Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Hotel is undergoing renovations.

Posted May 23, 2017
We were tkld that due to our discounted rate for my wife and I, we would only get one breakfast coupon. Never had that problem before. The breakfast staff was unorganized slooooooooow service with 3 couples in the restaurant. Other than that location is great and we will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, Ks

Very nice hotel!

Posted May 20, 2017
Hotel is under new management and currently being upgraded. The hotel looks great and the staff are awesome. The only area needing improvement is the restaurant, not enough staff and limited selections on their menu. The food arrived at our table cold too many times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city.

Convenient to beach.

Posted May 7, 2017
Under construction. Noise at night. No water during night. No door for bathroom. Generally not ready for rental at rates charged. Restaurant too pricey. Ken and Joyce retired and travel frequently
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI. & N.Y., N.Y.

Beach side hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The location was very good.
Cons: Better staff in the restaurant.
Location: You have to drive to find food, but it wasn't that far. We did drive to Port Aransas to check it out which was only a 20 minute drive.
The best thing about the hotel is that it is right on the beach. The day we arrived it was so windy that it wasn't very comfortable to actually lie on the beach so it was nice that they had a pool & hot tub to get away from the wind a bit. They do have a separate kiddy pool which keeps the little ones out of the bigger pool. There were guys working on fixing the deck with power tools while we we lying there, so it wasn't as relaxing as it could have been. The room had been renovated but they told us as we checked in that the door into the bathroom had not arrived yet and hoped we were ok with that. It ended up just fine. We had an angled view of the ocean and a view of the pool area. The staff was very friendly. The biggest downfall was the restaurant. The staff was totally unorganized. There was only about 6 tables of people and they had several waitstaff but they did not seem to be able to remember if they had taken an order. One person sat you, but then we sat at our table for 45 minutes. They would ask if someone took our org=der but then forgot to put it in to the kitchen. When they finally brought it out, it was cold and they forgot the toast. They apologized, but I can't imagine what they would do if they had a room full of guests. I would not recommend eating there. We only tried breakfast once, that was enough. We found other places to eat while we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right by the beach!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Great! Enjoyed the stay! So close to the beach. The beach area was clean and access to facilities was a plus.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Abrasive Defensive Management Staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Don't have any complaints here, accept things the way they are or just move on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place for adults

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: rooms could have been a little cleaner
Location: hit Padre pizzeria, very tasty
Took kids and wanted to be on the gulf not the bay, band played until 10 keeping the kids up 2 hours later than normal, walls are a little thin to, but if I would have been kid less I would have been down with the band
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Near the beach, friendly staff.
Cons: Make sure rooms get cleaned, don't make guests call your contractors/lease companies, get on the Holiday Inn members program.
Location: The beach is right there, so that's nice. Some great restaurants in the area. The aquarium was wonderful, so was the USS Lexington.
Pros: Right on the beach. Staff is friendly. The staff on hand was very helpful when we arrived, let us check in early, and gave us some tips on where to go for food and entertainment. Cons: Despite this being a Holiday Inn there are no perks for being a member like breakfast buffet (you have to go to their overpriced and disorganized onsite restaurant), no newspaper, no later checkout, or anything like that. There was constant construction going on inside and out, so even trying to relax in the jacuzzi (which was broken for at least one day) was pointless with the construction people ogling you. Ice machines were broken, air conditioner rattled, and they put us on the north side of the building immediately next to the elevator so not only did we get a lovely view of the neighbor's garbage shoot but we also kept getting woken up by the elevator at night for five days straight. When we asked if we could move rooms we were told it would be an extra $200-$300 PER NIGHT. No way. They have chairs on site for you to sit on the beach, but they are rented out by a third party and YOU have to call some random guy on your personal phone in order to rent one. No thanks. We didn't get our room cleaned two days in a row and had to call down and ask for someone to come up and swap out towels, refresh coffee, and empty the trash. The people they sent up to do so were nice about it, but by that point I was getting tired of doing management's job for them. Would not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff left door unlocked.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
I stayed for a week for business. They are currently going through renovations and was woken up at 6 by truxks and equipment outside my room. I came home from work one day and my door was propped open. Apparently housekeeping did not close the door all the way after cleaning. Fortunately none of my computers were missing and no one was hanging out in my room when I returned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location... beautiful beach is few steps aw.

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Orbitz
I enjoyed my stay a lot. My room for as newly renovated and had a partial ocean view. The stay would be much more enjoyable if pool renovation would be completed. Overall it was good pick for the value.