Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Nice hotel, pretty garden

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location, nice garden (inc: wisteria), breakfast (especially fruit salad)
Cons: One way glass on the room (16) windows. "Do not disturb" sign for room door. Sort out bathroom door.
Location: Visited Town Centre (Rolys Fudge delicious), Ate at The Shell Bar, food/drink good and staff friendly. No characters left to complete comment. :-(
About 20-25 minutes walk to the town, good exercise! We enjoyed and met some friendly hens in a residential garden on the way. Room (16): Small but comfortable, on the ground floor. Not the best location. Close to the hotel front door. Cars/taxis loading/unloading, picking up etc ... just outside the room window. Blinds (as well as curtains) over the windows not easy to operate but necessary to stop passers by looking into the room. Bathroom: Door had to be bolted to stop it opening when using the facilities. No "Do not disturb" signs to hang on the room door. Chamber maid cleaning our room when we came back from breakfast, a little unexpected! Staff polite and friendly. Breakfast good. Enjoyed ourselves and would stay at this hotel again but would not stay in room (16) or any of the other rooms, facing the front door car park, along the same corridor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

One night before uni interview

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location easy to find and handy if you want to go into Falmouth. Bar meals looked of good quality but not tried.
Location: Lots to do in Falmouth from maritime museum to Eden project up the road. Lots of good restaurants and interesting shops.
Stayed here for one night before child's uni interview. The hotel was satisfactory and no noise at night. Breakfast varied and acceptable. Car park good size and pool and leisure facilities look ok but not used. Within walking distance of Falmouth centre but up hill coming back. Would use again when required.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - but thin walls & worn bed.

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Falmouth is a lovely town to visit and walk around with the castle and beaches. The hotel generally with the fitness room, pool, parking, was very good. However the bed in the room was very 'soft' with mattress not having a lot of spring left. Consequently a bad back in the morning. In addition the room was on the ground floor next to the entry and reception parking to the hotel so had to keep curtains closed all the time. Although appreciating the Xmas Parties on both nights did not appreciate the late night revellers leaving the hotel or going to their rooms shouting at each other. On our last night the man next door snored all night, fell out of bed and could hear him going to the toilet all the time - very thin walls. Would we stay at this hotel again - not if there are better ones available in Falmouth. However would recommend breakfast - very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and location.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our short stay . Very nice location. Will use the hotel again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Lovely hotel near the university

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: The grounds and the big family room
Cons: Found the room a bit hot for us and needed all the windows open even when turned down as the weather had turned so mild on those few days
Location: Only used for one night for the university but the town was nice , but not a lot opens until 10am even on Saturday morning
Lovely hotel , really clean , room was great , staff were really nice and polite . We had a bar snack which was excellent and reasonable . Breakfast was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont bother

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: working in area
arrived at hotel at 10.15pm, parked in hotel car park and had to walk to reception in pitch black . walkways were in adequately signed and lighting was non existant. entered hotel reception to a sign advising me to go to bar for late check in. went to bar to find nobody available so walked back to reception, where i met a man who advised he would get my key ,pointed me to the direction of my room and pointed to the direction of where i could get breakfast in the morning. room was nothing special and bed was uncomfortable. tv was on same wall as headboard and i had to move the table lamp off the table to be able to see tv. plugs were scarse so i could either have tv. kettle , lamp or lap top charging. breakfast was average at best with cold mushrooms and toast coupled with undercooked sausage , although believing the breakfast was in with the prce of the room i did not show concern to this. the extra surprise came when i was charged a further 13.95 for the joy of the breakfast..... great first experience of this hotel and expedia so not impressed really have to spend a week in the area in november , think i will look at other options
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Reception

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location to Penmere.
Cons: Rooms may be equipped with thermostat controls. The leak in the bathroom right above your head when sitting on the throne should be fixed.
Location: You could walk to the city centre which takes about half hour once you figure out the twists and turns and navigate the hills and road signage.
Arrived late afternoon est. just after 5pm. Rang bell a couple of times. A lovely woman appeared a couple of minutes afterwards from the restaurant area. Welcomed me warmly and found my registration the second time. No elevator. No bell-hop. Stairs are nicely carpeted and my appointed room was on the upper level (of course) and involved some turns and up and down stairs to find. You get used to it after a couple of nights and it gets easier. The room is cold and drafty with no controls for the heat. I was at the mercy of automatic setting I assume. I thought my room would have had a refrigerator and microwave but that was not the case. But there was a kettle and a supply of tea bags, coffee and sugar along with cookies. The walls are paper thin and sounds come in without a problem. Staff are mostly very friendly and welcoming. Make sure you have enough tissues for the runny nose that develops from the cold interior. Central heat does make a difference except the fear of the greenhouse gas effect that comes with it. The hotel is located on a hill and close to Penmere station, 10mins walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Spacious & comfortable

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Two of us had an excellent stay over 3 nights in this hotel in a large spacious, well equipped, and comfortable room. The room was spotless together with the bathroom which also had a separate shower. We had a ground floor "garden room" which had the benefit of it's own private access together with a small patio area with outdoor table & chairs (not used by us in November however!). Hotel facilities were good including a decent size indoor pool & fitness room. Breakfast was good and the one dinner we had in the Hotel was OK rather than good for the price. Overall we would be happy to recommend and visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing weekend away

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Breakfast Swimming pool Spacious room
Location: Truro and Falmouth are great places to visit to wonder round little shops and the harbour.
Had 3 days here and was very happy with all services. Lots of options for breakfast which was really tasty! We used both the gym and the swimming pool which were both good quality. Room was comfy, spacious and had a great view. Was about a 25 minute walk to Falmouth but the train station was close by so we got the train instead a couple of times. Very relaxing weekend away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superior accommodation in a lively Cornish resort.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Very comfortable hotel in quiet surroundings but still close to the town centre.