Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place from which to explore.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: rooms and resaurant
Very charming rooms, with excellent pub on property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Cute place, but better options

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: good food. friendly staff
Cons: bathrooms need a repaint and cleaning
The Crooked Inn was a locals hangout with good food, good drinks, and a super friendly staff that was very accommodating. Downside was on room cleanliness, particularly in the bathroom where there was black mold on the ceiling and moulding. Towels were harsh and stiff, and the room felt quite musty. There are comparable places more conveniently situated in the Dartmoors which is where we were exploring, so probably wouldn't stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Nice hotel giving beach or city options

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Was a stop over for us but would go back for a weekend base
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So much potential

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Bar staff
Cons: Stop being complacent.......hire more staff
Room was adequate for family of 4 so no complaints there. Reasonably clean. The daily towel refreshment made me laugh out loud which is the only reason I mention it!! One day our wet towels that I had hung to dry were re rolled and placed at end of beds (still damp!) and another day we were given just hand towels! Breakfast was beyond laughable I'm afraid but did improve slightly by the 4th day. We had considered eating in the Inn for evening meal but having experienced breakfast it put us off. It is rather pricey. All in all it was ok. Nothing to shout from the rooftops but not a bad place either. The bar staff were lovely. I think it has so much more potential and non complacency would improve things no end.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Disappointing in many ways

Posted Aug 7, 2015
The hotel is sad and in need of complete refurbishment. The room had many broken and/or missing items and although smelling of polish I think was a cover to what was an old, tired and sad room. All the public areas were just as grubby, the bar, the toilets, the gardens and the breakfast room. The hotel has geese running lose and they make an incredible mess which is difficult to avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn

Posted Jul 29, 2015
The room was roomy and clean. The shower was amazing! The breakfast was plentiful. Our family enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel in quiet location

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet location and friendly staff
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms,as the lighting was dull and made it hard for shaving and for my wife to put on her make up
Location: Quiet location, not much to do, but hotel has free use of facilities and discount on a round of golf at a nearby leisure centre
Hotel is down a long driveway leading to buildings on three sides of a court yard. There are ducks wandering about which makes it feel charming. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu with locally sourced food which was cooked very well. Food was also served in a very charming bar with good ales and cider, the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to much for them whatever was asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Lantlig stil, mysig, ej stökig pub och bra kök. Barnvänligt.
Cons: Ganska ung personal som hade mycket att göra. Ett korrekt men opersonligt bemötande. Personalen gav inget extra.
Fin miljö i lantlig stil. Rummet var fräscht men lite kallt (det var bara 16 grader utomhus när vi var där). Bra kök men ganska opersonligt bemötande. Gav mer en känsla av hotell än B&B.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The Inn was pretty from the outside and the food was good. However, it lacked in friendliness and customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Lovely stay from start to finish

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Georgia welcomed us warmly and showed us our large room with a newly renovated bathroom. The Pub and grounds are beautiful and encourage relaxation. Don't hesitate - book your stay.