Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Guest House - not too far from the seaside

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: friendly
Cons: Our shower was a trickle
Location: reasonably close to Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh castles, to the seaside, not too far from Rothbury - all doable. Lots of castles - Floors, Warkworth etc
Very welcoming place. Although on a main road, it was very quiet. Lovely lounge area in which to relax and great afternoon teas as part of the deal. Well situated for north Northumberland and close to the Scottish border.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Lovely hotel but service was extra special.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location. Many historical properties nearby. Floors Castle in Kelso has the most glorious walled garden.
We had one of our best ever stays at this hotel. The service was extraordinary and so friendly. Afternoon tea was lovely and so relaxing. We cannot wait to go to the hotel again. The food was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Renfrew

Quick getaway but landed very lucky.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Lovely and clean. Really nice decor. Afternoon teas and evening meals available if wanted.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We headed into Berwick-upon-Tweed.to see the sights.
Decided to have a last minute night away. Most places fully booked. Came across The Coachouse on website and what a lucky break. Lovely place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

Rural location spoilt by passing traffic

Posted May 26, 2016
This is a lovely bed and breakfast, the food is really nice, the grounds are lovely and the hosts very pleasant. The bedroom I stayed in was nice but the downsides for me was the noise of the traffic from the almost constant stream of heavy traffic on the road of huge wagons. At some points of the day (from around 5am onwards) the room that I was in actually shook with movement off the road. My other criticism was there was the 'private bathroom' was like a cupboard with a make do kind of style sliding door. It is a really old building which was lovely with low beams and neutral decor but it could do with some upgrading as signs of wear and tear were beginning to show. The hosts were very nice and the location itself was handy for me with the Scottish Borders near and places like Bamburgh, Kelso, a short drive away. I was there on business as a professional photographer and so was interested in the aesthetics of the place, the setting was particularly nice. Spoilt for me by the noise and heavy movement of the house due to traffic, so much so that I am surprised that no one else has mentioned it..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham

Lovely place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Great comfortable, friendly, warm and welcoming place to stay whilst we were on our babymoon. Our room was lovely with beautiful exposed wooden beams, comfortable bed and lovely views. We had a room with a shared landing where our bathroom was outside our room, it was fine and didn't pose any problems. Breakfast was delicious! Staff couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming to us. Would definitely recommend the coach house, such a lovely place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SE England.

Coach House; with free range chickens.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Evening meal was splendid using local produce. Scrummy mackerel pate (was home made). Big plus - great (also home made) goosegog jam at breakfast.
Location: On quiet main road. Nr. Wooler. Roads to coast (20mins), splendid beaches. Etal and Ford. Chillingham Castle. Alnwick - Hardy fishing museum, castle
Easy to find. Plenty of parking. Delighful reception by the staff. Helpful explanation of availability of 3 course dinner, if required and at reasonable price.. Room great - clean, light and airy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Aug 6, 2015
A very comfortable stay. Good breakfasts and fantastic hosts who definitely went the extra mile to ensure that their guests were happy. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wimborne, Dorset

Quiet and comfortable, with homely atmosphere

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Quiet and convenient for sight seeing in Northumberland.
Cons: Being senior citizens, we felt that the shower could have been made safer (not slippery) by the inclusion of a handrail or shower mat (non-slip)
Location: Near most tourist attractions especially Holy Island and the Scottish Borders
Having found this hotel via the internet, we were very pleased with our choice. However, little dissappointed that only one choice of main dish was offered for evening meal, although food provided was excellent., Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorks

Nice quiet guest house

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Quite and clean
Cons: The interior of the room and bathroom need updating but not a problem.
Location: Nicely tucked away from nearby towns of Berwick on Tweed and Seahouses
Lovely overnight stay on our way to Edinburgh. Wonderful warm welcome and excellent breakfast with very good home made jams. The interior of our room was a little tired but very clean and comfortable. We would not hesitate to hook here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southport

Great hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: It is in the countryside and not far from Berwick and Holy Island and the lovely coast.
Stayed for 1 night last weekend and could have stayed longer.The room we had in the main building was very nice the bed so comfy.The lounge is in the courtyard lots of seats and a honesty bar.The staff are brilliant and the evening meal is well worth having.Hope to have another visit and stay longer.