Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay - quaint village location

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasantly surprised - room was very spacious and lovely and quiet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beware of collapsing beds!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
20 minutes after arriving, we mad a cup of tea and sat on the end of the bed to drink it, as i sat down the bed collapsed under me, the timber frame had split from end to end. i fell back and the tea went all over me. went straight downstairs to tell them and the manager just said, 'it shouldnt have collapsed' as though i had imagined it. i told him exactly what had happened and he just said 'well i suppose that the customer is always right so ive got to believe you if thats how you say it happened' quite why he thinks i would be lying about his bed collapsing as i stood in reception covered in tea ive no idea. then later we heard the staff relating the tale to other customers and having a laugh at our expensebut i decided there and then to spend not a penny of my money in the place, so we went over the road and had great food in the wellington and good ales in the star. the hotel was ok, but the attitude of the manager will prevent me from ever going back there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homely

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Staff

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly welcome , lovely food and a good nights sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Ives

Conveniently situated for a wedding

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location, cost, friendliness, efficiency, cleanliness and character.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nearby are St Ives, the Minack Theatre, Sennen Cove, Land's End and as much moorland and as many beaches and coves as you could wish for.
Booking was easy and the cost reasonable. Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly, and the room and en-suite were spotless and well-appointed, as were the the bar and dining areas. This hotel/pub has managed to achieve the correct balance between being a clean well-run hotel and a public house with a friendly local pub atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful, and, although we didn't eat there otherwise because we were attending a wedding and reception, the menu looked very tempting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Good hotel in a small but busy village.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
My trip was specifically to attend a performance at the Minnack Theatre but wish I'd stayed longer to take in other places of interest like the Tin mine. The hotel was ideal for my visit , situated in a busy village with lots to see. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - I had lunch and breakfast there. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Rosario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost there

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The mattress could have been alot better - it sloped at one side :-/ and the room was extremely high up at the top of the house which made luggage not easy - great shower and breakfast though ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Commercial inn

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Lovely stay apart from the service in restraunt wine just loudly place on table not opened or poured and unnecessary noise from laying surrounding tables for next morning everything else was spot on
4 out of 5
by Christine from Padstow

Hotel with superb food

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
For an evening away the hotel was great. A lovely market town with lots of character and a selection of shops and drinking establishments.