Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet, comfortable
Cons: Bathroom very dated
Location: Opposite the beach
Traditional hotel if perhaps a little dated. Good value although bar and restaurant expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona usa

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Very friendly staff room had just been updated new carpet and paint lovely and warm Good breakfast and dinner menus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Though a bit dated, we loved the old grandeur of the hotel, and found all the staff very helpful & friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Christmas Break

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: We booked a family room which turned out to be a suit with a wonderful sea view.
Cons: The matris on our double bed in the room could do with changing as it had sunk in the middle.
Location: Everything that you would expect, very close to the beach and plent of grass to walk the dog.
On arrival the staff at reception were very friendly and made myself, my wife and our golden retriever very welcome. If you a looking for somewhere along the north Cornwall coast to stay and you want to take your dog with you, this is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks, UK

Ideal location for Newquay

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Room was a bit dated and could do with a refurb. Shower was tiny as was the TV. General facilities at the hotel all very good and also offers free parking. Sunday lunch excellent with fantastic sea views from the restaurant although average age of diners was 70++
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looking forward to next visit

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
very welcoming and warm. we were worried about taking our little dog, he was made welcome with bed, towel and water dish. Im sure any animal lover would understand how important this can be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Throw back from the 70s

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Location good all within walking distance
In desperate need of refurbishment, pillows awful, no poppers at end of duvet cover so duvet comes out of cover in the night. Boxed sheeted toilet paper. No pressure on bath mixer shower and temperature not thermostatically controlled making it extremely dangerous for the young and elderly to use safely. 3 of us occupied the room but only 2 cups in the room I rang downstairs the first morning for them to bring an extra cup to the room which they did, they cleaned the room whilst we were out removing the 3 cups and replacing them with 2 again!! Before we left to go out that evening I requested an extra cup for the morning and was told no problem they would add another straight away for us but on returning gone 11pm still only 2 cups.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

I would not recommend this hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
The hotel looks shabby and run down from outside. Inside was much the same the rooms need decorating, the beds were clean and comfortable but the carpet was filthy and the window frames and surrounding walls were black and damp from condensation. The receptionist barely looked up at us, did not smile and offered us no real direction. The location was good and we did have a view of the beach through the filthy window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Convenient Place

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, sea view, wifi, coffee maker in room, free parking.
Cons: It's a bit scruffy.
Location: Just opposite a beach (Tocarne) but, more importantly, an easy walk into town.
Stayed for 3 nights in Newquay. This hotel was a good base.