Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Lovely hotel not so much the dated room

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Relaxed and chilled out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York UK

Wonderful views in a quiet location.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: A shuttle bus service down to St Ives would be a good idea even if in incurred a modest charge ( say £1 per capita each way)
Location: See above
Currently coming to the end of redecoration of the public areas, do'nt know who the contractor is but he/she has done a wonderful job.I assume the next phase will be to replace the some what incongruous leather leather furniture in the entrance/ reception area and the chairs I the main restaurant.the curtains in the restaurant are of good quality BUT the style in which they are drawn seriously inhibit natural daylight and makes the large room very dark. Our room was very clean, hairdryer in a rather silly location( wife had ta stand up to do her hair).The sports facilities are excellent as are the grounds of the hotel in general. I consider the place to be very much to be at the very top of a 3 star establishments having stayed in 4 star that do come near.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Von Außen sehr schön aber mehr nicht

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Parkanlage und Außenbereich
Cons: Den Zimmerpreis für das uns zugeteilte Zimmer ist keinesfalls angemessen. Diese Zimmerart muss günstiger sein.
Location: Ausflug nach St. Ives. Golf spielen.
Rezeption und Eingangshalle versprachen schon nicht viel aber unser Zimmer war wirklich die (negative) Krönung. Dieses Hotel war als Highlight unserer Reise gedacht denn die Darstellung des Hotels und der Preis ließen viel erwarten - leider wurden wir sehr enttäuscht. Schade. Das Zimmer war im Untergeschoss zum Hinterhof. Es war stickig und leicht dreckig und die Möbel und der Teppich sehr zerschlissen. Das Bad war auch in einem schlechten Zustand aber wenigstens sauber. Positiv zu bewerten ist die Außenansicht und die Parkanlage. Es scheint, dass jegliche Energie in den Außenbereich gesteckt wird. Auch das Frühstück war OK. Alles in allem war der Preis viel zu hoch für die uns gegenüber erbrachte Leistung.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent

Great Anniversary

Posted Jun 10, 2015
After being upgraded (as it was our 1st anniversary) we had an amazing 2 bed apartment with a great view of the sea and St Ives. Even the presence of a ghost in our room didn't spoil our time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Up a steep hill out of St Ives!

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pleasant staff, shame about the weather! It rained all weekend. Breakfast was excellent - plentiful and hot. Room very small; also hanging space. Bathroom was a bit old, but towels were thick, fluffy and white! Indoor pool and sauna very welcome because of rain. Lovely surroundings -walks, golf course and gardens...and the view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Idyllisch gelegenes Schlosshotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Gastfreundlicher Service, Zimmer eher älter und ringhörig, aber sauber und gepflegt. Sehr gepflegte Umgebung, schöne Aussicht.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for those who like large hotels

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: As above, and including the beauty centre where the fab Lucy dished out decent massages. My aching limbs have never felt better.
Cons: A receptionist who doesn't treat everyone like she has to get rid of them as soon as possible, even if she is busy.
Location: It's St Ives. I suggest the interested do a bit of homework.
...and in this case we mean massive. After all, it's a castle! The rooms are as suggested in the rating: standard. Neither TV nor phone were plugged in on arrival, but my wife is the practical one and immediately fixed same. Mattress has seen better days, but we slept well enough. The breakfast was good. Again standard fare, but plenty of it. The chap next to me took seven hash browns and there was an immediate replenishment. The view and the walk through the grounds is by far the best thing about the place. It sits atop the hill overlooking the bay, and the plants, fauna, trees and flowers are terrific for the vista.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

St Ives institution overlooking the town

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: The grounds and woodland paths.
Cons: The corridors are a maze and the signs are not too helpful
Location: St Ives - art, surfing, beaches, restaurants and pubs. But you know that don't you.
Perched on the hill overlooking the town, this is the Grand Dame of St Ives hotels. It is surrounded by beautiful grounds, its own swimming pool and the golf course. There are also self-catering units. The views are splendid and, if you are lucky you may get a room looking out towards the sea. I wasn't - the view was across the hotel roof. There is a rather institutional feel to the place although the rooms are comfortable enough. In the public areas, it is still suitably grand. All leather armchairs, chandeliers and polished wood. Buffet breakfast is OK. I guess it would not be practical to provide individual service in a place this size. The walk down to the town and beach is through the gardens, then across a busy road. The walk back is probably strenuous enough to make the hotel's fitness centre unnecessary. There does seem to be plenty of car parking for the hotel although driving into St Ives itself is not something I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Perfect location for a short trip

Posted May 31, 2015
Wonderful grounds, stunning views over St.Ives. Easy walking distance, good parking facilities. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newquay

Beautiful setting,glorious gardens.

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: The grounds, the view, the staff.
Cons: Breakfast, cold, and poor quality
Location: Beautiful St Ives a fair walk away, downhill, bit of a trek back uphill, through the lit gardens. Peaceful, comfortable bed. Quiet during our nights s
Booked with Expedia, asked to pay a deposit, chose a room with a courtyard view. Arrived to discover we had a misplaced booking, we hadn't actually had a deposit taken, so had to wait whilst the confusion was sorted out, luckily I had my iPad with me to prove I had booked! Given a small room with a brick wall to look at!!!! No 59, don't accept that one. The seal to the shower door was green with algae. Breakfast was ok. I complained at the time and the next morning as I left, not that anyone was interested, and no compensation offered, huge disappointment, would not return, but have my xmas party there this year, from Treliske and will need a room, it would be nice to get an up grade for that and some feedback. Dissappointed with Tregenna Castle and Expedia, you need to sort things out.