Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Centrally located hotel in St Just.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: bar and breakfast
Cons: En suite bathrooms
Location: Great pubs, shops and a pleasant 20 min walk to Cape Cornwall which is spectacular.
A well run hotel with a good restaurant and a great bar full of friendly folks.Breakfast is really good and served in the function room at the back of the hotel - light and airy it is really pleasant. The rooms are clean and tidy if a little cramped byut are let down a little by the ensuite bathrooms which look good but are nort terribly efficient - saniflo loos, electric and low flow showers and plumbing that takes the water an age to run away. Rooms at the front are noisy - don't expect a lie in - every word from people in the square below can be heard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

traditional coaching inn

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: large modern bathroom.
Cons: thicker curtains- would have liked onsite parking but no room for this.
Location: small town with a number of cafes and shops. Good location for walking holidays and close to Minnack theatre.
No car park and no lift so getting luggage to rooms could be difficult for less mobile guests. Room clean and tidy with large modern bathroom. Some noise from other rooms, probably the bathroom extraction fan but overall a satisfactory hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Nice Hotel. Good Food. Great Staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Every member of staff was friendly and helpful. Indeed, they did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
Location: Nearby is Carn Gloose, Cape Cornwall (better views than Land's End!), Sennan Cove and Carn Euny prehistoric settlement - all worth visiting.
We have just spent two nights at the Commercial Hotel. I hadn't booked a king-sized bed but they changed the room we'd been assigned with no fuss at all. The new room was small but O.K. It was on the top floor, overlooked the town square and the church, which meant we could watch all the comings and goings! It had recently been tastefully decorated and the bathroom was new. Everything was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals equally good (especially the crab sandwiches!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brixham

Old World Charm

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location, age, the bathroom, the conservatory.
Cons: Nothing obvious.
Location: Several pubs clustered near each other, all very old and comfortable. Handy for Penzance and St Michael's Mount.
A pleasant hotel in a quiet village. A very old, long-established building in the central square. No hotel parking, but a rare FREE public car park just behind the hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the food was good. Breakfast was in a beautiful, big old conservatory, which is very light and airy. The room was comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Spacious and very clean rooms. Good position in centre of town. Very good restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Derek

Good hotel with friendly staff

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
I had to go to The Scilly Isles on business and this was a very comfortable and convenient hotel. Near the airport and free parking behind hotel. St Just is a very nice place with church, post office and several pubs. .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay - quaint village location

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasantly surprised - room was very spacious and lovely and quiet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beware of collapsing beds!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
20 minutes after arriving, we mad a cup of tea and sat on the end of the bed to drink it, as i sat down the bed collapsed under me, the timber frame had split from end to end. i fell back and the tea went all over me. went straight downstairs to tell them and the manager just said, 'it shouldnt have collapsed' as though i had imagined it. i told him exactly what had happened and he just said 'well i suppose that the customer is always right so ive got to believe you if thats how you say it happened' quite why he thinks i would be lying about his bed collapsing as i stood in reception covered in tea ive no idea. then later we heard the staff relating the tale to other customers and having a laugh at our expensebut i decided there and then to spend not a penny of my money in the place, so we went over the road and had great food in the wellington and good ales in the star. the hotel was ok, but the attitude of the manager will prevent me from ever going back there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homely

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff