Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet location short walk from train

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Quiet, comfy beds
Cons: Very tight ensuites
Location: Close to train link good beaches
Ask about short cut. Room 1 very hot, airless. Upgrade to room 3 really comfortable and airy. Good breakfast choices. Very quiet but close to train.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay, charming hosts

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The views. Complementary biscuits!
Cons: Room was only very superficially cleaned each day. Very limited breakfast range, unlike my experience of other 4*s. No signage to hotel from road.
Location: Beach; nice coastal bath route to St Ives. Local attractions only a short drive.
Made to feel very welcome in this charming B&B and our stay was much enhanced by the presence of their adorable cat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely bed and breakfast with great location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: We really liked everything about The Borthalan, lovely place to stay at with really nice breakfast.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location is great and close to public transport (train and bus) which was essential for us as we did not travel by car.
We had such an amazing time in St. Ives staying at The Borthalan. Our room was very nice, clean and fully furnished. Our hosts were really friendly and helpful. I am definitely staying here again next time I am visiting St Ives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A great place to stay.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
This is a brilliant place to stay. Amazing breakfast, super location and fantastic owners. We would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly, traditional hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Cons: Some modernisation
Location: Close to Carbis beach, steep climb to hotel though.
Very friendly, helpful proprietor. Clean, good breakfast. Good position close to beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Nice B&B Close to the sea

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Excellent B&B 5 minute walk to the beach with lovely sea views from the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

The only good point was the view.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Minimum in everything, minute bathroom and breakfast experience poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saltash

Nice location

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Location and view. Pleasant owners
Cons: Extend the breakfast times say 0830 - 0930. Renew the mattress (in room 2 at least)
Location: 5 minutes from the beach and coastal path and a couple of minutes from the railway station.Some good restaurants and pubs in Carbis bay itself.
We had a fantastic view from our room and the hotel was conveniently situated for the beach, railway station and the coastal path. The breakfasts were delicious but the same every day and far too early. 0830 - 0845 is far too early for holiday makers. (We get up very early when we are at work, on holiday we like to have a bit longer in bed) The cereals were rather unhygenically stored in their original packets instead of sealed plastic containers and the choice of fruit juice was orange or orange! The room was incredibly small and the shower/toilet was no more than a cupboard in the corner. The handwash basin was in the room itself and the bed has got to be the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. It was probably the fact that the owners Martin and Margaret were so nice that we didn't make a fuss whilst we were there, although in hindsight maybe we should have asked to change rooms. Despite all that we had a great week
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

nice hotel . they leave you to enjoy your holiday

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: near to St Ives handy for station and bus route, car parking on site.
nice place run by a nice couple. No rules no notices everywhere. Nice food, well worth it. the couple also run a nice restaurant in St Ives called 'On Shore' and that is worth visiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

B&B okay but could have been better.

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable bed. Car park. View from bedroom very good.
Cons: Garden and driveway could be a lot tidier. Garden very unkempt. Room could have done with being redecorated. Breakfast menus would have been nice.
Location: Easy walk to St Ives. Train to St Ives. Carbis Bay and restaurants. Plenty to do a drive away such as Minack Theatre, Coast to Coast cycle ride.
Very small attic room with tiny wardrobe and tiny bathroom.