Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel staff & good quality breakfast

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Sea view & good value
Cons: the hot water was not very hot
Location: Sea view
Nice hotel staff & good quality breakfast served quickly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, Berkshire

Lovely Staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Staff very helpful & friendly, pity they had a wedding on the Saturday. Came down to eat at 20.30, to find breakfast set, so ate our dinner in room. Shame, otherwise great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick

booked for a holiday (walking the coast) so this h

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was excellent, especially when the hot buffet version was in operation.
Cons: some of the people who did one night and up early were very noisy leaving in the early hours
Location: coastal walking all of the Penwith peninsular - ideal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brillant view

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: View, location and size
Cons: Bath smelled awful over night (old water).
Location: Visit pubs
Nice room, size was good and breakfast was also good. Staff was very friendly and open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Climbing shabby staircases....

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was jolly and the fresh fish courses were outstanding and plentiful.
Cons: A lot of fresh paint would help along with discreet extractor fans.
Location: If you don't walk well, the distance to the town is a little challenging - but easy for young walkers. There really is nothing to do!
I wanted to rate this more highly but climbing to Room 14 was unpleasant, the staircase being confined, smelly and shabby. The sea view was a good one but...Penzance's front is uninteresting. Generally, Penzance is disappointing for more than one night, and the hotel can't overcome this drawback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Ocean view room is the best.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
The Lugger Inn has great location. The breakfast is great with more options for choosing. Ocean view room is fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice overall but long wait when checking in & out

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Cons: Check in and out process could be more efficient
Happy with the hotel overall, the only disappointing part was that it took the reception a reasonable amount of time to check in 1 person and take them to the room (the room tour bit was a bit unnecessary in my opinion...I am sure most will be able to locate it). And when checking out, there was no one at the reception and we had a good 15 mins wait before someone came and handed in our keys
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

No Parking and basic

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was excellent and well served. The evening meals were of reasonable quality but staff were unorganized. Bedding was very clean.
Cons: A mirror in the main room next to the plug sockets, more sockets. A bar of soap in the bathroom. Shaving point in bathroom. A chair in room
Location: We enjoyed the area and there was easy access to buses and trains because parking was at a premium we left the car parked, dare not move it.
On entry to the hotel the reception was unmanned and we had to locate our own member of staff at the bar. We had to ask twice to be check in and when the person eventually arrived. We were unceremoniously scrubbed of the list and given the room key. The person then directed us to the room from the bottom of the stair well, the person then returned to the bar which was very busy at the time. Parking was an issue, parking had to be found every evening. Owner seemed to discourage parking in the hotel car park, because of limitations on space and cars having to be moved to allow other vehicles to leave the car park. Room facilities were very basic if not poor. Tea facilities were provided but no cups which arrived on the second day. No mirror in the room near plug sockets, no seating in room to allow for reading or resting. Bathroom was very very small with an inconsiderate shower, which could not be regulated to the correct temperature, either red hot or flat cold, no instructions. The only mirror in the room was situated above a very old and basic basin, with no plug socket for hair drying or shaving. No soap supplied only liquid soap in dispenser, one of which remained empty throughout the visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient position for the purpose of my visit.
A short but pleasant stay. Hotel provided what I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Stayed Out Of Season

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Staff and accommodation
Cons: Not sure because bar and restaurant closed
Location: Great location on the front. Beach over the road
Out of season the bar and restaurant were closed but just round the corner is a gastro type pub, eat in chippy and excellent Indian. My room was superb with large bay windows and views of the sea over the road. The staff were incredibly helpful even though I had booked in for the wrong night. I am looking forward to the opportunity of staying there in the summer months.