Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good B & B

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Geoff the owner was really welcoming and very helpful. The pub next door served a nice meal and Geoff's breakfast was to die for, best i have ever had. Highly recommended place to stay,whether on business or for a short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOvely

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Great host, fantastic location… will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Long Weekend In Cornwall

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The wonderful hosts Geoff & Ali, so nice to talk to and the wonderful cooked breakfast which is now in my top 5.
Cons: Don't change anything!
Location: St Agnes beach is quite compared to Harlyn Bay so worth a visit. The pub is excellent, real ale and live music near a beach - heaven.
It was a perfect weekend where the combination of B&B, location, hosts & guests all came together to provide a memorable long weekend in St Agnes, Cornwall. Oh of course and there was the weather too, don't believe the TV weather because St Agnes has its own micro-climate! Our hosts Geoff & Ali were a lovely couple, experienced in B&B and knew how to make us feel at home for a long weekend. Geoff cooked the breakfasts and I have to say it rates in my top 5 of all time: nothing overcooked, fresh local food, and lots of it - it was faultless. During our stay we met up with other guests at The Porthvean and they were all very friendly and chatty, with the local pub next door we kept meeting up over the weekend. Now the BBC weather had doom & gloom 2 days before we arrived, next time I'll ignore that and take sun cream because we cloudless skies and spend a lovely day at Harlyn Bay, an old time favorite of the family. Saturday evening we ate at the Driftwood Spar Bistro - book to avoid disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Weekend away

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Lovely B&B, very warm welcome, comfortable room and fabulous breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Bournemouth

The Porthvean - welcoming and comfortable

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Porthvean for three nights in June. It is a very pleasant stone building, some of which is several hundred years old, and the room was spacious and comfortable. We were made to feel very much at home, and were served an excellent breakfast each morning. The pub next door served great food with several choices of real beer. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
5 out of 5
by jcc1808bob from Somerset

Lovely old building

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
We had an enjoyable stay. Host was very pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfast. The room was very spacious and comfy. Building had lots of character. The B & B is next to a pub and on the night we stayed an event was taking place so was a little noisy up to closing time. Our only negative comment was we felt it was a little expensive compared to other places we have stayed. We would stay there again if in the area :-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spalding, Lincs

Oustanding service

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels
I have been travelling to Cornwall on business for nearly twenty years, and half at last unearthed a real gem. For a two night B&B stay the room was more than adequate, plus there is a comfortable communal lounge area downstairs. Plenty of eateries in St Agnes including the hotel next door. The cooked breakfast is outstanding - you'll save money on lunch because you won't have room for it. The hogs pudding is a must!
5 out of 5
by Rod from Bristol

Great B&B

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels
Attentive service; great breakfast; relaxed environment - and right in the heart of the town. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Dianne

Highly recommend

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels
Great service, even did our laundry, friendly plus a great pub next door. Close to St Ives.
5 out of 5
by Angela

Comfortable friendly guesthouse

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels
Enjoyed stay, free wifi good, friendly couple, would stay again.