Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Building site

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Staff, location food
Cons: No building work
I have been to this hotel on 3 x previous occasion s, shame I went 4.i was informed by an email 7 days prior to my arrival there was some work being done on the hotel and there may be moments of audible disturbance.on arrival we discovered a whole block of rooms was blocked off, this was not to much of a problem.however we also found that the whole of the main pool and terrace area was dug up and was a mass of excavators pneumatic drills stihl saws, this produced momentary audible disturbance from 0800 until 1800 along with this was a dust cloud which produced a nice scum ring in the remaining small pool.the hotel had kindly put up a tarpaulin with a nice seascape painted on it as the real thing could not be seen. Ironically we had gone to the hotel to get away from building work a home. we spent most days out of the hotel, this holiday was a complete waste of money and the email re the work was a complete misrepresentation of the actual state of the hotel. I noted on our recent visits to the tacande, the ethical 5 star hotels nearby had closed down for their refurbishments rather than try and con guests to keep income coming in. Work at the tacande is scheduled to carry on until at least october, I would advise anyone considering this hotel to avoid it until then and the hotel have confirmed all works finished on a positive note the staff were excellent as always and food was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Quality department, Hotel Management
Dear fozzy, Please accept our most sincere apologies for your recent holiday experience in our Gran Tacande, which was not up to your expectations. As you wrote, at this moment we are improving our main pool area, which may imply audible disturbances for our guests. Nevertheless, all our services remain operative and our guests can use the second pool. Our main pool will be finished during the month of May. Just as you mentioned, all our guests are getting informed previous to their arrival about the current situation of the hotel and the implications of the improvements. We beg your pardon for not having handled the situation as you would have expected. Nevertheless, we hope that you could enjoy your time in Tenerife and wish you all the very best. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by Paul

Lovely 4* Hotel, Small Changes Could Make It 5*

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, a nice 4 star hotel but it is not 5 star. Positives first - staff. They were without exception, brilliant. Attentive, polite, impeccably mannered. We only ate the breakfast buffet but it was also very good. Live music out on the terrance bar was great, really talented musicians. Location was nice, a 5 minute walk down the promenade walk to plenty of restaurants and bars. The overall layout of the hotel is ok, although the hotel does look as though different bits have just been added on over the years in different styles and there are plenty of steps to negotiate. Pools - only one is heated, this is salt water and although fine, got busy as the other was not heated. The green scum all the way around the main pools was not what you expect of 5 stars, pool staff seemed to just say it was normal wear and tear. You had to set up your own pool beds, again not 5 star service (the beds incidentally were plastic loungers, 5 stars should mean better quality furniture) and if you hadn't reserved a bed before 10am against pool rules, you would not get beds! We were upgraded to a suite unbeknown to us which was lovely, spacious and a fantastic balcony. Bathroom was nice, although spa tub didn't work for 2 of our 6 nights. The room smelled musty as if not used for years, and the bedding all smelled rather unpleasant even after changed. The bed was massive but very uncomfortable and noisy each time we moved. We'd go back, but as a 4 star hotel priced accordingly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Quality department, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, We would like to thank you for your detailed review about your recent holiday in our Gran Tacande that you shared with us on Hotels.com. Your feedback is of great value for us! First of all, we are pleased to read that you found our Staff brilliant without exception. Thank you for mentioning it, they all work really hard to provide a perfect holiday for our guests. Moreover, it is great that you enjoyed the incredibly varied breakfast in our hotel. For the perfect start of the day our guests can find everything at our breakfast buffet like different types of bread, various cereals, fresh fruits, homemade pancakes, churros, marmalade, salmon and much more and at night they can enjoy the delicious freshly cooked meals in our restaurant. As for the location, our hotel is located in Costa Adeje with the amazing Playa del Duque and various shopping centres within a few minutes walking distance. We are glad to know that the location of our hotel was ideal for you. Regarding the pools and the pool area, we are sorry that we could meet your expectations. Our hotel provides 3 pools which are surrounded by gorgeous garden and our pool bar is perfect to have a drink after sunbathing or a dip in the refreshing water. It is wonderful that your Suit was for your taste and spacious enough with the fantastic balcony. We are apologetic to know about the inconvenience with the hot tub, we would like to assure you that our Technical Service Staff does their best to resolve the issues as fast as they can. We are also apologetic for the beddings, we forwarded your comment to the responsible department to analyse it and take the necessary measures immediately. Finally, we hope you to trust again Gran Tacande, as we can strongly confirm that we work hard every day to do our work better than the day before, this is our main goal and we will continue offering our best to our guests. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A wonderful family holiday

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Ebookers
The hotel is run so well. Even when busy you have a feeling of space and all of the staff are so friendly - great with our little ones. Great location also, right by the beach and some good restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Stuart

Stuart & Fiona Feb trip

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing trip, area superb with great restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Good Hotel could improve...

