Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JL

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Had a fabulous time, enjoyed our stay so much! Definitely will recommend !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The whole stay was relaxing and stress free. You pay everything afterwards. The food was great and we got the privacy that we wanted. An awesome place to unwind. They will give you a warm welcome and they always put a smile on their face while greeting you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Perfect place for both family and romance. Staff works extremely hard to make you feel like family. My only suggestion is that improvements need to be made with the food. Other than that, this place is perfect.. Secluded from town. If your looking for a place to bond with your partner, look NO further.. I highly recommend this resort..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

tucked away in a private paradise

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Cons: We stayed in a cabana which is adjoined to another one, and we could hear noises from the room next to us.
el rio y mar was a great finish to our trip in Coron. The staff provided superb service and the hotel facility was well maintained. We enjoyed all the non motorized water sports equipment free of charged. Food was okay but the ambience more than make up for it. Will stay there again in a heart beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel especially for the price.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Nice relaxing resort, very friendly staff. Cottages are on the beach and very quiet. Good the only ruining which is not brilliant but for everything else it's well worth the cost. To get any better you have to pay a load more for little incremental extra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice place on an exclusive island.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Cons: The only downside to this is the food. You only can eat at the island restaurant. Limited selection and the food was mediocre.
Location: Location surrounded by pure nature. Amazing beach!
Love the location and the staff. It really had a feeling that you're far away from everything. When we stayed, there were only 17 total guests, which made it very exclusive. The native bungalows were fantastic.
3 out of 5
by Bowden from Bangkok

Sweet & Bitter

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
I'm going to take the time to write a full review here, so if you really want to know about this property read on. The good: This was a beautiful resort and a wonderful place to stay. It was secluded, quiet, beautiful location and lots of facilities. The staff were wonderful, they looked after everyone so well, and just put everything they had. Not to mention the boat ride to up the river was really special. However... All the auxiliary prices are REALLY expensive. Given the price of the rooms, to get a bus to Coron, and the boat, transport only was 5500PHP for one person. Or 9000 if I wanted to do it with a tour. This is ludicrous and the biggest disappointment for me, was that this actually inhibited me from doing many of the things I actually went to Coron to see. This really upset me as the pricing was so prohibitive that it meant I wasted my trip. Which is a real shame. It kind of took the edge of the whole holiday. Keep this in mind when booking, because it really affects the rating I gave this place and could really affect your holiday. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g729733-d1085145-r322289919-El_Rio_y_Mar_Resort-Coron_Palawan_Island_Palawan_Province_Mimaropa.html#
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Wonderful getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to bring fresh catch to cook, and he did an amazing job with it. Awesome dive team and boat crews.
Cons: The drinks were quite expensive, and they were not pouring full shots. They should take care here because you should get a fair drink for the prices
Location: Coron town was nice. There should be a daily route to the town to allow for shopping and siteseeing.
Just a wonderful place. very scenic. We stayed in the native units and I was really impresssed. Long walk from main place, but that was half the fun. Tours were very nice and the folks were great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Amazing location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The setting, the lagoon is heaven and being able to walk from your room and snorkel straight from the beach is amazing.
Cons: The prices need to be reviewed for what the provide, for the same price you can get 4 / 5 star hotels, this isn't 5 star.
Location: Snorkel, kayak and relax.
This hotel was amazing and a very idylic setting. A little bit overpriced for the room and the food etc in comaprison to other places but worth it. Left us stranded at the airport however after promising us a transfer to the town so we had to arrange a private van. Very good service until we had checked out then they didnt seem to care.
1 out of 5
by Jon from Usa

Be forewarned.

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Let me give everyone overall warning. This hotel is 1.5 hours from coron. It's very isolated and very very overpriced. There is only one restaurant and that's all the choices anyone has when staying here. I spent more money here in 4 days than the rest of my two weeks jumping all over Asia. I don't mind paying if the price is double in this case it can be as much as 6 to 8 times what it would cost normally. So be forewarned. The staff does provide excellent service. I did complain to someone on staff several times that their prices are way overpriced. Staff said they will look into it but nothing happened. It will cost an eve rage of 400 dollars to 500 us a day. Heard a bunch of the other guests at the hotel complaining but we had no choice.