Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

relaxed guest house in countryside

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Lovely peaceful location in centre of St Mary's, from my window I looked out over a meadow. Short walk to nearby beaches, or back down to Hugh Town to get ferries. Very friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston Super Mare

Great staff and excellent location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, Wi-Fi and location, plus great staff.
Cons: Expedia's site to explain normal doubles are very small but you could pay more for a premium room not mentioned on your site when I booked
Location: Bus stop right outside ,close to golf course. Excellent coastal walks close by and Bar point beach about a mile walk but great views of other islands
This is a guest house that is ideal for single travellers as room is same size as most of doubles. In hindsight Expedia should have given us the option of having a larger premium room which I would have happily paid extra for. The owner was very friendly and helpful along with all her staff. Breakfasts are marvellous although ideally would have like a couple of days when I could have had a longer lay in, but bus stop was right outside and you need to catch first one at 9.27am ( he runs about 4 to 5 minutes late except last bus of the day) if you want best choice of most inter island boats leaving at 10.15am Wished I had known there was a £75 for 10 returns rather than paying £9 for every one. Excellent Wi-Fi and location was only three quarters of a mile from golf course and Juliet garden best restaurant on the island, although Atlantic Hotel ran them close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable accommodation in quiet location

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: the provision of kitchen and dining facilities for guests who want to prepare their own lunch or evening meal. Ve
Location: Well placed as starting point for many of the walks available on the coast and inland. Regular circular island bus route has a stop at the front gate.
We had a three night stay in this quiet part of the island. The guest house is well organised and efficiently run. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff were always very helpful and considerate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

good central position, close enough to everything.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, bed, lovely bright room.
Cons: nothing springs to mind
Location: good central position, 20 mins walk to town, 5mins to coast on each side
Very friendly atmosphere, breakfast superb as is the strudel, staff are amazing & so helpful. We had a busy 4 full days & the hotel worked perfectly with a very comfortable bed at the end of a busy day.Would recommend strongly this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bicester, England

Excellent stay - great base for walking

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Good service, excellent food,
Cons: Nothing
Location: Cente of St Mary's - Walking. Holy Vale vineyard is 10 mins walk away.
We stayed for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Country Guesthouse. As the name implies, the property is located in the centre of the island, a 5 minute taxi drive (£5 for 2 persons), a 10 minute bus journey (£2 pp), or a 30 minute walk from Hugh Town. The Guesthouse is a ideal base from which to embark on the number of interesting walks round St Mary's. The hospitality we experienced was second to none. Sabine was a superb host, who made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. Her staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was adequate in terms of size. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. We had a minor problem with the temperature of the shower the first morning, but the plumber was summoned and this was quickly fixed. Breakfasts were served in the coffee house conservatory at the end of the building. An excellent cooked breakfast was offered, and also an array of breads, juices, yoghurts, jams etc.... Soya milk was provided for my wife. Finally, the guest house offered other facilities such as use of a kitchen, washing machine (small charge), mini bar, guest TV room. All in all, a delightful place to stay, a charming and attentive host, and reasonable value for money. Many repeat visitors were there during our stay, which speaks for itself. Thank you, Sabine, see you again.
4 out of 5
by Elaine from Stockport

A little gem with the best Apple Strudel!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived early on the Tuesday hoping to just store our bags, but the room was ready, so were able to move in straight away. We stayed for three nights and had a really lovely time. The guest house has it's own mini-kitchen with microwave, so we could have made evening meals if we had wanted. However, St Mary's has some good restaurants in both Hugh Town and Old Town so we didn't take up this offer. Sabine is very welcoming and accommodating. In the dining area she was ably assisted by Phoebe who greeted us at our final breakfast proudly brandishing a tin of beans. As with all island life, sometimes provisions become scarce!
5 out of 5
by Paul from Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Idyllic

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful country location. Room facilities were excellent with generous guest facilities for eating your own brought in from outside and large lounge. Sabine, the owner couldn't have done more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Posto accogliente e molto carino. Personale gentile e molto disponibile
5 out of 5
by Mss P M from Dorset

A hidden gem

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
We were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble for Sabine the owner. We walked to and from the guest house quite easily although for some the return journey after an evening out,a taxi would be the answer There are wonderful walks from here along the coast of St Mary's
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Pretty quiet location but a long walk to shops

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: The setting
Enjoyed our first trip to the Scillies and would recommend hiring a bike or a buggy.