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Location: 3 or 4 good restaurants around if you turn right at the bottom gate - if you turn left then be prepared for chips and burgers - up to you!
If you are arriving by car then suggest you let the porter garage your car on arrival (you will need a key card). Initial welcome and explanation very good and the rooms are spacious and have good amenities (except thin towels). Cleaning of the room (particularly the bathroom) could be improved but otherwise no complaints. Don't look for an à la carte restaurant as there isn't one, having said that the buffet was very good however the dining room lacks atmosphere. The staff are very pleasant and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Quality department, Hotel Management
Dear Hugh, It is a pleasure for us to have guests who share their great experiences on Expedia. Many thanks for leaving your comment about Gran Tacande. First of all, it is nice to hear that you had a nice welcome in our hotel, and you got all the important information you needed during your stay. We are grateful to know that your room was ideal for you. As you mentioned, all our rooms are spacious and offer everything our guests may require during their stay including a fully equipped bathroom. Moreover, it is a pleasure to know that our gastronomic offer was for your taste. We always offer a huge variety of dishes of the highest quality, so all of our guest can find something to eat and drink. On the other hand, we are delighted to hear that efforts of our staff contributed to a pleasant holiday. It means the world to an employee to receive such a nice comment from part of a guest. Regarding to the location, our hotel is located in Costa Adeje with the beautiful Playa del Duque within only 2 min walking distance. Behind our hotel and along the coastline our guests can discover many exclusive shops and cozy restaurants. We are saddened to know that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness in your bathroom. We can assure you our staff is working really hard to keep the hotel very clean, so our rooms are cleaned every day. We are also sorry about that you felt that the dining room does not have atmosphere. We forward your comment to the Managers to take it in consideration for the future. We do take all feedback seriously and we will investigate the departments and areas you have highlighted. Both positive and negative comments are shared with staff to ensure that all are working as hard as possible so that every guests can enjoy their stay with us. We regret that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope you will give Gra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Nice hotel with lovely staff but not for me.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The sea view and location and there were some lovely light, refurbished rooms unfortunately not with a full sea view.
Cons: The room we stayed in was dark and in need of refurbishment
Location: The hotel is situated very near a beautiful sandy beach and there are lots of lovely but expensive shops and great restaurants .
We paid a lot of money for a full sea view and were shown to a lovely refurbished room with a side sea view. The only room with a full sea view was not refurbished and was not half as nice so I was very disappointed but my husband was desperate for a sea view. The hotel itself is very big and for me was too impersonal. We were full board and after 10 days, we found the food, especially the desserts, a bit momentous. The meat was very hit and miss as well which was a shame. The hotel on the whole though is very clean and the pool area is lovely with plenty of sun beds. The entertainment was not too our liking. The day before we left we had to ask for our room to be cleaned which made us think they were no longer interested in us as we were about to leave. The hotel was very expensive and we will not be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Quality department, Hotel Management
Dear Helbyname, We sincerely appreciate the time you have dedicated to let us know your comments through Expedia about Gran Tacande. First of all, thank you for highlighting the cleanliness in our hotel; the housekeeping team carries fondly to keep the hotel clean and tidy. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our pool area with the comfortable sunny beds. There are two salted water pools in our hotel and one of them is heated so during the winter months our guests can still go for a swim. Moreover, it is a pleasure to know that the location of the hotel was ideal for you. As you described it perfectly, our hotel is located in Playa de las Américas near to some nice bars and shops. Our guests can reach the sandy beach within a few minutes walking. We are apologetic to know that you were not satisfied with your room and we regret that you could not change your room. We would like to assure you that we always do our best to try to satisfy our guest requests in order to reach their expectations about the location of their rooms, but we organize them according to the current occupancy of the Hotel. Furthermore, we are sorry that the food and the entertainment were nor for your taste. Our personnel is working really hard to satisfy our guests, unfortunately it is hard for us to meet every guest's taste. Lastly, we would like to apologize that we could not satisfy your expectations especially in such an important event like your holidays. Again please accept our sincere apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in Gran Tacande. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant stay. Hotel has everything you need for a great holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel that could use updates. Nice staff

Posted Dec 8, 2016
We stayed at the Gran Tacande from the second half of our honeymoon. The breakfast buffet and the wait staff were both amazing, and the pools and beach access were very nice for a relaxing time. The rooms were nice but a bit outdated, with no coffee machines. We did enjoy the spa and the unique thermal circuit too. I would have given a higher rating, but on our last day, my husband got food poisoning from a burger by the pool. We spent the last night of our honeymoon with him worshiping the porcelain gods. We immediately called the front desk so that they could check the meat and avoid others getting sick. They apologized but did nothing else. The next morning I mentioned this again, and all they did was take the burger off of our bill. Extremely disappointing for something that we could report to the food safety board.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Quality department, Hotel Management
Dear expedia user, We at Gran Tacande would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel on Expedia. We hope you spent a great time in Tenerife. Our culinary offer in the Zurrón restaurant is of a high quality and variety at both breakfast and dinner and our kitchen and restaurant companions strive daily to maintain a high standard. Thank you for remarking our amazing Restaurant staff, as they work hard to satisfy our guests. We will forward your kind words. ¡Muchas gracias! It is great to read that the pools and beach access were very nice for a relaxing time for you. As well as the spa and the unique thermal circuit too that you enjoyed for recovering mind and body properly. Our rooms offer wide space so our guests can spread out and relax on their holidays, but we regret that you found it a bit outdated. We took a positive note of your opinion to be considered for further improvements. We feel very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we can guarantee you that the safety of our guests is our most important objective. We have deeply analyzed all your comments and took note of them. We always try to please all our clients, therefore we sincerely apologize if this was not the case regarding your experience amongst us. Last but not least, we hope you will come to our hotel again, so we can have a second chance to assure you of our high standards at Gran Tacande. Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent hotel, well run Happy helpful staff,

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Good food, Towels at the pool should be given out from 9.30 . Will be returning in march.5 Star.