Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maia from california

Apartment in old part of town

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location can not be beat. It backs up to the wall with an entrance near by. Redone interiors of an ancient building.
Cons: Management needs to do their job.
Location: Great road cycling base. Short bus and or train trip to Besalu, Figueres ( Dali ), Cadaques.
Great location! If visiting you have to stay in the older part of town to appreciate its character. We spent a week and were able to experience a taste of day to day life in Girona. You must be in condition to walk and climb stairs to stay here. Owners need to take a hard look at their managers. Like most commenters we had just short of a hour wait to get in. Would have been somewhat acceptable had the individual showing up not been put out for having to bring us entry cards. Once in, the bathroom was stocked with one previously used towel and no toilet paper. Upon request we were delivered clean towels and a promise of toilet paper coming which was promptly delivered the next morning, ( we bought are own). Cleanliness was ok, not great. Again, a great location, a building with great character but you need to be physically fit. Come on owners, train or hire new managers to make a superior experience for your clients. The negatives we experienced could have been avoided with minimal effort by a properly trained and managed staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely garden great location

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Lovely garden
Cons: Shower was always cold unless you let it run for 15 minutes
Location: Great Location right next to the old wall.
Lovely traditional room although I wouldn't have called our apartment a penthouse as described.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Fantastic location, full of atmosphere

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: No bedding or kettle
Location: Fab!
Fantastic location and amazing garden. Unfortunately we arrived at 1am and found only one bed made up and no sheets or linen to make up the sofabed. We had to spend the first night squashed in a small double with our two children! Not much sleep. We found an emergency number to call the next day, but didn't call as we found some clean bedding ourselves in the laundry room downstairs. The other annoying thing was that there was no kettle so improvised with a saucepan, but not the same. Other than that there was plenty of space and amazing views (we were in the apartment in the loft). It would have been helpful if there was information in the room about nearest place to buy provisions, as it took us ages (walking around in the rain) to somewhere to get bread, milk etc. Also information on where the very useful lift was to get you to city centre (turn left out of front door then take a right and the lift is on your left) ... Little supermarket is not far from bottom of lift, walk straight ahead then take a left and supermarket on your right). There was a general lack of information, but maybe that's the fun, working it all out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Nottingham, UK

Great comfortable apartment with good facilities.

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Pros: Space, location, separate bedroom from living area, quality shower, central heating and welcome pack
Cons: Check in procedure is all by email to get security numbers which was a little unnerving, but did work.
Location: Girona is gorgeous, a calm oasis after Barcelona. The apartment is well located in the old town under the wonderful walls, and has a great garden.
Good location in the old town but not too far to walk from the station. Up a steep hill but with a variety of routes up, some steps, some steep roads or paths. Close to great restaurants. The walk around the walls is a must! Girona is a fabulous city, with stunning cathedral and great architecture. The website pictures you might find do not do it justice, and Hap Dreams is an ideal base to explore both the city and the region. The 12o'clock check out is a bonus and the garden is lovely. Having a welcome pack was a nice touch to make sure we had something to keep us going before finding the shops - it included snacks, tea, coffee and milk, even a chocolate croissant and muffins! The apartment was cleaned every day, and it was well looked after. Staff were available and helpful by phone and email with very quick responses. Good to have free wifi too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

An amazing place to stay, inside the city walls.

Posted Dec 21, 2012
We had a wonderful stay here. We parked our car with no trouble just outside one of the walled gate entrances, behind the hotel gardens, and walked through the narrow streets to the hotel. The hotel apartment was gorgeous with so much character, and quality furnishings. We stayed in the main bedroom with attached bathroom, and our two kids slept on the sofa bed in the main living area. Kitchen had all we needed. The lift down 5 stories to the street below was also very practical! A great city to explore with amazing restaurants. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Truly Haps Dreams!

