Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Problems

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Having said this the quality of food, service and staff were excellent .
Cons: We had room no 3 although the room next to ours appeared to be far superior.
Location: It suited our requirements.
Our room was very, very small & the windows could be secured in the open or closed position. No room for cases. Wardrobe & bedside cabinet was made of lightweight timber encased in linen. Hotv water tap not secured and dangerously hot. Toilet seat cover broken. Staircase carpet filthy dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north Wales & Stockport

hotel quite isolated transport is a must

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and games room
Cons: re designate rooms as singles
Location: isolated and advise own transport as a must
rooms very small although we were the only guests we were put in room 2 which was a twin room the smallest room in the hotel the one w/robe was a wooden frame covered in cheese cloth and was totally inadequate bedside tables totally inadequate floor space almost none existent when luggage was on the floor as there was no where else to store it. The bar area was good with dining room and a good size games room food expensive for what was offered i.e. beef burger chips and peas £ 12.50 but the breakfast was excellent over all we would only rate this inn as a 3 ok for one night stopover but not for a week's stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

A must for a reconnaissance mission to cornwall. I

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The people and atmosphere and of course location
Cons: Knock it down and build a Tescos there. I hope I get extra club card points for that comment
Location: if you have legs and a dog your in heaven, but also you can stay in the pub and, bear with me metamorphisise into a legless human
As always brilliant a home from home .If I could change the location where I live it would definitely be waite for it somewhere warmer'but whatever the wheather if you like to chill out spen a night bhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Was styng by myself and found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly...food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice B&B close to lots of lovely beaches

Posted Sep 1, 2014
It was a lovely stay, the breakfast was delicious and definitely more than enough :) We were slightly worried about it being situated on the main road, however we slept very well and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. We would definitely recommend the old wainhouse to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west Midlands

Good location for coastal walks

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Excellent friendly staff who made you feel well looked after. Food both in a morning and evening was excellent. It was also nice to drink with locals in the bar who made me feel very welcome. Will definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little pub, miles from anywhere on main road!

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Decent little pub. Rooms v small. Food plentiful (but not the best) miles from Bude (which is where we wanted to be) and anywhere else really. Room was on front by fairly noisy main road and room was quite small. Nicely decorated (if a little cheaply), but bed and pillows not too comfortable.
1 out of 5
by Tralvelalitlle from Canada

No answering phone service after business hours.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Wanted to warn about a really late arrival, never were able to reach someone. This talks about customer service quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tired traveller from Australia

Good roadside pub

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: didn't have to far to get a good meal.
Cons: I was on a main road.
Location: Little noisybwith the window open but otherwise OK.
This is obviously an old hotel that has been renovated to a pleasant but simple style. We had a very comfortable 2 night stay. Meals were typical good quality pub fayre. Staff did their utmost to ensure we had a comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Maryborough, Queensland, Australia

Great hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: The staff were excellent and the room was extremely comfortable. Food was great too!
Location: Location was ideal for us to travel around the local area.
The room was really comfortable. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, and we enjoyed our stay.