Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Alejandra from Texas

Amazing hotel!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was great. Excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa is overpriced and crowded

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great, but the spa is overrated and overpriced! They wanted to charge 18€ for each kid to use the spa, and adults were pretty expensive as well. We ended up going, and it was very crowded and hard to relax and enjoy. The rooms were big and comfortable, so we were pleased with that part.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Business trip for Gijon and Oviedo.

Posted May 21, 2015
The place was nice and quiet, however the industry in the area is polluting heavily the air around - what a pity! The spa is not included - not mentioned with the booking @ €20/ two hours?! The address is not recognised by the sat nav so it was challenging to find the place. Great room and big bathroom, spotless clean! Nice! Breakfast not having fresh orange juice and had to insist for an espresso coffee. Pricy! Overall ok. I liked it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quite and exclusive neighborhood

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Nice and safe area around.
Cons: More comfortable beds and larger TV.
Location: Golfing and Spa activities of the hotel. Not much to do around. Close to the airport which is very convenient for picking up an early flight.
We only stayed one night at this hotel and chose it when looking for one close to the airport. Check-in was very fast and simple. Hotel is located within a nice and exclusive residential area but a bit far from downtown. Other than the convenience of being close to the airport, I would recommend this hotel more for business travelers, golfers or week-end get away because it is a bit far from everything. With respect to the room, it's clean and average size. Beds .are very uncomfortable and TV size is very small if compared with all other similar hotels of the same rating. It has a restaurant and bar. Buffet is very good and offered at a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great if not for the Internet connection

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very nice except for its very poor internet service which is important to me. This is something that the Management of the hotel need to seriously fix once and forever and stop the excuses as it is not a new issue. Otherwise, I find it a very nice hotel to stay at. All staff, inclusive of technical maintenance, restaurant, room service, etc. are very helpful and really nice, superb service in this respect.
2 out of 5
by Edelmira Andreu from New York

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is good but you need a car the neirghbood is nice but only houses nothing else,you have to walk at least ten minutes for the only bus that pass every hour.Every day I have to take a taxi to go and to return to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Aortega from Madrid

Great hotel, not so good location

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels
Nice hotel, great staff, superb rooms, but it's a little bit isolated, need to take the car to get to anywhere but the golf course.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janice from Seattle, WA

Very nice stay at Hotel Zen Balagares.

Posted Jun 16, 2012
Pros: It was so quiet!
Cons: Difficult to find.
Location: Corvera de Asturias is a new development outside of Aviles. The hotel has a new golf course and is well appointed. Ask for GPS coordinates.
This is a lovely spa hotel that is a little hard to find. The extremely quiet rooms are very comfortable and ours had a territorial view. The staff was wonderful. My only suggestion would be that they add GPS coordinated to their listings so you can easily find it.
3 out of 5
by Indiano

Disappointed

Posted Jun 5, 2012 on Orbitz
This is the best hotel property for 30 km. There is ample free parking if you rented a vehicle. It is a good choice for an early morning flight from OVD. The physical facilities are quite nice. The golf course (I don’t play) looks well groomed and not overly busy. Because it is the best property around, it seems to get a lot of convention/large meeting trade. We were there at the time of the Rotary International meeting for the province of Asturias. And there’s the rub. Lots of guests require lots of extra wait staff. Or so you would think. We tried to grab a bite to eat at around 9:30 pm (not late by Spanish standards). The hotel restaurant is overpriced but the bar menu is very similar and much more reasonable. So we went to the bar (already occupied by about 60 Rotarians). One bartender and no floor help meant that we waited more than 35 minutes and left without ever having even seen any wait staff. That service is awful even by the relatively relaxed Spanish notions of attentive service. Our frustration was compounded by the presence of 5 staff behind the registration desk at 10:00 pm on a Saturday night at a hotel that was already full. Huge misallocation of staff. So great property, but staffing needs work.