Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Susan

Perfect Easter break

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The weather was great, Roses is beautiful and the Hotel is in a perfect location. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. We went on a day trip to Cadaques which was so pretty. we went on the little train up the hill to the Nature reserve, what fantastic views.Loads of bars and restaurants in Roses to choose from and everyone very helpful and friendly. Easy to get to from Girona airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings, UK

Great customer service

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach and the town. Good service.
Cons: The room had a puddle after a night of heavy rain (room 303). Some attention to the window may be needed?
Location: The hotel is on the front in the centre of town. There was no parking at the hotel but in March public parking was available for free.
I chose this hotel because it was central to the town and was great out-of-season value. The first night was cold and it rained heavily. The room was warm, however, and very comfortable. Breakfast was good, with plenty of fresh fruit amidst the usual Spanish spread. The staff were always attentive and went out of their way to please. When they noticed that my travelling companion had a birthday during our stay they produced a birthday card and a bottle of wine as a gift on the day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from good location right on the beach. a good starting point for traveling around.

great

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
a very nice hotel, great sea view, good breakfast
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Score! A great last minute room with a view

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic room! Corner room on 4th floor with windows all around, looking at the Med. This was a suite and even had a mini kitchen set up (no utensils). Absolutely would stay here again - IF I could get this room :) European breakfast bar was very good, with several options. Close to Figures for Dali Museum, also Roman and Greek ruins. Park on the street where you can, pay meter until 8 p.m.
3 out of 5
by Walter from Cambridge

Our one night stop

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The location of this hotel was right next to the beach excellent, the hotel room was visibly well used, especially in the bathroom shower. Poor beds and lack of pillows did not help.
5 out of 5
by Samantha from Hertfordshire, UK

Wonderful Break

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel very clean and welcoming. Particular member of staff who made an outstanding difference and was a wonderful ambassador for this Hotel was Claudia. She went out of her way to make you feel welcome and to offer care and support and local advice. Hotel is in an ideal location, central to shops,restaurants,bars,beach,excursions and bus station. Ample parking and also taxi rank outside. Negatives; Used to be an apart-hotel so my room had very small kitchenette behind bi-folding doors. Not really intended for use-no utensils. Better if removed it but keep fridge. This is a NON-SMOKING HOTEL, but there are ash trays in corridors. Some guests smoking in their rooms. Smell of smoke filled corridors and came into my room preventing me from sleeping. Had to leave window open. So bad one night that smelt like a fire in the hotel. I contacted the night porter; Night porter John refused to speak English although he had spoken to me before. He was incredibly unhelpful & very rude to me one night. Kept telling me "not my problem" when clearly it was something the Hotel needed to deal with. His rudeness to me was completely unacceptable. Breakfast was not great- very oily. Mattress on beds was very hard. Made my entire body ache. Put extra duvet under the sheet, but still too hard. Restaurant food excellent but very expensive.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Narbonne

Would of liked to stay longer

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
We only booked in for one night,but wish we had stayed longer,the hotel was better than expected& good value for money.We had a large suite with sea view & my mother also had a double suite for one ,she was also overjoyed with her suite.The breakfast was very good with a large selection .The gentleman on the desk was very helpful and carried the luggage to our rooms whilst I was parking the car.We arrived early, but no problem.The only downfalls were lack of parking by the hotel & no balcony .
4 out of 5
by Tim from Groomsport

Mar y Sol Roses - get the right floor

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Generally great hotel because of its central location in Roses - However it can be noisy on upper floor - 4th floor - due to wind noise generated from their hotel sign - we moved our room to a lower floor which was fine. Cleaner also tend to make a bit of a racket in the lobbys in the morning - but very friendly welcome and good room.
4 out of 5
by Shane from Perth

Amazing Location

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic location and amazing view. Right in the heart of everything and on the beach. Only downside was no parking and hard to find a spot.
2 out of 5
by Mark from United States

Very mediocre

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very mediocre hotel across from the beach. No service at all. Old and dark and barely feels safe. I would never consider this hotel again.