Ratings based on 595 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central PA

Nice central location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Awesome courteous staff that was super helpful. Was originally an old Spanish mansion so the tile work in the bathroom was stunning!
Cons: Mainly - parking availability. Would have been helpful to know "how" to operate air conditioner after long day of travel.
Location: BEACHES!, bike riding, walking - window shopping, multiple tours available, Navy bases nearby, 2 great restaurants that are part of hotel.
In town for my son's beach wedding. Very nice small hotel with shopping, dining and transportation options nearby. Shops and two restaurants are in the same building. Room had gorgeous hand-painted Spanish style tiles in the bathroom. There was no elevator but that was not a problem. I only use my walker to cover long treks when traveling. Staff kept my walker secured in their office so I could pick it up / dropped it off whenever I needed to. They were very prompt and courteous about carrying the suitcase up when I checked in. Same service to bring the suitcase down when I checked out. Only down side for me was the very limited parking (metered public parking on street). If you are more mobile and love walking / bicycling, this is a great location for you. Many many things within walking distance. Bicycles available for rent and tour bus comes through the area. Lots of gorgeous beaches nearby to enjoy. Some only a block away! There was also a lovely pool area at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: I liked the location along with the small cozy atmosphere.. There were immediate check-in and out procedures with no hassles!
Cons: Room could use and extra mirror besides the vanity mirror in bathroom.
Location: Great location....walking distance to shops, restrauants and beach! Felt sate and secure in this location.
Love the small cozy environment of this hotel with a small open patio to enjoy. The staff made every effort to meet our requests and made our stay enjoyable. We arrived early and Alex at the front desk made every effort to let us check in early and find a room to meet our satisfaction. He was exceptional in providing assistance to parking, restrauants, sites to see, etc. Love him!!!! Our visit was a week and the cleaning staff for our room met our daily needs and made sure that we were comfortable each day! I look forward to another visit in the future! Love that the Miguel's restaurant is there. Enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast on site!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Nice hotel for families but loud

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Overall enjoyed our stay at El Cordova. The free parking was street parking. Got locked out on the balcony when my daughter shut the door. The noise from the adjoining room with a baby was very loud all night, our friends were closer to the restaurant which they said was loud until about 10 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Outstanding and unique hotel. Great location Have already recommended to several friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Noisy

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Our room was directly beside a Mexican restaurant with a loud outdoor patio and it sounded like it was in our hotel room until well after 10 PM. The rooms are accessible from the street level which means less security since anyone can access your door. We had a drunk guy banging on our door at 1:30 AM. Not at all what we were expecting from the website pictures. We won't be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Hot

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The first day we came in all the windows were shut, no fans were on and are room was 90 degrees, we turned on all the fans tried to get the air conditioner going and could get it down to 85 at its lowest. We opened all the windows and used the fans and that made things bareable during the day. A storm came through two of the four days, so that helped but it was so hot! Other than that awesome place, awesome location awesome staff, they clean your room at like 4 which is weird, but other than that I really liked the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverside ca

Super cute Spanish getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Loved the character of the hotel. Small room. Great location and nice staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim DeGroot, Hotel Management
Hi Rosemarie - Thank you for your feedback...I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and loved the character of the El Cordova! It is definately the best location on the island. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again very soon! Tim DeGroot General Manager El Cordova Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Unique hotel with style

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Charm and Spanish style uniqueness. Close proximity to the beach and downtown activities.
Cons: Have a mini fridge and microwave in the rooms and maintain the plumbing.
Location: Centrally located by the Coronado del Mar, beach, restaurants, bars and shopping.
My husband and I enjoyed staying here during our two night Coronado trip. The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. The room (deluxe queen) was small but nice and comfy with the Spanish style I liked when I booked the hotel. There was not a fridge or microwave so we called and they brought us a fridge (micro not necessary) free of charge. The a/c unit was in the open closet and worked very well. The TV had several channels and the view of the garden was nice. The pool was clean and inviting (we used it once). A little noisy since we were near the pool, but we were upstairs so not too bad. There were two popular restaurants adjacent to the hotel. The only negatives were that parking cost $20 per night to park in the nearby Bank of America garage, our toilet ran, and the bathtub was clogged, but we didn't even complain about that... no huge deal. Oh, and there was a spider in our room. Yikes! The hubby killed it after I screamed. I would recommend this hotel for its charm and uniqueness, affordability, pool, and proximity to the beach and downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim DeGroot, Hotel Management
Hi Alison - Thank you so much for your fantastic review, and for your feedback! I appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our beautiful little gem on Coronado. While not all rooms have a fridge and microwave, we do offer larger suites that have separate kitchens and living areas, so maybe try one of those next time! They are great for a family vacation, or just for a quick getaway. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! Tim DeGroot General Manager El Cordova Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
My experience with the hotel and it's staff was great. Staff was very friendly and polite. The room I stayed in was great. I had great view to the Coronado Hotel which was a plus for me. There were two things that did dissapoint me.. 1st was the parking. No assigned parking for the hotel and trying to find one was extremelly frustrating. Had to park almost 4 blocks away at a point. 2nd was the to go section of Miguel's restaurant, waited for over 30 min to try to place an order, ended up walking away because of no service. Dissapointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017
Good Morning! I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel, and were able to experience the best location on the island! We do have some parking spaces for our guests, for a charge, but I apologize if you were not made aware of that. We have a parking garage about a block away that our guests can use, for $20-$30 per day. Otherwise, you are correct, parking on Coronado can be a challenge to say the least. I will also relay your comments to Miguels Restaurant, and I am sorry that you had to wait so long, and then had to make other arrangements. Thank you, and we hope to see you again soon! Tim DeGroot General Manager El Cordova Hotel
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017
Hi Barbara! Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW! We really appreciate it, and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon! Tim DeGroot General Manager El Cordova Hotel