buses ran every 10-15 mins on the blue service and took us straight into town. A single trip is €1.70 and they do a daily ticket which is €5 and that's used on all blue routes up until midnight. Overall the location was perfect, views were fantastic. Hotel was perfect for us as a base to put our head down and to freshen up. Staff were brilliant. Perfect access for the mouse church too with steps leading down to the church.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location. Hotel's cafe will give you amazing views on both: the nearby airport landing line and southern tip of the town.
Reception staff was very useful. Especially Maria made an extra mile being really helpful with all our requests! Thanks! :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not the choice for a peaceful stay

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Staff, views and proximity to Corfu Town
Cons: Further Sound proofing to rooms plus a modernisation
Location: Handy for Mouse Island, Mon Repos and Corfu Town
Hotel is in a great location as far as view is concerned, Mouse Island is visible from hotel, staff are fantastic, however despite knowing proximity to airport runway we were not expecting the noise to be so excessive. The location seems to amplify the sound.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

The hotel is fine for a couple of much stay.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The hotel is fine, for a couple of nights, however needs to have some serious investment, to bring it up to standard. The room we stayed in had been through some modernisation but corners had been cut, the bath tub was clearly old whilst the rest has been updated. The area around the hotel has a couple of nice bars/ restaurants and watching the planes from your balcony is a novelty.
5 out of 5
by David from Crawley

Plane geeks paradise!

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
Found this hotel based on our "choice" of wanting a hotel next to the airport - famous for its amazing runway views. Check in was very efficient and personalised, we were escorted to our room by the lovely lady from reception. This hotel is perfect for a few days away. The planes are there right outside your balcony, but as soon as you close the (double glazed) doors and the curtains you don't hear a thing. The rooms have just been redecorated for the 2015 season I think, as they were modern in appearance yet traditional in a Greek hotel kind of way. This is not somewhere to come for a week's beach holiday but does make a perfect base if you want to explore the island. Local transport is available right outside the hotel. Buses run every 20 minutes to Corfu Town, from where you can catch buses to most parts of the island. Alternatively inexpensive car rental is available from reception - they use Lord Travel. We caught a taxi from the airport which cost €15 and on the way back reception called us one for the airport, again costing €15. Journey took less than 10 minutes each way, and then only that long because of the one way system through Kanoni and Corfu Town. In the evening there was plenty to do, we ate at the Captains Restaurant - we the entertainment was provided by the owner and his staff. A typical Greek meal cost us just €6 each and a carafe of wine €3. Will definitely be visiting Kanoni, and the Royal Hotel again this summer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Nothing was too much trouble for staff. watching airplanes very interesting and facilities excellent. Would return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not if you want to sleep

Posted Jul 13, 2014
This hotel is immediately adjacent to the airport runway and there is no sound-proofing - it was impossible to sleep the night I was there - planes taking off and landing until after 4am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by KrisA from UK

Enjoyable

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
I was a bit worried when we first pulled up as this hotel didn't look quiet as nice as the photos and it was located about 200m from a runway. But eventhough the hotel wasn't in tip top shape, the rooms were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Just to the left of the hotel were some nice cafes and a cocktail bar that had a beautilful view of the sea at sunset. And it was kind of fun watching the planes land. Nearby is a beach for swimming and a seawall that is good for a days entertaining. The bus for town picks up just outside and runs every 20 minutes, so it was not problem getting around. Breakfast was adequate, but not great.