Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place, near coastal path

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Very relaxing
Cons: We were very happy thanks
Location: Rock nearby, walked to Polzeath, Coastal walk to Port Isaac
Very relaxing stay, we had a very nice time. Will visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Food and drinks over-priced.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere. Log burner made it feel warm and cosy.
Cons: Average food and drinks which were over-priced. Need to compare prices with other local hotels with same star rating.
Location: Coastal walks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine experience, not worth the money.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Pool and sauna was nice, and close to the beach and cliff walks. Good breakfast selection.
Cons: A reasonably sized room with a new mattress.
All the staff were very well mannered and helpful. The hotel in general was fine, the only let down was our room. We were given a downstairs room overlooking the carpark, on top of that the room was incredibly small. Although the room and hotel was clean, parts seemed quite used. An example would be our bed, it was very soft in the middle but hard on the edges causing it to sag in the middle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Fantastic stay. Staff accommodating nothing was too much trouble. A short drive to most places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Reception staff were very good.
Cons: Customer service definitely longer opening hours for the seaside cafe so people have somewhere else to eat after 8pm other than the restaurant.
On first impressions this hotel seemed nice but when we checked in the room we received was very small. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly but the bar staff were pretty unhelpful. After a long drive down and with the weather being pretty grim outside we asked if there was a possibility to grab a sandwich at the bar or in our room rather than using the fine dining restaurant as we were not properly dressed for the restaurant and we were tired and just wanted to relax. The hotel do not offer any room service and they will not provide any food other than what is in the restaurant but they did go on to offer us a menu for a local takeaway service!!!! In the end we had to go back out and find somewhere to get a bite to eat. When you pay the kind of money we paid for a room which in itself was small and nothing special to then be told you can't even get a sandwich was just ridiculous and very poor customer service!!!! We travel quite a bit around the UK and this is one hotel we will not be staying in again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

bit disappointed

Posted Sep 7, 2016
great location, good facilities, staff very friendly and helpful. But disappointed - breakfast average, at £20 a head, anyone can cook an egg (sadly not) - but main moan is such an uncomfortable bed! Room small, as stated, but clean, but the mattress was dire, not what you expect from a hotel aiming at a higher market. Invest in better beds, then we'll go back....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Nice hotel that caters to families.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere and the food. Although no ocean views from ground level, there is a beautiful walkway nearby along the ocean cliffs.
Cons: Air conditioning or, at least, better air circulation.
Location: Cornwall sights, such as Tintagel and Padstow were a short drive. Nice walking path along the beautiful seaside cliff are 5-10 minute walk from hotel.
We were looking for an upscale, reasonably priced hotel in Cornwall. The St. Moritz was impressive from the exterior (very nice landscaping) but did not have the views overlooking the ocean as I expected. We had to walk for ten minutes to get a view of the water. Our room faced the parking area and was very small. Also, it did not have air conditioning and the window could only be opened slightly to let air circulate. A small oscillating fan was provided but was very noisy. The price was reasonable and the breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Location fabulous

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Contemporary, refurbished rooms, beautiful grounds, great location.
Cons: Indoor pool not as clean as it could be and shower facilities in the fitness centre could do with an upgrade
Location: The hotel is beautifully located above an unspoilt beach and away from the madding crowd. The coastal path allows easy walking to Rock and Polzeath
Contemporary hotel in great location. The weather was a bit disappointing but it was compensated by the facilities and comfort of a hotel that was a joy to return to after windswept walks along the stunning coastal path.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

First class accommodation

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Room very modern and staff very accommodating.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beautiful beach at Daymer Bay. Ferry from Rock to Padstow
Right from our first interaction with the two lovely ladies on reception, our whole experience of this hotel was superb. Spotlessly clean, lovely breakfast, indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi; all excellent. Everything was explained to you. We had a problem with our Television which was resolved in five minutes. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Great contemporary hotel close to Polzeath

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Easy parking, friendly staff and a very clean and comfortable hotel room.
We were in Cornwall for a surprise birthday trip for my partner. Arrived on Friday and stayed for one night. We were met warmly at reception by staff who were very friendly and relaxed. They seemed genuinely interested in our trip, but were at no point invasive. The room was great, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was superb. Again, the staff doing everything to make sure that we were happy and catered for. Unfortunately didn't stay long enough to enjoy the hotels full facilities.