Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Ideal home from home when visiting Northumberland

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very friendly staff and welcoming environment. Great for day trips to spots all around Northumberland, with Alnwick to the South, Seahouses, Bamburgh and Holy Island to the East and Berwick-on-Tweed to the North. Nice to start the day with a very good breakfast and have the option to book a Dinner, served just for the guests, in the evening when you return from a trip. Then join other guests in the spacious and well-furnished Lounge to discuss the days outing and make plans for the next day. And with an honesty bar and a "switch of the lights when you retire" it really is a home from home - without the cleaning, cooking and washing up. What could be nicer!
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Excellent

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
The welcome when you arrive and the tea and cake was a lovely welcoming touch especially after a long journey. Room was lovely with a lovely large bed to unwind on . Evening meal was amazing full of flavour can't fault any of the service I received for the whole duration of my stay . Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone else who wishes to visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, fantastic scenary, plenty of walks - perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel and nice views of the countryside

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly, comfortable and relaxing.
Enjoyable holiday and good memories. Food was lovely and it was nice to see the sheep, lambs and chicken on the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

the Comfort of home

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: This Guest house is settled just below the historic fields of the Battle of Flodden where some 14,000 soldiers were killed . A memorial stands nearby
Nestled amongst the borders' hills the warm welcome we received at the Coach House from our host as she welcomed us into her 'home' and upgraded our room because of a recent cancellation was second to none. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. Excellent staff, good food, a good bed and a hot shower with a very comfortable and spacious guest's lounge with honesty box for the drinks ... what else would you want!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good base for the area and the evening meal was fresh and delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet, comfortable, welcoming.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Warm welcome with afternoon tea. Delicious, well-priced dinner, with good selection of value wines. Comfortable courtyard room, well equipped although a little tight on space. Great sleep quality and very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Guest House - not too far from the seaside

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: friendly
Cons: Our shower was a trickle
Location: reasonably close to Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh castles, to the seaside, not too far from Rothbury - all doable. Lots of castles - Floors, Warkworth etc
Very welcoming place. Although on a main road, it was very quiet. Lovely lounge area in which to relax and great afternoon teas as part of the deal. Well situated for north Northumberland and close to the Scottish border.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Lovely hotel but service was extra special.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location. Many historical properties nearby. Floors Castle in Kelso has the most glorious walled garden.
We had one of our best ever stays at this hotel. The service was extraordinary and so friendly. Afternoon tea was lovely and so relaxing. We cannot wait to go to the hotel again. The food was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Kate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels