Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Perfect place to relax

Posted Jun 4, 2016
First visit after 10 years and still perfect country hotel.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Basingstoke

Excellent, quiet & relaxing

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights due to business. Quiet and relaxing with good size pool and hot tub in garden (you can even phone for a beer to be delivered!). Hotel staff very helpful , even got a free room upgrade. Breakfast very tasty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Bathroom in need of total upgrade. Not up to standard of rest of hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately a waste of money...

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately, not what I expected for the amount paid! I stayed in Demelza Poldark suite for a night. Arrived at 4pm after a 5 hour car journey and visit to Eden project - so very tired. The keys for the room were missing. Never mind. Spare keys located. We were shown to our room - ice cold! The heating wasn't switched on and was inoperable. So the owner had to be called in to reprogram it. We waited with our coats on for 1 hour. The fire alarm was low on batteries so kept making a noise in the bedroom. More time taken to replace batteries. Toilet knob missing. One of the sinks blocked. The owner came and to his credit apologised. Having thought he'd fixed the heating, he left and we had some shut eye. Woke up 2 hours later to a freezing cold room. Owner had to be recalled to fix heating again. Issues above can be overlooked if seen as a separate entity but they have a cumulative effect. I paid in excess of £200 expecting a luxurious, comfortable stay. That's not what I received. These things should have been sorted prior to my arrival. They were unprepared. I gave it 2 stars because it's close to the Eden project and breakfast was good. The owner seemed nice but at no point did the staff member we dealt with initially apologised. My recommendation - If you are to pay the high prices asked by this hotel, may be worth looking at a more conventional hotel for luxury.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Needs updating in areas

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Pool area quiet nice
Cons: Breakfast room heating and breakfast it self more of and mostly bathrooms
Stayed in December in Dorothy bathroom was terrible 1970s cream falling to bits stained carpets skylight that blew a terrible draught in toilet seat loose no hot water on morning breakfast was a bit tight one slice of toast and when you asked for more they were shocked I think a 2 star tarted up wouldn't go back
5 out of 5
by Roy from Solihull

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Welcoming and friendly staff, great room and a really good chef. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Risca, South Wales

An absolute treat

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Everything...had an idyllic weekend.
Cons: Nothing, can't fault this hotel!
Location: Boscundle Manor is ideal for travelling around the local area to St Austell, it's very close to the Eden Project, and Charlestown.
We stayed at Boscundle Manor for two nights at the start of half term, as we were in Cornwall for my daughter to visit Falmouth Uni Open Day. The staff were attentive from the moment I booked the hotel, with emails confirming the booking, bedroom layout, meals etc, and this continued throughout our stay. Emily met us late Friday evening and was very welcoming after a long journey. Our room (also called Emily) was beautifully laid out and extremely comfortable. The staff were fabulous with my little boy (2 1/2) and were very patient! Breakfast was very tasty as was our dinner on the second night, we arrived late on our first night by were greeted to a complimentary fruit bowl. The hotel is set in it's own grounds, and is a beautiful building full of quality furniture and details. Definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: The people were very friendly, the hotel was excellent and it was so quiet, which I love at the grand old age of 32.
Cons: Local Shops/ Supermarket
Location: Eden Project!!!!!!!!!!
We arrived pretty late (Midnight in fact) but Julie/ Susan was extremely helpful and before I even a chance to park my car, She came out and helped me to my room. They were also nice enough to make us some of the best sandwiches ive had for many years, which was a very nice tough. On to the room - We booked one of their brand new suites, which I must say was huge...To the point where I opened one door and we had a whole swimming pool to ourselves haha. Honestly, I've travelled a lot, been around the world but this Hotel must be seen once by everyone...Great family environment, extremely peaceful balcony and the view of the Country itself is something we don't usually get in London anymore. Great Hotel, Great People, Great rooms, Great food!!!!!!!! Best hotel experience I've had....Only one problem was the lack of any local amenities and shops which I wish I had as the kitchen deserved more of my girlfriends attention ;-)
5 out of 5
by rebecca from Stogursey

Amazing

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
i took my partner away for his birthday, the hotel far exceeded my expectations. The staff were amazing, the room was beautiful, as was the food and the facilities! Will definitely be returning!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

expensive and below standard

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Friendly staff and good service but given the high prices the room and its facilities were very sub- standard, very tired and in major need of an update. The room was also dusty and had a couple of creepy crawlies when we arrived and smelled musty. The water pressure and temperature were not constant in the shower and bath either (suddenly turning too hot or cold or water pressure suddenly decreasing) which wasn't nice and certainly didn't help when we were bathing the kids. Good central location and nice pool and hot tub but on the whole not worth the price we paid.