Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Merle from Hagley, Worcestershire

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Have visited before. A lovely hotel with friendly staff. Slightly let down by breakfast. Limited selection of cold buffet - fruit puree unavailable on last day with no alternative. Coffee often only luke warm.Also no choice of yogurts - only strawberry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Turret room our nxt stop!

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great stay at hotel & staff friendly & informative! However carpets in main traffic areas need cleaning as they smell badly perhaps a few air fresheners around after cleaning complete!
4 out of 5
by Adrian from Bristol

A good experience.

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
I was a little put off by the fusty old smell through the whole building when we first arrived. But once you were inside for a while you didn't notice it any more and when I was told how old the building was it was totally understandable really! Very informative and friendly staff. Our room was very old, 16th century I believe! but comfortable and functional, we slept well. Hotel is very higgledy piggledy and probably not for anyone with mobility issues. We were very disappointed with the food as we were led to believe The Wellington served the best food in Boscastle but, unfortunately, their head chef was 'off ill' the night we stayed so perhaps that explained it!
5 out of 5
by Charles from Colerne

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay at the hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding anninversayr. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent espcially in the restaurant where the service was second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately stay there again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taunton

Was just ok.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Pricing & breakfast portion.
Location: A beautiful location.
Booked the hotel for a change away from B&B's as it looked a nice building. Staff were very nice and friendly, and the building, fixtures & fittings were alright - but for the £130 we paid for the room which is normally £160 I thought it was a bit pricey for what you got. Definitely not worth more than £100 a night in my opinion, sorry. The previous night we stopped in a B&B a bit further down the coast at a cost of £80 which had the same amenities, was as clean and modern and had as nice hosts, so... Breakfast was ok, but a bit small. 1 sliver of bacon is a bit tight don't you think ?
5 out of 5
by Peter from Melton Mowbray

A hotel with character, and a lovely Fran

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
Had a really fantastic stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Fran who made us feel particularly welcome. The hotel is what a good old fashioned English hotel should be, rooms with character, freshly cooked breakfasts, a proper bar, and great gardens, will definitely be back for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by Paula from Knowle

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Good central location with lovely staff, rooms and food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Beautiful location - Friendly atmosphere

Posted Jun 19, 2015
We stayed one night in the hotel and enjoyed the comfort of the room and the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was also very good. All the people we met at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended.
4 out of 5
by Belinda from Exeter

Wellington wal

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for a weekend walking trip. Good hotel, well furnished room, comfortable bed, bathroom a little cramped. Excellent staff and good bar food. The Waterloo restaurant was a little disappointing, with forgetful service, and a bit cold. Excellent base for the coast path, and Boscastle is an attractive place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Ticked every box!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Cons: Better pillows and larger tv in room, it did look a it lost!
Location: Boscastle itself is very pretty with lots of lovely walks, Tintagel Castle absolute must but prepare for some exertion!
Booked the Guy Gibson turret room for our anniversary, hotel very easy to find as Boscastle not a large place! Check in friendly and informative. The room is situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park, however there was no noise during the night so not a problem. The room itself is huge with a super king size sleigh style bed which was comfy. Only fault would be the rather lumpy pillows but after a long afternoons walk it didn't really matter! Bathroom very modern with nice toiletteries. The seperate shower cubicle is a little compact but there is a hand held shower on the bath. Overall the room was excellent and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was included in the room rate and we opted for full Cornish breakfast, this was well presented and very tasty but could hVe been more generously portioned. Overall would recommend the hotel but if breakfast isn't included in your room rate pop round the corner to Sails cafe who offer a huge all day breakfast for less money which is equally as deliciuos.