Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall really nice

Posted Jul 15, 2017
You just have to pay for EVERYTHING! I didn't have a beach towel so I had to deposit 15 euros. Also, to use the safe in the room cost money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: People, Food, Location
Cons: Little bigger shower/tub areas
Location: Just north of Rota. Was a tem minute drive to the Naval Base. Less than 30 minutes to other major cities and attractions.
Three week business trip. Full board was included - made it very convenient for dining and the buffets were wonderful. WiFi supported business requirements as well as streaming Netflix in the evenings. Parking under hotel was adequate - designed for small cars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect to have any sort of fun

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I had booked a room for myself and a friend to hang out in while we were ported in Rota. First things first, apparently the taxi drivers do not know the hotel, so they dropped us off a mile away and we had to walk with our bags in tow from Hotel Playa Ballena to Elba Costa Ballena. Thankfully, I had international service! Anyways, we get there, and the guy at the service desk was rather rude. After checking in, we get there to find that it wasn't one double bed, but two single beds pushed together. It kind of got cumbersome. Also, after playing with the breaker a little bit, we found out that the room's electricity doesn't work unless you have a key card in the slot at the door, therefore there was no air conditioning in the room until we were already there for several hours. The wifi was good, and so was the all-you-can-eat dinner buffet, but everything else was cumbersome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Intermittent power outages during stay. Seems like not enough employees working. Rooms don't have an iron or ironing board and the front desk couldn't obtain one in a timely fashion.
4 out of 5
by Tracy from Emmaus, PA

Crete ohhh Crete

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very much enjoyed my two weeks in Crete!! The people and the food were amazing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa ballena

poorly maintained and run

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
mediocre at best. the room AC struggled and although they sent maintenance to fix it, the fix did not last long. room smelled of mold and funk due to poor ventilation. This was a case of only on the very top layer did the hotel look nice, as soon as you saw beyond that the defects were glaring. chipped and broken tiles on pool deck and in the pool and spa. on the first morning of our stay one in our party found a fried roach in the bacon tray at the buffet. it was stuck to the piece he had put on his plate, which he discovered as he was about to eat it, gross. when he brought it to the attention of the restaurant staff, they apologized but did not offer any recompense, which was shocking. I also brought an additional guest on this trip and although the reservation was made only for one the other 3 hotels I stayed at on this trip charged an additional guest fee, usually between 20-40 euros, which I found reasonable. this hotel could not figure out what the fee should be as they used some weird sliding scale based on the the difference they charged on any particular day between single and double occupancy. problem was they had no record of what that difference was for the day I made my reservation. To top it off my original reservation included all taxes and fees, and I expected to pay additional for the added guest but they could not work out the simple math, so their solution was to charge me taxes and fees again on the new total. in the end they ripped me off.
3 out of 5
by Kelley from Virginia Beach, VA

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
The website pics was far from reality. My room was infested with bugs, the Internet was very weak and constantly dropped, it was over crowded.bi had half board but the line was outrageous and the outdoor option had so many flies. Not too happy with customer service because they tried to evict me a day earlier because their reservation was wrong. But they were not nice even after they made a mistake.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Gibraltar

Young family with toddlers

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Really comfortable stay for families, plenty of activities for children and they provide baby/toddler food at no extra cost
5 out of 5
by Dennis from Gibraltar

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing stay with good breakfast and evening buffet
4 out of 5
by Clinton from Chesapeake

Not Happy

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
My trip was for business and I finished my job early, and checked out the morning (8:30AM. But I was charged for stays on Sunday and Monday. I spoke with the front desk and they have me checking out on the morning of the 24th. But I was told that I had to talk to Hotels.com to correct the bill. Also trying to read through all the different Hotels.com addresses to find a receipt is confusing.