Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Problems

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Having said this the quality of food, service and staff were excellent .
Cons: We had room no 3 although the room next to ours appeared to be far superior.
Location: It suited our requirements.
Our room was very, very small & the windows could be secured in the open or closed position. No room for cases. Wardrobe & bedside cabinet was made of lightweight timber encased in linen. Hotv water tap not secured and dangerously hot. Toilet seat cover broken. Staircase carpet filthy dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north Wales & Stockport

hotel quite isolated transport is a must

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and games room
Cons: re designate rooms as singles
Location: isolated and advise own transport as a must
rooms very small although we were the only guests we were put in room 2 which was a twin room the smallest room in the hotel the one w/robe was a wooden frame covered in cheese cloth and was totally inadequate bedside tables totally inadequate floor space almost none existent when luggage was on the floor as there was no where else to store it. The bar area was good with dining room and a good size games room food expensive for what was offered i.e. beef burger chips and peas £ 12.50 but the breakfast was excellent over all we would only rate this inn as a 3 ok for one night stopover but not for a week's stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proper pub with rooms and very dog friendly

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Made very welcome by the pub landlady and locals
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Rotherham

Nice staff and food however

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The inn was nice and food was stunning . Staff very helpful and friendly. However the room needed a proper clean . The shower wasn't clean and cleaning materials were left scattered outside the room. Took the edge off a nice stay pity
3 out of 5
by Jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon

A must for a reconnaissance mission to cornwall. I

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The people and atmosphere and of course location
Cons: Knock it down and build a Tescos there. I hope I get extra club card points for that comment
Location: if you have legs and a dog your in heaven, but also you can stay in the pub and, bear with me metamorphisise into a legless human
As always brilliant a home from home .If I could change the location where I live it would definitely be waite for it somewhere warmer'but whatever the wheather if you like to chill out spen a night bhere
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The Old Wainhouse was easy to find and conveniently located in countryside near Bude. Staff are friendly and attentive. I stayed one night; my bedroom (and bathroom) was immaculately clean and furnished in a charmingly simple style. The restaurant was clearly popular but not being hungry, I settled for a sandwich and a couple of pints. It was nice to chat with several local residents. The full Cornish breakfast was excellent; two eggs, rashers of bacon, Cornish sausage, tomatoe etc..
3 out of 5
by Cornelius from Lilydale - Australia

Rustic Hotel Inn

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Rustic local Inn with rooms above hotel, rooms standard size with good bathroom and shower, evening meals at hotel are all from local producers and excellent. breakfast also excellent. Not to much noise from highway, but very loud when band is playing although they seemed to stop at about 11.30.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from London

Ideal break

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
ideal location, great food and service, would book again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and helpful. Accomodation clean and quiet, small room but adequate for our 2 night stay. Excellent cornish breakfast.