Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton UK

High quality hotel with charming staff

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly efficient and helpful front desk staff.
Cons: Room servicing was very late on one occasion and had not been done on our return at 3.45 one afternoon.
Location: On the southern side of the city near the village of Douglas. Very handy for the airport (15 minutes). Would definitely stay again.
The only thing preventing a straight 5 score was lateness servicing our room on one occasion. The restaurant is expensive but the food is excellent,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No A/C.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Expedia should make a point of mentioning this as most Americans assume room is air conditioned. No screens on windows. Room was not ready at designated check in time. Room had bad view of roof of maintenance buildings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sf from USA

Overpriced - Poor maintenance

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Overpriced compared to any ofthe other hotels we stayed in Ireland. Hot and hallways looked ratty . Our room had kind of a funny smell . The elevator did not work well -nothing special unless you were having a wedding reception -that room look nice . Did not even have coffee in the morning at 8 o'clock everything was empty . For 250 a night would not stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the trip

Posted May 27, 2016
I had booked a room and when we got there it had a view of the kitchen area . There was a huge party going on. I asked for another room and was given a room in he "spa:" area. It was small and not very nice. Would I return there? Absolutely not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stayed there often for weddings

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Good size, no screaming children.
Cons: Breakfast maybe could be more substancial
Location: Douglas is nearby. It's a great town. Everything you need
Grand hotel, well situated clean and all that with very big comfortable bed. Breakfast is grand. The staff are sound. Would like an offer of an upgrade seeing as I'm there so often... but whatever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kyle, TX

Elegant and Charming

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The hotel and grounds are absolutely spectacular. The hotel staff could not have been any friendlier. I was amazed by the staff's desire to provide outstanding customer service. The hotel Manager noticed my wife and I leaving our room prior to departure and insisted that we allow him to personally help with our bags.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Excellent value at last minute rate

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The relaxed friendly atmosphere.
Location: Only passing through on our way to the Ring of Kerry, which I would also recommend.
Friendly, welcoming reception staff, lovely clean room and beautiful gardens to sit in with a glass of wine or two. There was a wedding in the hotel and, as an outsider, it looked as though everything possible had been done to make it a memorable day for the wedding party and guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great swimming pool and jacuzzi!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The staff was very helpful in trying to locate a bike rental for us. The restaurant served marvelous food. Gorgeous landscaping.
Cons: Better cleaning of rooms. Plates at the buffet had residues.
Location: The Douglas Shopping Mall was easily accessible--downhill walk of about 15 mins. Many taxis available at the mall for trip into city centre.
Disappointed with the bedding-scratchy, pilly sheets. We had to sanitize the room w/our alcohol swabs--suspicious smudges on door handles, tv remote, telephones, dust on lampshades. Very stingy with the towels. They kept trying to give us one set of towels when there were two of us. I booked the Maryborough mainly because I thought I saw "bicycles for rent on site" posted on their website. This was untrue. This suburban area is very high traffic and hilly, unsuitable for bike riding anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel with excellent staff

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: All areas spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant, great location.
Location: Excellent location. 15-20 mins from airport in quite suburb of Douglass, only 10 mins from Cork and its various attractions.
Stayed for 3 nights in September as a couple. Found the hotel to be excellent in all areas, set in beautiful grounds with extremely welcoming and accommodating staff who were more than willing to assist with any additional requirements we had. Fantastic 3 course dinner in the restaurant and a great selection available for breakfast. Couldn't recommend highly enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Feels like a Castle

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Very beautiful hotel with incredible gardens nestled in South Cork. Close to a mall, we found it easy to get to. The service is simply first class and catered to us constantly with friendly smiles. No doubt we would stay again.