Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Charming hotel in a park-like setting

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Charming hotel, quiet estate, refurbished beautifully. Has the feel of a private house.
Cons: Does not need improvement.
Location: Location is private -- several acres of grounds. Well separated from busy sections of Penzance. Base for Lands End, and Minick theatre.
Hotel is well set back on a private one track driveway, and somewhat tricky to reach. But once there --wow, great place, tastefully refurbished, significant paintings by former owners (Stanhope Forbes & wife Elizabeth). The current owner (Doug) is helpful and engaging. We had a second floor suite, overlooking gardens. Modest continental breakfast in room (all provided, and self-serve).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

why break end of Feb 2017

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Not sure what the mix up was with booking through Expedia but as they covered the excess we are not complaining. Had a lovely stay in a very well equipped room Top type of your staying in room 1 A) turn the radiator off before going to sleep or you'll roast B) turn the fridge off before going to sleep or the on/off humming will drive you nuts C) take a dim torch as the Blackpool illuminations in the bathroom decidedly destroys any pretence of still asleep during the middle of the night piddle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

One night stay... Ok

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Location great away from seafront Places of interest nearby short car drive
Room was fine ... Breakfast was great All good till family in above room arrived 😔 Very noisy ... Needless to say little sleep
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Was up graded on arrival to a lovely room more like self catering than a hotel Didnt see any other guest even though was full Manager/ Landlord was there but not that friendly Lovely if you want a romantic weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Lovely house set on a private oasis

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: We really liked the privacy - we were travelling without our two young children so it was nice to have a quiet and private place to stay.
Cons: The only thing I felt could be improved were the pillows - which were a little flat. However that is completely subjective.
Location: Penzance, Mousehole, Land's End, Porthcurno (which is home to a stunning beach and the impressive Minack Theatre), great walks.
My husband and I stayed here while in the area for a wedding. We spent 3 lovely and very comfortable nights. The house has about 8 rooms - and even though full - it felt like we had the house to ourselves. Its set on a beautiful estate, and the house and grounds are immaculately kept. Our host Douglas was friendly, professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Wincanton

Fantastic

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
This was a fabulous stay for amazing value. Short distance from the town centre with plenty of things to do. Staff were more than friendly and would go out of their way. Couldn't fault the room, everything was clean and tidy. Could ask for anything more with the food they had provided. Would highly recommend for couples.
4 out of 5
by Rob from Oakville

Wonderful country stay

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful host who upgraded our room. Hotel was in a secluded, peaceful setting. Room was spacious, clean and equipped with a kitchenette stocked for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but could be better

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel was lovely , but have to say the welcome we got from the owner was a little cold . He just said that because of a problem in the room we had booked we had been given an upgrade . I said thank you . We were then told that breakfast is taken in the room , and everything you need is in here . There was indeed , bread , toaster , fruit and jam . A sink , kettle , . BUT no tea towel , so we could not wash up ... The breakfast was adequate , if ... you are not Gluten intolerant . I think for the amount we paid , a cooked breakfast should have been on offer !!