Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Zenon

Birthday TreT.

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this as a joint 55th birthday treat. The location is fantastic and views superb. Even though the hotel was far from full car parking was limited. Our biggest disappointment was room service. We couldn't order a coffee in our room until after 8am? Also the wifi was really slow. Breakfast was excellent with an extensive choice at the buffet. And an evening meal is the restaurant was good quality and good value.
4 out of 5
by Judith from Cardiff

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Overall the rating is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá

We had a wonderful time.

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, the restaurant, the familiar ambiance.
Cons: The air conditioning when it is warm in winter, but it was not so important, we left the balcony door open.
Location: Walk around Begur, it has a couple of Michelin restaurants, visit Pals, both the old town and the beach, visit as many medieval towns nearby as youcan
We had a beautiful view of the sea, the room was big by all standards, the food at the restaurant was delicious, the service impeccable. We hope to come back in Spring or Summer, but fall almost winter was very special too.
3 out of 5
by Stephanie from California

Not my favorite, not terrible.

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
The first room we received smelled like cigarette smoke, and my wife is asthmatic and allergic, so we made sure we were moved. We at first were told they were totally full. After they started talking about changing the sheets and just airing out the room, then they magically had another room available. That room was fine. We were there for our honeymoon and hoped, it being such a nice place, they'd do something special for us, but all they said was happy honeymoon. Bring cash for the bar. View is pretty. Didn't go in in the pool but laid by it. The beach next to it was incredibly packed with people and is rocky, so bring water shoes. Overall it was a fine experience, but not something I would pay that much money for again.
5 out of 5
by Pablo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Barry from Dublin - Ireland

Wonderful location --

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Like many other Paradores -- this hotel is in a spectacular spot -- up on a height overlooking the sea on two sides . Dining room has a lovely view of the sea + the surrounding coast
4 out of 5
by KAFW from MK

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is really about the location with sheer cliffs on one side and a picturesque bay on the other. The hotel is showing it's age in some ways with some crazing of the glazing on the sink and a tap which needed careful handling. It is a pity that the there is no longer a water feature under the stairs. Some apparent problems are circumvented by the helpfulness of the staff. eg We were provided with a kettle when commenting on lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It would be helpful if the menu could be displayed outside the restaurant and cards with bar services and prices placed on the tables. In fact the restaurant menu is excellent and good value compared with the restaurants on the beach although we did not try the Parador's own beach restaurant. I think that looking at competitors the management should think about provision of dressing gowns and disposable slippers and of course tea making facilities in the room. The breakfast was good although nobody can match 'The Full English' outside the UK. Altogether spacious and comfortable rooms and a unique experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Lovely,relaxing stay

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Setting and restful atmosphere
Cons: Fairer breakfast pricing
This is a very pleasant hotel in a beautiful setting. All views from the hotel were stunning and we had a particularly gorgeous view from our balcony. We only had breakfast each day and it was good quality if a little expensive, with a one tier pricing system - not good for the light eater. Surely a continental/full breakfast choice would be fairer, priced accordingly. Surrounding area was charming making this hotel a good choice for the discerning traveller.
4 out of 5
by BG from Wales

Great location.

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the Costa Brava. Would return again but not in March as the area was a little quiet, with not too many eating places available outside the hotel. Early April would be perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggy from Philadelphia, PA

Fine hotel in a beautiful location.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Fantastic location with beautiful views. Wonderful breakfasts. A perfect location to stay while touring the Costa Brava.
Cons: The hotel has a 1970s feel & could use some renovation. The dinner was only OK & could be improved.
Location: The hotel sits on a rocky prominence jutting into the Mediterranean. The views are fantastic. Good hiking trails & the beach are readily accessible.
We enjoyed a 2 night stay in this hotel located in one of the most beautiful places along the Costa Brava. We were there off-season (early November), so did not have to fight the crowds that are around during peak times.The weather was beautiful, sunny & 70s during the day...cool at night. The beach is a short walk down the hill path from the hotel. There is a nice swimming pool with great views. The hotel itself is somewhat dated though the rooms were spacious and airy with a large balcony & fantastic view. The beds were comfortable, but were two made-up twin beds pushed together (a common experience in Europe.) I really dislike this. The staff were friendly & spoke English well. The breakfasts were wonderful offering every food imaginable! We did dine one night in the restaurant & it was fine, but not great. The hotel did pack us a lovely picnic lunch to take on one of our sight-seeing day-trips. The town of Begur, a few minutes drive away, had some really great offerings for dinner even off season. The town of Aiquablava was pretty much closed down off season.