Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Nice Hotel. Good Food. Great Staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Every member of staff was friendly and helpful. Indeed, they did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
Location: Nearby is Carn Gloose, Cape Cornwall (better views than Land's End!), Sennan Cove and Carn Euny prehistoric settlement - all worth visiting.
We have just spent two nights at the Commercial Hotel. I hadn't booked a king-sized bed but they changed the room we'd been assigned with no fuss at all. The new room was small but O.K. It was on the top floor, overlooked the town square and the church, which meant we could watch all the comings and goings! It had recently been tastefully decorated and the bathroom was new. Everything was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals equally good (especially the crab sandwiches!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brixham

Old World Charm

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location, age, the bathroom, the conservatory.
Cons: Nothing obvious.
Location: Several pubs clustered near each other, all very old and comfortable. Handy for Penzance and St Michael's Mount.
A pleasant hotel in a quiet village. A very old, long-established building in the central square. No hotel parking, but a rare FREE public car park just behind the hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the food was good. Breakfast was in a beautiful, big old conservatory, which is very light and airy. The room was comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Spacious and very clean rooms. Good position in centre of town. Very good restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay - quaint village location

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasantly surprised - room was very spacious and lovely and quiet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beware of collapsing beds!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
20 minutes after arriving, we mad a cup of tea and sat on the end of the bed to drink it, as i sat down the bed collapsed under me, the timber frame had split from end to end. i fell back and the tea went all over me. went straight downstairs to tell them and the manager just said, 'it shouldnt have collapsed' as though i had imagined it. i told him exactly what had happened and he just said 'well i suppose that the customer is always right so ive got to believe you if thats how you say it happened' quite why he thinks i would be lying about his bed collapsing as i stood in reception covered in tea ive no idea. then later we heard the staff relating the tale to other customers and having a laugh at our expensebut i decided there and then to spend not a penny of my money in the place, so we went over the road and had great food in the wellington and good ales in the star. the hotel was ok, but the attitude of the manager will prevent me from ever going back there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homely

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Staff

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly welcome , lovely food and a good nights sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Ives

Conveniently situated for a wedding

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location, cost, friendliness, efficiency, cleanliness and character.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nearby are St Ives, the Minack Theatre, Sennen Cove, Land's End and as much moorland and as many beaches and coves as you could wish for.
Booking was easy and the cost reasonable. Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly, and the room and en-suite were spotless and well-appointed, as were the the bar and dining areas. This hotel/pub has managed to achieve the correct balance between being a clean well-run hotel and a public house with a friendly local pub atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful, and, although we didn't eat there otherwise because we were attending a wedding and reception, the menu looked very tempting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Good hotel in a small but busy village.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
My trip was specifically to attend a performance at the Minnack Theatre but wish I'd stayed longer to take in other places of interest like the Tin mine. The hotel was ideal for my visit , situated in a busy village with lots to see. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - I had lunch and breakfast there. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Rosario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels