Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Last minute booking

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Last minute decision to go to Cornwall, so we were pleasantly surprised by Porth Lodge. Great location, comfortable with good breakfast and a good selection of bar meals .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nott'm

Boardmasters work trip (with family)

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Lady owner pleasant and friendly; the breakfasts (and service); the old bar; free ten pin bowling for residents; dog friendly.
Cons: Toilet/bathroom could do with a refresh/refurb; noisey metal stairway if someone leaves early; small/thin barman needs to improve his customer skills
Expedia listed a great place near-ish to the Boardmasters site. This hotel was ideal for our family and dog; easy access to the beaches and Newquay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Nice hotel 5 mins walk from beach. Plenty parking.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Nice breakfasts. Helpful staff. Everything I needed. Room had em suite but not ultramodern which was fine with me. Some people though may not like that. Clean and tidy. The indoor bowling alley is FAB, great fun. Beach area lovely, nice little cafe selling tea, coffe, refreshments and bar snacks close to beach. Didn't see any other shops nearby though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from se england

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Location: Near beach,town and a bus service along the coast to see coves and surf.
First visit to this area. Character hotel and very pleasant welcome . Liked the freshly cooked breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Ok for some but not a place I'd go back to.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
First thing on arrival the reception is just a table with a few tourists magazines and a couple of chairs no bell. Had to go to the bar to find anyone. First room was small but clean however the beach view was a bit far fetched. With a view a junk yard of a garden. Tried to get a shower the first morning didn't work correctly. Had to move rooms. Second room carpet frayed and room quite dusty with curtains hanging off the end of poles. However very handy location for Porth beaches and staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ben

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely helpfully and friendly owner, put breakdast on early for us, rooms are large and comfortable. Would stay again
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nice. There is a pub and a bowling alley in the lodge. Quiet neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by Peter

Couldn't stop even one night

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
When we booked, we were expecting a king sized bed & bunk beds, got two single beds and a pull out double, room smelt damp and the shower cubicle was dirty, gave refund straight away and we found accommodation in Newquay. Maybe rooms that are OK according to reviews, but there certainly seems to be a problem with maintaining standards throughout based on my experience
5 out of 5
by jennifer from York

Fabulous

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Cannot fault this place. Lovely hosts,delicious breakfast,room was clean and cosy. Great location for newquay and beach just down the road. Had a fabulous weekend away.