Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fareham

Remote country pub with dated accommodation.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Company. Location. Staff.
Cons: Bedrooms
Location: Remote. Good base for touring
Remote country pub out of season, very quiet. Staff welcoming, company cheerful and friendly. Ideal location for touring Cornwall with substantial breakfast included. Huge car park. Accommodation in need of refurbishment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Could do with a revamp

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly Good fry up
Cons: A good clean Better towels Larger duvets on bed Fill in all the holes on bathroom walls and paint over Tidy up the furniture ie paint it
Location: Out in the country, near to Launceston
As an overnight stay The Countryman Inn is tolerable but as another reviewer pointed out, it ain't The Ritz! Because the staff were friendly and the breakfast was a decent fry-up I cannot be too harsh. However our room was quite tatty, towels threadbare & tiny, furniture scruffy and the duvet on the bed only just covering it (needs to be the next size up). The shower was temperamental but eventually worked. The breakfast was good if you like a fry up but would have been even better with more alternative choices, apart from cereal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If it was my local I'd be pleased.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good food and drink.
Location: Walking in the area.
Very Busy Country Inn says a lot about what the locals think. Good food and drink at an affordable price is all I want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Lovely Bar and Food.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Bar atmosphere and food
Cons: Clean and clear the stairways.
Location: Easy to find. Lots of parking
Stair area to rooms very shabby and dirty. We had to leave by the fire exit in the morning as all other doors were locked. They seemed surprised that we were there for breakfast. The breakfast was very large and very nice as was the evening meal. The atmosphere in the bar was very nice and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brantford, ON

Friendly, helpful staff. Great food & beer

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great food & beer. Comfy bed. Pleasant, friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Room was a little worn. Very small bathroom.
Location: Eden Project & Tintagel both within driving distance.
We wanted to be within driving distance of the Eden Project & Tintagel. We were greeted with a smile and check-in was very efficient. The room is basic and a little worn but we got a great night'so sleep. Food was both public food and more interesting options. Lots of choice for beer both local and mainstream.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Will return.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Homely
Cons: Heating could come on earlier. Paper in the bar.
Location: We are walking the Tamer so location is good.
Friendly, helpful, polite and cheerful. Good food with large portions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country pub

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Beautiful looking country pub. The room we had was a twin room which was small and basic. The walls between us and other guests were paper thin and could here them as clear as if they were sitting with you. And in the morning you could here them in the toilet. The stairs leading to the room the floors and general condition is poor. We wasn't sure but we had dinner in the pub which was absolutely fantastic and very large amounts. Very courteous and friendly staff. So in the morning we had breakfast there to. Again fantastic food and the chef was very friendly too. So in general the pub and food is excellent. Staying at the pub is not so good. Such a shame as the pub is beautiful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The food was excellent, the room a little tired
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our room, it was clean and comfortable. The service was very good, and we enjoyed our time there! Also, delicious home cooked food!