Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Scam picture hotel: Noisy, smelly, dirty

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Remove this hotel from expedia as it is a scam. Possibly tear the building down and desinfect the whole area.
Location: Literally on the runway of Corfu airport
It doesnt matter who you are and what your taste is like, this hotel is not for you. First its nothing like the pictures suggest. In fact I was very impressed with the photoshop skills of the owner but less so with the actual place. The name is a joke Royal (not ina million years), boutique (nothing boutiquey about this worn down motel block). The hotel is located next to the airport runway (you can actually see it when you are landing in Corfu). The smell on the ground floor upon our arrival was horrendous (something between wet dog and dead animal). The lift we were told to use is bound to get stuck and dangerous (late 1950ies?). We found bugs in our room and didnt even open our suit cases should there be bed bugs (which to be fair there were none). The room looked very mediocre and not like on the pictures at all. There were smudges on the wall. There were no proper bed linens and the mattress was rather uncomfortable. The linens looked freshly washed, the blanket however not. The room was ok clean, the toilet too if you can ignore the bugs. The fuses went and we had to shower in the dark. The hotel staff was not helpful at all and reacted agressive when we told them about our disappointment. Im glad we only stayed for one night. There is far nicer, cleaner and cheaper places around Corfu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were nice. Cleanliness was okay - could have been better. Room was basic. Wifi was bad. Breakfast was awful. Location was okay - though loud because of the airport and you have to take the bus or rent a car to get anywhere. Would NOT use the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal,Canada

Nice but does'nt meet standards of hotel-boutiques

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Extraordinary front desk clerk, locaion.
Cons: Bigger rooms, shower window or curtain and carpet, extra pillows and towels in the room,
Location: Great if you want to be away from the city,near the airport. Good city bus service (15 min from town), I recommend an hotel near Corfu's nicer beaches
We arrived around 11h15am. We were welcomed by an extraordinary nice, caring and helpful front desk clerk (Xenia I think) who allowed us to leave our luggage ahead of time in the room that was being cleaned.We were well prepared but she also gave us wonderfuls and useful tips as where to go, what to skip and her recommanded spots for our tour of the island by car for the next 2 days. The room was small and there was no shower curtain and carpet (messy!). It was complicated and long to get extra pillows, towels and sheets in the evening and at night. Breakfast was very suitable. Very conveniently located besides the Vlachernas monastery on the Kanoni peninsula in front of the airport landing runway, great pictues and the noise didn't annoy us). Very good city bus service few steps away (line 2 Kanoni, get a 5 euros full-day ticket) and also ideal if you have a car and want to get away from the agitation of Corfu-town. I guess I was just expecting a little more at the price I paid from a so-called ''hotel-boutique''.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Not too far from the airport. You can see how flights come and go out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017
Dear Guests, thank you for your comment, we really wish to see you back again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room was decent, with air con, and balcony. Swimming pool across the road was lovely, relatively quiet most of the time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Nice area

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The surrounding area
Cons: Most things
The area sourounding the hotel has great views and two good resturants especially captain George's, the hotel itself looked very tired .and in need of an upgrade . The worst aspect of the hotel was that Corfu airport run way was in a loogoon aproxiamatly eight hundred metres from the hotel so the noise of the aircraft taking of and landing was constant the planes stoped operating from approximately one am till six am .we had a so called see view of the run way and you could with the balcony doors closed still hear the planes. On the good side the pool area was fine .good connections to Corfu town by bus and just up the road a great view of Mouse Island and the surrounding area .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

extremely good staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
my first visit to Greece and i was awed by Greeks hospitality and their genuine friendliness. We have met great people there and had time of our lives. That statement includes hotel we styed in and its fantastic staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.Our restaurant manager- George always had some get-around tips for us and recommended great places to visit, very approachable person and a real asset for the hotel. During busy breakfasts skilfully managed his team and i have also noticed staff from other departments were called to help when a coach tour came down all at once for brekkie. Food was always fresh and warm, selection of items was absolutely satisfactory. I dont really understand why some guests are so quick to complain, perhaps they dont really understand the concept of hotel industry and pricing strategies, although i believe these people are always unsatisfied, malcontent types and keyboard warriors. Oh ad Victoria, thanks for all your assistance with sorting plates and cutlery for us :) The reception Staff always very friendly and accommodating, they tended to every need we had, organized a bottle of champagne for my friend's birthday, and gave us complimentary late check-out. Maria, Lenka and Christina, thank you so much for your lovely smile, greeting us every time you saw us and making our vacations so special, night team also thank you for your help. You make all the difference and again i want to underscore that it is the people, the staff that make th
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kanoni

Great views!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Views
Ok, well we went half term in October so out of season. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and would go out of their way to help. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. We had a sea view over looking the runway which meant there was noise but not that much. The planes didn't fly through the night and the earliest flight was about 6.30am and most mornings we slept through the noise. Out of season meant not many planes but I would imagine the summer months would be more. The noise really didn't bother us and we was prepared to have noise since it stayed close to the runway. The buses ran every 10-15 mins on the blue service and took us straight into town. A single trip is €1.70 and they do a daily ticket which is €5 and that's used on all blue routes up until midnight. Overall the location was perfect, views were fantastic. Hotel was perfect for us as a base to put our head down and to freshen up. Staff were brilliant. Perfect access for the mouse church too with steps leading down to the church.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location. Hotel's cafe will give you amazing views on both: the nearby airport landing line and southern tip of the town.
Reception staff was very useful. Especially Maria made an extra mile being really helpful with all our requests! Thanks! :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not the choice for a peaceful stay

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Staff, views and proximity to Corfu Town
Cons: Further Sound proofing to rooms plus a modernisation
Location: Handy for Mouse Island, Mon Repos and Corfu Town
Hotel is in a great location as far as view is concerned, Mouse Island is visible from hotel, staff are fantastic, however despite knowing proximity to airport runway we were not expecting the noise to be so excessive. The location seems to amplify the sound.