Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrian from Bristol

A good experience.

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
I was a little put off by the fusty old smell through the whole building when we first arrived. But once you were inside for a while you didn't notice it any more and when I was told how old the building was it was totally understandable really! Very informative and friendly staff. Our room was very old, 16th century I believe! but comfortable and functional, we slept well. Hotel is very higgledy piggledy and probably not for anyone with mobility issues. We were very disappointed with the food as we were led to believe The Wellington served the best food in Boscastle but, unfortunately, their head chef was 'off ill' the night we stayed so perhaps that explained it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra from Köln

Würde ich sofort wieder buchen

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Wir waren zwei Nächte dort. Das Gebäude ist sehr alt aber gut gepflegt. Die Dielen knarren, das Gebäude ist verwinkelt, man geht treppauf, treppab um zu seinem Zimmer zu kommen und verläuft sich auch leicht die erste Zeit. Die Einrichtung ist schlicht aber geschmackvoll, nicht modern, sondern eher zeitlos. Das Bett war hervorragend, zwar war die Matratze latent weich, aber nicht durchgelegen, man hat super darin geschlafen. Beim Frühstück könnte man sich mit Cornflakes, Obst, Joghurt, Säften und Milch selbst bedienen, den Rest bekam man frisch aus der Küche auf Bestellung. Ein kontinentales Frühstück, mit Wurst und Schnittkäse gab es nicht, aber ein hervorragendes cornishes Frühstück, frische Croissants und selbstgebackene Brötchen. Abends könnte man hervorragend in der Bar essen, mittwochs gibt es dabei sogar live Gesang von den Anwohnern, die quasi einen Musikstammtisch pflegen. Das Hotel hat auch ein Restaurant, aber da waren wir nicht und können es daher auch nicht bewerten. Der Service war super nett und immer gut gelaunt. Vom Preis her erwartet man in Deutschland deutlich mehr comfort, aber für England war es absolut in Ordnung. Ich glaube, in boscastle ist es das beste Haus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charles from Colerne

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay at the hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding anninversayr. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent espcially in the restaurant where the service was second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately stay there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Aug 5, 2015
hôtel super seul point négatif le personnel ne fait aucun effort pour comprendre les touristes avec un anglais moyen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taunton

Was just ok.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Pricing & breakfast portion.
Location: A beautiful location.
Booked the hotel for a change away from B&B's as it looked a nice building. Staff were very nice and friendly, and the building, fixtures & fittings were alright - but for the £130 we paid for the room which is normally £160 I thought it was a bit pricey for what you got. Definitely not worth more than £100 a night in my opinion, sorry. The previous night we stopped in a B&B a bit further down the coast at a cost of £80 which had the same amenities, was as clean and modern and had as nice hosts, so... Breakfast was ok, but a bit small. 1 sliver of bacon is a bit tight don't you think ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Rymligt rum med ok sängar. God frukost. Barnen tyckte det här var det bästa hotellet av alla vi var till.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peter from Melton Mowbray

A hotel with character, and a lovely Fran

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
Had a really fantastic stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Fran who made us feel particularly welcome. The hotel is what a good old fashioned English hotel should be, rooms with character, freshly cooked breakfasts, a proper bar, and great gardens, will definitely be back for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paula from Knowle

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Good central location with lovely staff, rooms and food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Beautiful location - Friendly atmosphere

Posted Jun 19, 2015
We stayed one night in the hotel and enjoyed the comfort of the room and the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was also very good. All the people we met at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Belinda from Exeter

Wellington wal

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for a weekend walking trip. Good hotel, well furnished room, comfortable bed, bathroom a little cramped. Excellent staff and good bar food. The Waterloo restaurant was a little disappointing, with forgetful service, and a bit cold. Excellent base for the coast path, and Boscastle is an attractive place.