Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming character hotel with super friendly staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
very charming character hotel, staff are super friendly and couldn't do more to help out, the hotel has a great pub, serving great local Cornish ales and beer, the food is freshly prepared and very tasty. The only down side for me was it was a little on cold in some of public areas of the hotel, particularly the breakfast room, however it had been a cold wind night. The old style of the hotel would naturally assume you don't get the benefits of double glazed windows!! Would definitiely recommend the hotel, just go prepared with a few woolly jumpers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Historic hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Central to Boscastle and all the amenities.
We stayed in a turret room which was roomy, comfortable and which had a lovely bathroom. Ate a nice meal in the bar in the evening. The staff were very friendly and it was very dog friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel in a historic setting

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful service. They took my luggage up to my room which was on the third floor so that was nice. Food in the bar was excellent. The heat was very controllable. I wish I could have spent more time. The bed was a single bed but that was fine for just me. And very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A great centrally located hotel for visiting Bosca

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Warm welcoming staff, and a great breakfast service.
Cons: There was nothing specific about the hotel that I didn't like.
Location: Located moments from the harbour where you can walk out onto the cliffs, and have some freshly caught lobsters and crabs from the local fishermen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel, prompt and willing service.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Charming 16th C coaching inn. Welcoming staff. Prompt, willing and friendly service. Single rooms are small but complete with all necessary toiletries etc...and clean!! Could use fluffier pillows but otherwise ticks all the boxes. Quality and varied menus. Meals cheerful served. Hospitable on-site pub is reasonably priced. Good for a short or extended stay. Short walk to harbour and local shops. What's not to like?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Great at Short Notice !

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Staff & cleanliness
Location: Ideally placed for coastal walks
Booked on the Tuesday to stay in Boscastle for Saturday night at the Wellington. Lovely check in by Sarah. Great bar, all staff very helpful. We didn't eat there other than the breakfast but the food coming out of the kitche (lobster) looked good. We did however have breakfast which was plentiful and tastey. Even the Hogs pudding which we were persuaded to try as I thought it was black pudding so refused only to be friendly advised it was in fact a 'Cornish type of sausage' It was also tastey. We were in a great room (10) which was quaint but huge. Tea and coffee facilities with lots of packets of biscuits. Everything, including the bathroom was exceptionally clean. idealy positioned for lots of lovely coastal walks, even if the weather is rubbish 😀 We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from St Tudy

Breathtaking Boscastle

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Recently stayed one night at this intriguing Hotel, very helpful staff and good food , slightly disappointed the Restaurant was empty hence ate in bar. Bedroom was a good size but somewhat dated furnishings. Superb grounds to walk up through to higher parts with stunning views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel situated in Boscastle harbour

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Its right in the centre of Boscastle. The staff are friendly and welcoming, plus the food in the restaurant is very good.
Cons: Some touching up of the decor in places would be good - nothing too major though.
Location: The Wellington is on the harbour, so a short walk takes you to the harbour mouth and the cliff top views of the famous Boscastle "blowhole".
I've stayed at the Wellington on a number of occasions over the years and have always had a very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, Merseyside

Nice hotel and very pleasant staff.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Welcoming and comfortable.
Cons: It was only a short stay and everything was fine during this time.
Location: The hotel is central to the village and there was plenty to look at, museum, shops and a riverside walk.
Very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were knowledgable about the surrounding area and very helpful.