Posted Aug 18, 2011
We booked this as found great reviews on-line. It didn't disappoint! We had a great apartment in the heart of this fantastic city and the value for money was excellent. There were great views of the city from on high, a lovely relaxing garden to sit in (not many of these around in centre of Girona). The apartment was tastefully decorated and our bedroom had an ensuite bathrooms which was better than that of some pricey hotels! Met owner who was really helpful and friendly. We had with us our 2 older children and the 12 year old highly approved the huge flat screen TV (if you too have a sports fan in your family!). You won't find a better place to stay for the price - outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Book this and feel smug!!

Posted Apr 3, 2011
Booked this for the last two nights of our honeymoon after skiing in Andorra. Far more spacious than any hotel room you could get for this price. Overlooking beautiful gardens and exposed brickwork in bedroom with wrought iron bed. Right in among the cobbled streets of the old town with a short walk to nice bars and restaurants. Perfect!! The owner was nowhere to be seen during our stay but this was of no consequence - we got all the necessary info via email a few days beforehand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Osprey, FL

Roomy Loft Suite in Beautiful Old Quarter of Gerona

Posted Sep 25, 2010
On the recommendation of other reviews we decided to walk from the train station to the hotel. Others mentioned that it was impossible to get a taxi near the hotel because of the narrow cobble stoned streets. The walk was at least 20 minutes but very doable because of the street elevator that goes right up near the hotel. The elevator runs from 8am-8pm. Otherwise, we could have caught a taxi that takes you to the end of the street where the hotel is. We found it to be the perfect location to explore the old quarter. Lovely, little neighborhood. The suites were very clean. Ours had a sofa that converted into a full bed and a queen bed up in the loft. One bathroom, a kitchen and a dining area. There was a tv but nothing in English. The hotel has a beautiful garden in the back and if you have a room in the front, a gorgeous view of the city. They even had some packaged croissants, muffins and cookies in the room to enjoy for breakfast. If you are looking for luxury this is not it. It was very clean, new, modern furnishings, roomy and in the perfect location. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart, Germany

Would stay there again

Posted May 12, 2010
The place is spacious and beautifully designed. The kitchen is a full size kitchen with everything one would need to cook. The apartment was modern and charming. Getting to the 3rd, or 4th floor was a bit of a climb, but anywhere in the Old Town in Girona it is a climb. The Old Town is absolutely charming and the apartment is in a good location, but again it is not accessible via cab because it is in the old town. I was pleased with all the toiletries, towels, and blankets provided. For the price, I thought they could have made the breakfast a little bit more substantial-that and ther internet never did work, but I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fint läge men se till att du får tag på nyckeln

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Fint läge, rymligt rum med köksvrå, skön säng, välstädat. Trevlig balkong mot trädgården.
Cons: Hanteringen av nycklar måste förbättras. Jag bor gärna där igen, men jag vill inte behöva ringa tre gånger till dem för att få tag i nycklarna.
Location: Fråga på turistbyrån om deras orienteringskarta med stolpar utplacerade på olika ställen i och kring stan. Så hittade vi många gömda pärlor!
Läget var riktigt trevligt med i gamla stan, precis innanför stadsmuren. Hotellträdgården ligger mellan hotellet och stadsmuren. Staden var fantastisk, och en promenad på stadsmuren i solnedgången är ett måste. Rummet var väldigt trevligt (vi bodde i rum 2) med litet kök och mikro, saknade dock bestick. Trevlig balkong mot trädgården och rent och fint inne. Hotellet ska skicka mail med en kod till nyckelskåpen en dag innan ankomst. Jag fick dock aldrig något mail, och jag fick ringa dem tre gånger innan jag fick en kod (tjejen jag pratade med var dock trevlig och pratade engelska). Eftersom vi skulle komma så sent så kändes det inte bra - jag var rädd att vi skulle stå utan nyckel. Väl framme låg nyckeln inte i skåpet (hjärtsnörp!), men som tur var hittade vi ett kuvert med vårt nummer på ovanpå skåpet. Vi kom alltså in, men det var lite nervöst ett tag.