Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tipperary

Views are amazing

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Check in was quick and efficient. With it being jazz weekend - the receptionist was very helpful with restaurant choices and any queries we had. We had booked two rooms (2 couples) and our rooms were side by side. The bedroom was extremely clean, big, spacious and likewise with the bathroom. Myself and my girlfriend visited the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna the following morning and there facilities were well laid out with the views again to the fore. Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely have to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Beautiful setting. I was just lucky to have checked the reservation before we left or I would not have known about the name change
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Super Location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Really good location and grounds which contrast dramatically, (with relief) from a rough, lacklustre approach from the main road a few miles away.
Large generous hotel and layout, wide corridors with rooms to match. Bright and cheerful decor everywhere. Excellent staff at every level we encountered. Our own room was very spacious, modern and bright with a glorious outlook toward Oysterhaven Bay and coast. Bed was massive, Bathroom large, modern and well lit. On close and perhaps over-critical inspection, some aspects of the room furnishings and decor showed the age of the hotel, but nontheless all was as well maintained as appeared possible. Perhaps the in room armchairs could do with replacing with something newer. Public areas were bright, reception area very impressive. Occupancy levels varied daily, not sure the restaurant and bar would cope spacewise with busy periods. Food was generally OK. although other than breakfasts we ate out every evening, so not able to comment fairly. Overall a far better experience than was anticipated after reading some reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A magnificent Vista

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Everything-the atmosphere, the pool, the food, the breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Town of kinsale is very beautiful
The views are majestic and peaceful. I have traveled extensively in Ireland but the outdoor views from the restaurant are breathtaking. Our room faced the front and it was a beautiful rich experience to look out and see lakes and trees and a little boat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Excellent except for mix up with our room.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The view of the Irish countryside from the back patio.
Lovely hotel and property. Receptionist was as helpful as possible under the circumstances. We had requested a room with twins beds. Upon checking into our room there was only one bed. I felt confident that it would be resolved after a lovely dinner, but no. We had to move to another room and lost the view that we had reserved and was printed on our Expedia reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medina, OH

Very secluded 5 star resort

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Stunning resort, views, tranquil
Cons: staff friendliness
Location: not real close to anything but it has everything you need to get away and relax
We wish we could have spent longer at the resort but the time we did was wonderful. The pool was great but remember to bring your swim caps! The views are fantastic. Take time to walk around the many trails and paths on the property. The staff was kind of snobbish but effective.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medina, OH, U.S.A.

Very secluded. Nice pool, bring a swim cap.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The hotel was great. Staff wasn't as friendly or helpful as they could have been. Pool was nice with a kiddy pool for our little one but they are very strict about all there rules for the pool and there are a lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

The hotel was a short distance out of town

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The location is great the view is great. The room was not great shower was broken room was not cleaned clean towels etc were left in room door Handel. There was a shortage of staff on bar area service was poor Unfortunately it spoiled what could have been a good stay. The town is a great place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Location: Highly recommend the Kinsale Ghost Walk - hilarious!
Nice hotel within easy driving distance to the town. Plenty of parking available which is a problem in the town itself. Very comfortable bed. Lovely views of the river. Quiet location. Breakfasts were great, plenty of choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.I

Great views but hotel is a bit tired.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Hotel is in a beautiful location with views over oyster haven bay. The only downsides are it's a bit far out from the town of kinsale and the shuttle bus only operates in the evening. The rooms in the hotel are not the cleanest with stained carpets and chairs and could do with a deep clean from top to bottom. Front of house staff are very good and quick to resolve any issues. Food is not great with cold buffet breakfast and poor bar food as well. I would say this is more a 3 star than a 4. All that said it has amazing views.