Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite country visit

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are very welcoming and accommodating. I felt as thought they cared deeply about the needs of their visitors. The hotel is situated in a rural area, a 10 minute walk from the nearest village. The site is peaceful, and the hotel grounds are delightful. There is ample parking and a convenient drop-off spot for those unable to amble up the short slope from the parking area. I had a very pleasant breakfast. Food was made to order, good quality and delivered promptly. The room was very comfortable, and in excellent condition. The shower area was clean and looked as though it had been renovated recently. No sign of wear and tear. Wifi was adequate, though it did cut-out briefly. The best part of this hotel is the setting (up on a hill overlooking the countryside) and the staff (friendly and attentive).
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Plymouth

Nice family run, friendly hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was a last minute booking. On arrival the hotel greeted us by name, since they were expecting us that day, which was nice. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location, is in a pleasant rural setting but within easy reach of many attractions. St Agnes is only a short trip (or walk) away with a beach and a range of shops and places to eat out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and well maintained.

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
A very pleasant small hotel with really friendly hosts. I suspect it might be unfair to judge a hotel based on its last working day before closing for the season - hospitality pleasant, several light bulbs out in two rooms, twin room booked wasn't prepared so double offered instead, and a hiccup with the bill. However, the owner and family were very friendly and I can imagine it being a pleasant place to spend a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Devon

The hidden gem

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walks,peace and quiet but if you want more it is not far away
This hotel is absolutely spotless John,Lorrena and the staff are amazing,this friendly hotel is a secret I will not keep there is nothing that is too much trouble.We had a lovely weekend and the chef cooked us a lovely dinner.We will be back soon
5 out of 5
by Chrissy from Cornwall

Very welcoming

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely, clean hotel with incredibly friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Comfortable, spacious bedroom. Good breakfast choices. Close to St Agnes bars and restaurants. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by mguk8 from maidenhead

Increablie place

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
from room to service could not fault this place at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

arguably, the most friendly hotel in the UK.

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
Hard to fault. I think most people will love the place. Don't forget to walk to thetop of Beacon Hill. Only 15 minutes away. Stunning views.
3 out of 5
by G&S

fantastic location - overpriced hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels
we booked this hotel as most of the B&B were full due to the wedding in the village. The staff was friendly and chatty. The room number 1 was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was superkingsize and comfortable. The location was perfect. The only things that didnt reach the standard of the price was a strong smell which was comming from the bathroom. Maybe it was due to the sewer maybe not. The bathroom didnt have a natural ventilation so we ended up ventilating the room during the day and ensuring the bathroom door is shut during the night. My husband was very upset with the quality of our breakfasts. The coffie served to us was not a ground coffie though served in cafeteria. When we asked for a new cafeteria it arrived without any grains. I am not sure what is these all about... Our toasts were crispy in the middle while the corners were soggy and dump, maybe because they used frozen bred I am not sure... Overall not the breakfast for the £132 per night. So overall £264 for two nights. It could be much better! The refurbishment and decoration are not enough.