Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel with excellent facilities, good value

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: the range of facilities and nice big pool
Cons: Some of the rooms seemed a bit dated.The 'Freu' restaurant is overpriced and food needs to be improved
Location: Next door to a big Casino. 10 minute walk to a very busy beach front with all the usual tourist shops . Nearby Tossa de Mar is much nicer & quiter
Lovely Hotel in busy location, 10 minutes walk to busy beach. Excellent pool and poolside restaurant bar. On arrival in our room, it had a terrible smell of damp & humidity. We complained and were given another room immediately, but we did not expect such a room in a 5 star hotel. The Freu restaurant , very expensive and food not up to standard. The poolside restaurant and buffet was much better withe excellent food and attentive staff. The front of house staff all very friendly and helpful.Rickard recommended a fantastic restaurant at a nearby Canyelles beach, 10 minutes taxi ride away. Off the beaten track by the beach but well worth a visit for food and fantastic view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but not 5*

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Adequate. Facilities good but not available throughout the day. Rooms small but clean.
2 out of 5
by Craig from Santa Monica CA

How can this be called a Five-Star Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: The location and pool area are both great.
Cons: The hotel needs to hire enough people to answer the phones and provide oither usual services.
Location: beaches, casinos, lots to do and see.
The food is good, if you can get it. The service is acroos the board terrible. They do not answer their phones and are very short of staff. The phsical property and location are great, but the hotel is not well kept--dirty halls, etc..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raz from Israel

Top quality hotel for family or business

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Location, condition, comfort, vicinity to casino
Cons: Staff seems a bit arrogant, entrance to the hotel requires some walking, expensive parking
Location: Close to everything
Location is great - just on the limit of the tourist area, minutes walking to any store, restaurant or the beach, while being quite. In addition, the Casino is just under the hotel itself. Rooms and hotel are renovated, pool is great and very nice restaurants, professional staff, free WiFi. Parking is expensive, 18EU per night, while you may find free parking near by. The hotel is inaccessible directly from the road. Entrance requires quite a lot of walking (arround the casino and the park that surrounds the hotel).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen J-H from Brussels, Belgium

On the road in Catalunya!

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Small room (no space to open suitcases / put away clothes), inaccessible-to-children indoor pool / freezing cold outdoor pool, no kettle in room, etc.
Location: Lloret de Mar is way too commercialized for our family tastes. We made the most of our trip by renting a car and getting away to see the sites.
The hotel was "good" overall. The rooms were clean, the staff were pleasant although most could not speak any English. Since we couldn't speak Spanish, French became our "meet in the middle" language. The outdoor pool was beautiful but not heated and was very cold. The indoor pool was very tiny and not accessible to children except for between the hours of 8-9 p.m. and they had to pay a fee to use it. Our children were very disappointed about this. Lloret de Mar was too commercial for our tastes. We rented a car and spent all of our time driving to various destinations (e.g. Montserrat, Girona, Tossa de Mar, Barcelona, ParcAventura, etc.). We had a great trip overall and enjoyed the sites of Catalunya (i.e. the Coata Brava & Barcelona). "Mark" (one of the managers) at the hotel was absolutely amazing...and really went out of his way to make our stay at The Guitart Monterrey very enjoyable!! Thanks Mark! Without you our trip would not have been nearly as good. We wish you all the best!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

good Facilities Shame about Accommodation

Posted Apr 27, 2011
Although the staff were very helpful for the most part I would not return to this hotel because you could hear the people from the room next door and every footstep and scrape of a chair from the room above. When moved to the top floor the smell emminating from the bathroom was terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Best hotel in Lloret de Mar

Posted Sep 7, 2010
I like this hotel: good spa center, nice garden around the hotel, all is new and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heidleberg, Germany

Very Impressed

Posted Jun 16, 2010
The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very good and a good way to start the day. I enjoyed my stay and would go back to the same hotel. Especially when the Casino has been completed at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

The best hotel in Europe!

Posted Apr 21, 2010
This hotel was immaculate, service was exceptional, the room was spotless, had a seperate and large bath and shower room and sea views. Everything appeared to be brand new as if the room had not been used befroe and the hotel was extremely quiet and peaceful; it sist on a hill in its own grounds so there is no traffic noise. The pool looked great but we didn't have time to try it but everywhere else was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bingley

Nice hotel, would use again

Posted Jul 25, 2009
The free transport to Fennels beach was good as this is the better beach.