Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers New Zealand

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: In Whiitanga
Cons: Be truthful on room description and be respectful to your customers.
We started to plan our 25 anniversary trip to NZ last summer and booked this one and another place in Te Anau very early. The plan changed to bringing our two daughters along. We did not change the booking (one room with two king beds) and thought we could pay the extra persons fee at the site. No problem in Te Anau, But when we arrived this one in a rainy evening, as soon as the site manager saw our two daughters, she started lecturing and complaining. In front of all of us, she asked us four times: how many people do you have in your group? Each time, we answered: four and we will pay the extra fee! No use, complains go on and on, not only fees but also she had to make another bed - the two-king room only had one bed made at this time! Shouldn't both beds be ready regardless? We started feeling very uncomfortable and asked if we could add the two girls for one night (girls want to move out the next day). No! We were told we should feel lucky to be able to stay! We paid the 2p x 2nt fee but move out all together the next morning! The room we booked: upstair two-king beds with private bath and kitchenette, is totally misleading: 1. the bathroom is not private, it's outside downstair through outdoor stairs (we were rained on heavily going there). 2. the two beds are actually queens. We moved to a hotel the very next day with actual king beds and the comparison was obvious. 3. The room has a note requiring no food inside the room - very ironic for a room with kitchenette
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

Fawlty Towers Whitianga (but Basil is a lady)

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The decor was nice - like a retirement home
Cons: The owner could maybe take the following course - 'Customer Service 101 - lets start at the basics'
Location: Not sure - we had such a bad experience we left after 10 minutes
Ill keep this short - for my long review see Trip Advisor. First trip away with baby (8 weeks old) to surprise my partner. Busy at work, booked online and didn't select 1 child on booking. Well bad mistake if you want to stay here... Lady at hotel sees baby and starts a 10 minute lecture about how rude we are, how inconceivable it is for me to have filled out the expedia form wrong and how our child will disrupt her guests. Im horribly offended, she wont back down an inch, she tells me I'm rude for asking for refund _ I tell her to keep my money and I'll leave an honest review. Seriously felt like we were on an episode of Fawlty Towers As you can see by her response to my early feedback there's no stopping this charmer - there is no misunderstanding - this lady is not nice. Do not stay here. "Hi Rob, I am sorry you were unhappy at my accommodation. You obviously mis understood me, I love children as a review a few days earlier will show you. Please remember to mention your number one priority in life next time you book accommodation."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kauai, Hawaii

Luxury at a great price

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Location: Try "Squid" for dinner, take the ferry to the peninsula and hop the shuttle to Cathedral Cove, Hahei, and Hot Water Beach
John & Maria provide everything you need: great room, top notch breakfast, close to town, short walk to the beach, free kayaks, full bar and barbeque if you want. Whitianga is a great little town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire uk

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 18, 2016
A lovely homely B and B . Very friendly and comfortable. A real home from home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Lovely atmosphere. Very high quality B &B

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Quiet comfortable clean short drive into town for good food.
Location: We ate at Squids in town. Good food and service. Reasonable cost. Lovely natural harbour with big marina. Only there overnight.
Stayed one night. Hostess very helpful about local area. Wanted to be sure we enjoyed our stay. Good buffet breakfast. Location very quiet. Lovely garden are to sit outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely comfortable and friendly accommodation

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Wonderful location very friendly and helpful owners. They have really thought about the things that their guest may want or need. Breakfast was excellent. Nice lounge and garden to sit in. Free use of kayaks. Excellent value. They have really gone the extra mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Fantastic staying!!!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Beautiful place to stay! Room is very clean and comfortable with great Deco. Management was very helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi was working well. Breakfast was excellent with nice tableware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise from California

Great Place!

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: cleanliness, comfort, friendly and professional people, wonderful breakfast, opportunity for great massages
Cons: room a bit small for three adult women, but we had a lot of "stuff" with us
Location: convenient, pretty, and quiet
Our room was a bit small for three adult women, but that's the only reason we rated it a 4. It was beautifully clean and well appointed, and the beds were quite comfortable. Also, we didn't mind having a little less space in our room because we were able to use the communal lounge and kitchen and the outdoor garden area, all of which were very pleasant. The location on Parkland Place is great, both convenient and quiet. It's a pleasant, short walk to the beach or a short drive into town. The breakfast is superb, with an extensive choice of delicious breakfast food, excellent beverages, and beautifully set tables. Maria and Guy were friendly, helpful, and fun to get to know. They made us feel very much at home, and we also had a chance to make friends with other guests, which was very pleasant. Finally, we can attest to Maria's top-notch skill as a professional massage therapist if you are interested in arranging for a massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyable

Posted Jan 9, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay, friendly owner , very helpfull, beautifull surroundings,overall brilliant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good nights sleep.

Posted Feb 29, 2012
Pros: quietness
Cons: too many fancy things
Location: out of town
super. clean .purpose built accom.a little too flowery for my taste.a drive into town for bars etc.free internet.