Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location but far from the airport...

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The location is remote from the party scenery in Costa Calma 😒which is also far from the airport (1hr or 1hr30 mins journey) by taxi min 70€ 😢and it's not a business oriented town shops and restaurants shuts down quickly. The hotel is nice and spotlessly clean but the services stop altogether by 11pm... It's very scary n empty at night because it's too quiet. Make sure you get everything you need before 11pm or else?! The food was amazing I must say and the staff were sweet, Martina my favourite 😍😘 at the reception, Mariama in the kitchen top notch chef and the cleaner lady very helpful! The location has a beautiful beach not far from the premises so that was a plus but be ready for a long walk at the beach. Make sure you rent a car for total satisfaction if you don't then stay in Jandia because taxi services expensive and not worth the hassle! Morro de Jable is not far but it's worth discovering.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Esmeralda Maris, Hotel Management
thank you for giving your opinion, this is realy helpful for us. Hope to welcome you again! We wisch you a good time your Esmeralda maris team
5 out of 5
by cheryl

Good quality for the good price - I recommend it

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was better than I expected, given the price, and better than the one 4 star hotel we stayed in for the second half of our holiday. If you like to watch tv, bring your phone or tablet etc. This area is very popular and geared towards Germans. The only english tv channels are news, and a horse and country channel. You will need the paid for wifi to watch movies etc, as the free wifi isn't great. There is a small shop onsite, it closes at 6pm. The room is comfortable enough, and the lounge has microwave, cooker and fridge. I travelled with my teenage daughter, and she liked the hotel. This area is very quiet, and feels safe. No drunks, very little noise. Breakfast is plentiful, and lots of choice. Take the Hoppa to the resort from the airport. It cost 14 euros for two of us, each way, and took the same time as a taxi, which will cost over 100 euros each way. We waited less than 15 minutes at the airport for the hoppa bus, and the same at the resort to take us back. The food in the town is ok, but nothing to write home about. If what you want to do is sunbath, relax and recharge your batteries, without running into lots of other Brits its perfect. If you don't like being surrounded by germans, try somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017
dear guest, thanks a lot for giving your opinion. This is very important for us. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Esmeralda Maris. we wish you all the best and we hope to see you again kind regards your Esmeralda Maris Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Week!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Wonderful happy staff. Ultraclean apartment. Fantastic food with variety every day. Lovely quiet pool. Small shop on site.
Cons: Nothing.........
Location: By the sandy beach. Very quiet. Some shops down the road. Can hire bikes.
Loved our week at Esmeralda Maris. This is the place to come to recharge your batteries. We wanted nothing more to do than relax so we walked, swam, slept and looked forward every day to breakfast and dinner. We went half board with a great choice of healthy fresh food each day. Could have eaten there forever! Friendly smiling staff who make such a difference to a holiday. We arrived late in the evening and hungry and were brought food and water to our room as the restaurant had closed. A thoughtful touch. Apartment immaculate with linen and towel change. Great spacious bathroom, large bedroom and 2 balconies with a sea view from the front. 20 minute walk to Costa Calma shops and the same time to the fabulous beach with crystal clear water. Buses to elsewhere on the island if you can tear yourself away from the peace and quiet. Hard to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Esmeralda Maris, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for giving your opinion.so we can be better. we are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we hope to welcome you again at Esmeralda maris
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Distinctly average

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Try to extract money at every opportunity. Charge you for using the room safe! And there's a charge for beach towels....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Excellent Stay

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Large air conditioned rooms.
Cons: No problems
Location: Quiet beach resort
Large size rooms,excellent swimming pool which we stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Nice clean hotel with lovely staff, and close to beaches.
5 out of 5
by Dominika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Excellent accommodation in a superb position.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Its position in Costa Calma - with its own pool overlooking stunning scenery, The apartments cater for everybody and the staff were so helpful.
Cons: We think the choice of food for the evening meal was not very varied - very difficult to judge when we have stayed in the 4star hotel opposite .
Location: You can not get a better location anywhere on the island . The beaches are superb and in the evening you can visit the Hotel opposite for the shows.
This was our first visit to the Esmeralda Maris but have stayed in the Esmeralda Hotel opposite for the past 14 years. It was a great experience for us doing self-catering, although on this occasion breakfast was included which was superb with plenty of food on offer, including cooked breakfast. The apartment was roomy with a good third bed in the lounge for the third person in our party. We did have our evening meal in the Restaurant of the Maris which was reasonable but felt we could do our own cooking for the rest of our stay which worked out so reasonably priced with good cooking facilities in our apartment. We could then enjoy our evening meal at our leisure on the superb balcony with wonderful sea views. We would recommend the Esmeralda Maris to everybody and we will certainly be back there next year - probably for two visits . You cannot get better surroundings and scenery than the Costa Calma. Thank you for your help in booking this for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Really great place for some quiet and relaxed time

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels
We were happily surprised how good our apartment was. Exactly what we wanted and more than we expected, we had 2 terraces, one with the great ocean view we asked for and other with just a mountain, so beautiful. Everything was working and the bathroom was great, the bath tub was big enough for 2 of us (for our romantic bath). The swimming pool area was lovely. The beach was close. And we were glad that there was a small shop at the hotel because other shops are pretty far away if you don't have a car or bike. This place is perfect if you don't look for a nightlife and good restaurants around your hotel. Hotel staff are friendly enough, just some of them don't bother to give correct and detailed information but we can't say it about all of them. Rooms were cleaned 5 times a week which was even too much for us. We asked the lady to skip cleaning our room one day but when we came back home it was cleaned anyway (which wasn't a bad thing). We really enjoyed our stay and the cheap&good massages in Esmeralda Maris :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel molto bello e ben tenuto, ppsizione molto tranquilla, vicino alla spiaggia. Camera molto grande e sempre pulita, non manca nulla. Colazione abbondante con ampia scelta sia dolce che salata. Cosigliato!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Director, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias por haber sido nuestros clientes. Nos agrada saber que ha pasado unas buenas vacaciones en nuestro Hotel. saludos cordiales!