Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

practical on the beach!

Posted Jan 25, 2012
We were looking for something that could fit our large family and this was it, 3 queens in the room! And we were right across the street from the beach and a park, we just crossed the street and we were walking on the beach! The rooms were not fancy but good enough since we weren't going to be in much.The room had a fridge and microwave which was also something I wanted. My only complaint would be, that the lobby wasn't big enough for anyone to eat and had no tables or chairs and the breakfast (cereal & milk, some pastries & juice, and coffee) was kinda sad. But without a real lobby I guess there's not much else they could serve. But it was one meal I didn't have to buy. So, for the money, it was worth it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeanne from San Antonio, TX, USA

Disappointed

Posted Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Favorite: That it is close to the beach.
Cons: Least favorite: Was that it was not cleaned correctly.
Location: The location was good.
The hotel clerk was very nice. When we got to the room it looked cleaned until I went into the bathroom there was hair all over the toliet and floor like it had not been swept or cleaned. Then when I took off my shoes and had my socks on and walked around saw that my socks were dirty with dirt I realized that the carpet had not been vaccumed. Other than that it was alright, since it was too late to get another hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburg, tx

roaches and mice

Posted Jul 24, 2011
I had a meeting scheduled for 08:00a.m. in Corpus Christi, and since I live in Edinburg, TX, I decided to drive up the night before for convenience. I searched online for a hotel close to where my meeting would be held. The first thing I noticed when I walk into my room are the stains on the comforter, the next thing I notice is there is a HUGE dead cockroach as soon as you enter the bathroom. There was abosolutely no soap in the room, and I notice every piece of furniture is mismatched and in disrepair. I decided it is just for one night I won't even pull back the covers and I will sleep on top of a towel because I didn't trust the bed. I get some rest and then I am awakened at 0500am. because there is a mouse running around the room, and that was the last straw, I gathered my belongings and I checked out as quickly as I could. I wouldn't want my worst enemy to stay at that hotel it was beyond awful and I am pretty open-minded and tolerant, but there is no excuse for that hotel to be managed so poorly. I feel sorry for people that have to choose that hotel because of budget constraints. It is a disgrace. If you don't mind nonexistent service and are not offended by Texas size cockroaches and mice in your room, then I guess you will be fine at the budget inn on shoreline drive in Corpus Christi, TX.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Where to start?

Posted May 12, 2011
Let me begin by saying that I'm not a picky guy. I'm fine in places that may not be the best neighborhood, or may not be a top-of-the-line motel. This place, however, was worse than about 80% of the hostels I stayed in when I backpacked through Europe one summer. Users who are annoyed at not being able to easily find a place or at having to listen carefully and speak slowly to the front desk staff may want to consider other options. The place is easy to miss (it's right before the hospital). The family that runs the motel is friendly and welcoming, but the gentleman who checked me in is still improving his English. I asked for a non-smoking room. The carpet had cigarette burns all over it (by all over it, I mean in no less than 2 dozen separate places) and the place smelled faintly of smoke, but sure enough, it was marked as non-smoking. The sheets were dusty, yet somehow the bed had fleas on it (sand fleas from the beach across the street). There was HALF A ROLL of extremely cheap toilet paper in the room. THAT'S IT. No soap, no shampoo, no kleenex/tissue. Bring your own. The towels smelled of bleach, thank god, but after using them so did I. The best part? About 90 seconds after I turned the light out for the night, something that sounded bigger than a cockroach but smaller than a cat made a mad, skittering dash across the floor, crashed into a wall in the "kitchen," and disappeared. On top of fleas, the place had mice or rats.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

Dispointed nothing like it looked on line

Posted Apr 19, 2011
Found dead bug in bedside drawer. And the area where the fridge and micro were was not all that clean. Dust on the light shades. I was in a king size room. And from what was shown to me on line and when I got there, nothing was like I saw. Will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburg, TX

Budget Inn

Posted Feb 28, 2011
Hotel's price was fair for the price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by OZZH from Houston, TX

Not Bad

Posted Nov 22, 2009
A decent place to crash. Close to the beach and the night life downtown. My family and I rented three different rooms. Two doubles and one single room. We even got an up grade to a suite due to availability.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cuero, TX

cheap

Posted Oct 21, 2009
Air Conditioner did not work, we had to move. Commode clogged up, was taken care of promptly. pipe noise when cold water turned on. No continental breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again even at the price

Posted Oct 21, 2009
had to get room key set up every day for 5 days. place is falling apart, breakfast is meek.
4 out of 5
by Janet from Wisconsin

close to ocean

Posted Oct 15, 2009
The base of the toilet needed to be cleaned and the ceiling over thw microwave was falling down