Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by James

Fantastic views outside but tired inside.

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel full of character and potential. Wonderful big rooms with fantastic views however rooms need upgrading and floors are incredibly creaky. Dinner was fair in the restaurant, however we had been looking forward to the pork to be told they had none, we asked if the lounge bar menu would be better and were informed there was none there either....a few hours later we met friends who had just finished in the lounge bar and had enjoyed the pork, they were told there was no mushrooms, plenty in the restaurant so a bit of adaptability wouldn't go a miss. I would probably book again but only if cheaper, at normal price only after upgrades.
3 out of 5
by John

Needs an update

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Booked this hotel through Hotels.com and were allocated one of the old rooms. This was badly in need of updating and very small for a twin room. It was however clean and reasonably quiet. Breakfast was ok, although with no daily variation and a terrible toaster. Staff were friendly, although the spa mislaid our booking so can't comment on the treatments. The location is superb, overlooking the sea and no more than a 10 minute walk to the start of the shopping area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falmouth hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Lift was broken and out of action throughout our stay-not a big problem for us but was for some of guests especially on 4th floor. Also pool and sauna out of action whole time as well. No refund offered or any 'little extra' to compensate lack of facilities. However, we like the hotel, staff and handy location so will visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was sublime

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Was excellent, very comfy bed, great staff, superb food and opposite the sea. What else do you want?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Overall good hotel with very comfy beds. Some communal areas need an update and breakfast service was poor. Just slow in getting to you with tea or coffee. Food ran out quite often too. But still a lovely old hotel with pleasant staff and beautifully kept gardens. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Warm, clean, great staff
Cons: The decoration is tired in some places, particularly the common areas.
Location: Falmouth is a small town surrounded by water. It has a long main street full of shops, cafes and restaurants.
Booked quite late as we wanted to visit a particular restaurant in Falmouth that evening. Warmly greeted by the reception staff, who were efficient and friendly. Went to our room which had a sea view, it was nicely decorated, clean and had a large bath and shower room. We used the bar area twice, apart from one member of staff desperately avoiding eye contact so as not to serve, it was very relaxing. Breakfast was a buffet in a large, clean dining room with friendly and efficient staff. We both asked for vegan food alternatives and the helpful waitress diligently asked the chef for every option, this was then cooked to order. Overall I liked it and I would go back again.
3 out of 5
by Kim

Overnight stop

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room was sooooooo hot, turned heating off and it was still uncomfortable. Bathroom stank of cat's urine, not sure why. Scrambled eggs not good
5 out of 5
by Paul

Fabulous romantic break in a fantastic hotel.

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Had a fantastic romantic break. Falmouth is gorgeous in the sunshine and the hotel is a landmark in the town. Whilst the decor of the hotel could do with a refresh, it actually only adds to the character of the place. I have to say that the breakfast was the best I have ever had, anywhere. Fabulous!
5 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel. Exactly suited for our visit
4 out of 5
by Sui fun Rita

Good location, good restaurant but room is very o

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, good restaurant but room is very old.