Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was put in a small room with a small window

Posted Jun 30, 2016
This room was very small and the window was about the size of two iPads out together. The room had a very smell, I asked if there was another room but the hotel was full. The TV in the room was also very small. Not sure why everything about this room was small and smelly too. Room 10 stay away from it if you can. However staff very nice and friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. Great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Good location but lacks finishing touches

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Location was beautiful and the communal areas were nice.
Cons: As above
Location: Newquay isn't really that great, but this location was just perfect. It was right on the beach and had great walks nearby.
Could be so much more. The location is beautiful. The pool was ice cold and need of a revamp and the steam room wasn't working. The bed was uncomfortable and the room was dirty behind the bedside cabinets. The showers in the other rooms were very loud!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Views from the headland walking into town
Expectations for the hotel were high but was a bit disappointed not to be accomodated a bit more with check in time (we arrived at 1pm, after roughly 12 hours of travelling. Check-in 2pm ) but they also had a wedding party in which took priority. Nice hotel, clean and comfortable room but lacking a few little touches that would have made it stand out. Lady on reception in the morning was very friendly and helpful. The walk into town is lovely on a good day but at least 30 mins.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice View

Posted Sep 29, 2014
For what we paid per night it was not worth it.Disabled access none ! only double rooms on the ground floor ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stansted

Lovely location and great base

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable and the hotel itself modern and clean.
Cons: There were very few staff around at this peak time of the year, so more staff needed. No breakfast was offered which we found very strange.
Location: Location is just north of Newquay and lovely and quiet, overlooking a pretty bay and cliffs. Within a short driving distance plenty to see.
We stayed four nights in August 2014 and used the hotel as a base for exploring north Cornwall. It is in a lovely location overlooking a bay and the hotel has its own free car park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice site next to the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I requested two separate bed but was given a double bed instead. The bed was uncomfortable and the shower was not properly separated from the toilet and it and the floor got very wet after a shower. The room was small for the price we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s Watford

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel is in a lovely location and the grounds hold some spectacular views, facilities are good, however the hotel it'self needs a bit of attention
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trey from New York

Location and Staff

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: The hotel needs updating and repairs. We had cracks in the bathroom caulking and the overall look of the interior of the hotel is very dated.
Location: Absolutely beautiful trails to walk with cliffside views of the ocean. There are many shops, bars, restaurants and beaches in the area.
The hotel sits on top of a small cliff in a beautiful location just outside the commercial part of town. There are trails to walk around the area with spectacular views. The staff did a fantastic job of taking care of us. After a long day of travel they made us feel at home and we had a fabulous meal at the hotel restaurant. The hotel itself could use some updating and repairs, but staff and location more than make up for what the hotel lacks in it's physical state.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Warm, great view, good food.
Cons: Could hear neighbours talking through wall.
Location: Excellent location for romantic weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrian from Seattle

Little Tired but in good location

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Better catering and better lighting on the steps from the car park to the hotel
Location: On the outskirts of Newquay
The hotel is a typical seaside resort type hotel in a good location but in need of a little tender care. The rooms were OK but they were difficult to access due to both steep stairs and then further short stairs in the corridors. This may access to my father's room rather precarious for an elderly man. I tried to eat dinner in the hotel but was told it was not possible because 'there is only one person in the kitchen and he can't cope with more people'. Strangely, Newquay is a difficult place to find dinner in the off season so beware.