Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient, even luxury...But WiFi :(

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, breakfast
Cons: Internet
Pretty comfortable hotel in Cortona for people, coming in a car. Hotel is located at the foot of the hill, easily accessed in the car. Does not have its own parking though when you come, your car is parked nearby by hotel personnel. When you need it, the car is brought within several minutes. 5 minutes to walk along a non-steep street up the hill to the town center. Excellent breakfast. Main problem is to taste everything that is in the buffet (and everything is worth tasting). Bar with soft drinks in the room is complimentary (but not refilled ). Friendly personnel. Receptionist advised us where to go for dinner, what to look at in the town, and what neighboring towns to visit (with recommendations about vinaries, restaurants, POI). The only thing I would complain is the WiFi. It was poor in out room. Receptionist several times reset the routers, it network started working better, but soon was down again. Some network from the other floor was usable, but was pretty poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Beautiful hotel with amazing views of surrounding Tuscany. Cortona is a lovely quiet place. Front desk staff extremely helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buffet to die for ...................

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Incredible buffet and loved every minute of this place in Tuscany . My travel agent chose well. Thanks Rochelle Lee from Travelmanagers New Zealand
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are waiting for you again at Cortona. Marina Torresi - Direttore
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blacksburg, VA

Wonderful place and wonderful people!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I rarely write reviews but this hotel deserves it. The staff members are truly PROFESSIONAL. They are wonderful people who know how to run their business. The hotel is also excellent and located close to the center of the city. And breakfast was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A Great base for exploring South Tuscany

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet at this hotel was one of the best I ever had (and I stay in several dozen hotel per year on three continents) ! My son loved it!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Besides visiting the beautiful ancient hill town of Cortona on foot, there are some great vineyards in the general vicinity accessible par car.
This hotel has a good location on the hillside at the base of the old town of Cortona. You can easily walk to the town, and it was easy to get away to explore the surrounding area (like Montalcino and Montepulciano). Our room was bright, clean and airy, with a great view south to Umbria and Lake Trasimeno. We were there during a heat wave and the A/C was fine. The staff are very friendly and helpful (they helped us find and book a restaurant for dinner), and have many guidebooks available in various languages. There were many nice touches at this hotel, like the afternoon snacks and the post dinner cantucci and vin santo in the main salon. Our bedroom was quiet at night. The location is also convenient for getting back to Rome - the airport is a 2.5 hour drive.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Lovely place!

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is adorable, just a short walk into Cortona & the staff were lovely. Breakfast was amazing as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The staff were all - without exception - friendly and helpful; the room was elegant; and the breakfast was EXTRAORDINARY.
We loved every moment in the Villa Marsili. Tucked away from the main hustle and bustle of Cortona, it provided a wonderful space in which to unwind and reflect on what we'd seen from day to day.
5 out of 5
by Eric

Local Beautiful Town and Villa

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were large, well appointed, and clean. Location was perfect (except for parking a car, so luckily there was free valet parking when we arrived), only a 5 minute walk (mostly uphill so may be difficult for the elderly?) to the quiet and friendly town of Cortona (which is mostly flat). The area is strikingly BEAUTIFUL. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and goes out of their way to help guests find restaurants or shops or things to do. I am glad that we stopped here for a day or so on our way from Bologna to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to the old hill town of Cortona.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Beautiful and convenient location if you want the village experience. A short walk up the hill takes you right into the center where there is constant activity. The staff is so friendly and helpful. A favorite place to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in Cortona

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We come here whenever we visit Cortona. The hotel is first class and the staff are welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is an assortment of delicious homemade pastries and pies. We highly recommend this hotel if you want first class service and accommodations.