Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria

Excellent hotel, short walk to City Centre

Posted Feb 9, 2016
The staff were terrific, nothing was a problem, everyone was helpful and happy to be so! Great restaurant too, lovely food, great staff and a lovely setting. Breakfasts were terrific, great choice and again, nothing was a bother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Rhona Heggtveit, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel, Cork City and we hope to welcome you back again in the not to distant future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Hotel staff was very friendly. My top mark goes to Don the night bar man. He was brilliant and so funny keep it up Don.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

The food was really superb!Rooms so spacious!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: GREAT FOOD in resturant; helpful staff, beautiful and comfortable room. Great rates! The large bath tub was great after a day of touring.
Cons: Perhaps the desk staff might have more info on tourist things like the tour bus.
Location: Cork Tour bus, Gaol tour was really interesting, Kinsale and Blarney Castle are only 30 min away. The food at the hotel was soo great!
The hotel staff were great; food was fabulous, the room was spacious, comfortable and lovely. great location for us with free parking!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David from OR

Great Stay

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, close to downtown and the night life. Very friendly and helpful staff as well. We would book here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karl from Silver Lake, OH

Swell time at a GRAND hotel.

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Get away for wife and I. The hotel is really nice. Room was great. The elevator needs some work - shake rattle and roll - we choose to use the stairs after the first trip.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by IDOIA from Barcelona

UN DESASTRE!

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Nuestra experiencia en este hotel fue desastrosa. Empezando por la ubicación, lejísimos del centro de la ciudad, en un barrio que no hay de nada. Siguiendo por la habitación, nos toco un zulo en el primer piso con unas bonitas vistas a una pared de ladillos y a un transformador eléctrico. Sin descuidarnos, de la fauna y flora de la habitación a consecuencia de una, más que lamentable, limpieza. Como podrán comprobar en las fotos que adjunto polvo, moho, mobiliario destartalado y oxidado, bichillos, etc. serán amables compañeros en su estancia. Solicitamos un cambio de habitación, nos indicaron que no podía ser, pero que a lo largo del día se haría una limpieza a fondo,que por supuesto no se hizo. Les recomendaría que buscaran otro hotel, puesto que por menos lo que se paga en este, seguro que encuentran y como mínimo estarán limpios. ¡Nosotros seguro que no volvemos!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nice from the outside but the hotel was very old inside, staff were helpful. Lifts were very old, i had to climb two seperate stairs to reach my room as it was at the back of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is quite secluded for a town such as Cork, takes over 20 mins to get to the city centre. In my opinion, room size (bathroom was as small as it could be to cram all necessary elements), furniture (looked old and not well kept) and hotel facilities (lifts were scarily old and slow) do not correspond to a 4* hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Love the decor but mostly it was the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Cork city centre is about 10 minutes walk away. There is a good bus service out to Blarney Castle which is set in beautiful gardens.
We were very impressed with the Ambassador hotel. Reception and dining/lounge areas are very nicely designed. Our room was clean and comfortable and cosy. The staff are all very pleasant, helpful and friendly. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the centre of Cork although it is uphill on the way back!