Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

A good place to stay in Cork.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I stayed here for 2 nights recently. The room I was in was clean and comfortable. The shower was great. The breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from including freshly baked bread and buns. Fresh fruit and a good choice for a cooked breakfast also. The staff where very helpful and friendly also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great Guesthouse!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Available parking. Nice room. Great atmosphere. Friendly staff. Loaner mobile to show you around town.
Location: Nice restaurants nearby but make sure you call to make a reservation if needed.
Great experience in a comfortable, friendly, and within walking distance of various restaurants location. Kudos to Kathleen, the manager there for making our stay wonderful. Rooms with 3 beds for a family of four so that the kids get their own beds are available. They have their own garden in the back for fresh food, some animals (bunnies, ducks, chickens, some birds) for the kids to see and a lounge area. Breakfast had good variety (continental or order from menu) and was a good value. We only stayed overnight as it was a waystop for us but if we ever go back to Cork we'll be booking again for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Amazing staff, perched right over the town

Posted Aug 19, 2017
My daughter and I loved our time at Gabriel House, we kept calling it "home." This isn't a chain hotel experience in that there is no elevator and the beds are slightly on the older side, but I feel it was and EXCELLENT experience for our money. The included breakfast was delicious and had many choices, and above all, the staff were extremely accommodating throughout our stay. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Valerie from Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much Erica delighted you both had a good stay with us at Gabriel House. Next time you need to visit Cork be sure to get in touch with us. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Overall great experience. Google map couldn't find hotel and we called the hotel and the night time contact walked us through the directions :) Breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Valerie from Reception, Hotel Management
Google maps directs guests up a road that we who live here do not like to use which is why we usually send detailed directions initially with the confirmation email.It is more difficult to navigate at night when street names are hard to see. Glad you eventually made it Kind regards Valerie
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
People were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017
We do our best to help make the guest's stay as easy as possible, delighted to hear it is working Kind regards Valerie @ Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B and B! Great location!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great B and B! Great location! Great staff! This was our last stay on a two week trip to Ireland and we were very happy with this cute B and B!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Valerie, Hotel Management
You finished you vacation on a positive note and we were very happy to facilitate you. We take pride in our staff & the service we provide, so glad you approve. Kind regards Valerie @ Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay at Gabriel Guest House

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Location: About a ten minute walk down into Cork City. Plenty of eateries in McCurtain Street and beyond, several of which offer discount to Gabriel guests.
Friendly and informative check-in from Valerie. Room well equipped and bed comfortable with plenty of pillows and cosy duvet. Neat tray, kettle and selection of teas, coffee and little biscuits. Modern shower room with handwash/shower gel and lovely towels. Plenty of choice at breakfast to set one up for the day. I'd not be daunted by the steeply raked driveway and car park which has tons of space. Would definitely stay again. The price is reasonable too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Valerie , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review I think you covered just about everything. Should you find yourself back this way again feel free to contact us we will be delighted to see you. Kind regards Valerie @ Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly service and great location
Wonderful friendly service. Laundry done for me in less than 2 hours due to early departure the following morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Extremely small, poorly furnished rooms.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Room for three was up three flights of stairs & had no windows (ceiling only). Extremely small room with bathroom comparable to a cruise ship. If unfamiliar with the area and town, can be difficult to find (typical to Ireland).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels