Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks, UK

Best Location for the beach without the crowds

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Hotel is old & tired but staff keep it constantly clean. Staff put so much heart into keep fit activities making it thoroughly enjoyable - the best
Cons: Need better Wi-fi signal strength in rooms, only strong in reception area. More English TV channels. CNN, BBC & SKYnews are too depressing.
Location: Wade through the lagoons, swim in the sea, kite surfing, wind surfing, running on the beach and up the hills. Short walk to Costa Calma along beach.
We chose Melia Gorriones for the keep fit activities and were not disappointed. Raul, Jose, Alberto & Ingemar made Yoga, Pilates, Stretching, Powerbiking, Cardiobox and circuit classes very enjoyable. The fitness classes are much needed to counter over eating from range of dishes available at breakfast and dinner. Could have done with early evening stretching classes as well. We even learnt to Zumba for the first time - great choreography Heated 25m pool is great for laps and the Poolbiking, in addition to the 2 saltwater pools which are not heated. The weather was disappointing with rain, high winds and overcast days but there was enough to do with keep fit classes, heated lap pool and wading in the endless lagoons- bliss. Staff are great, treat you like adults by leaving you to do your own thing. The Christmas meal was unbelievable, waitering so very efficient and drinks on the house. Entertainment available in the evenings but rooms facing the reception area are not soundproofed from the evenings entertainment. Mosquitoes in rooms not sea facing was unexpected, had to keep air conditioning running on top of mosquito repellant plug-ins. No worries if you did not come with mosquito repellant, 2 excellent grocery shops available in the hotel - one on the 4th floor was open early morning to late evening even on Christmas day. EXCELLENT holiday. Very happy to return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Great hotel for beach-lovers

Posted Dec 10, 2016
A large well run hotel right on the huge white beach. I asked to change rooms to be on the sunny side of the hotel as the rooms on the north side seem a bit dark and cold in November. I dont do water sports but watching the kite surfing from my balcoy in the late afternoon sun was lovely. The staff are friendly and polite.The food is OK and the choice is wide and varied. I would have enjoyed a more Scandinavian breakfast but if you like bacon,sausages and eggs in various forms you would be happy. The pool area is lovely with two large pools and a kiddies pool. The large salt water lagoon is a dream to relax in and the smaller pool is about 20 metres and ideal for length swimming . November is a good time of year for hiking biking and fitness activities as the temperature is in the mid 20s. For water sports though this hotel must be the tops with good facilitis and the superb environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent Beachfront Hotel !!!!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: I love the sea view from the hotel and its location on a beach.
Cons: I think they should improve the room cleaning.
Location: The hotel is on a beachfront perfect for windsurf and kite surf.
The Hotel is situated in front of an amazing beach, with 3 swimming pools and a sea view terrace. It's a perfect location for relax, meditation and long beach walk.You need to consider that the place is always very windy so during winter after 3 p.m. can be chilly. It takes 1 hr by shuttle from the airport to the hotel but it's cheaper than a private taxi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The cleaners
Cons: Lies about all inclusive
Stayed all inclusive, were given wo single beds instead of a double bed, no kettle, no wifi, minibar is not included, majority of the drinks are not included, food is very bad & drinks are watered down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: close to beach, comfortable and very clean
Cons: wifi
Location: need car as location is remote to other places. Near Costa Calma but not able to walk there. Moro Jable well worth a visit and a fanatastic beach
very pleasant hotel accomodation. Paticulaly liked the funky music in the reception during the evenings with a DJ playing a great selection of music. This created a great atmosphere when you entered the hotel. Gabi bar with atmospheric lighting and huge sofas and balainaise beds to lie down on. A lovlely bar outside with a view to die for. Also first class entertainment with a variety of acts for all the family. Great fitness well lead by the pool especially liked the live band playing to aqua class. pool bike was also a novel way to exercise in the pool and keep cool at the same time. Thanks to all the helpfull staff. Even provided a room for showering for late check out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Overrated

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: 3 good size pools, right on the beach, pretty location
Cons: Offer a better selection of drinks especially around the poolside. Self-serve wine and beer just doesn't cut it. The gym needs updating too.
Location: Scenic location, large beach right on site but it wasn't as nice as it looks in the photos. Great if youre into windsurfing, not so much otherwise
Although there are two restaurants on site, only 1 is available to most of the guests (the other is reserved for "The Level" guests who pay more). There was a large entertainment room/bar/stage but during our week stay here, we did not see or hear it in use once. The gym was very disappointing and obviously hasn't been updated in about 20 years. The old Reebok equipment is rusty and peeling, a lot of things don't fit together very well and there wasn't even a bench. I got the impression that the only reason they hadn't knocked it down was so they can still list it on their website. For a 4 star hotel I do expect better. Most disappointing though was the drink selection. There was a "snack bar" in between the two pools but it was often unstaffed and only offered soft drinks, wine and beer.If you're not all inclusive then you have to try and find someone to serve you. I was shocked that they didn't serve cocktails by the pool! You can get them in the main hotel bar which is near reception, but that's a 10 minute walk from the pool and they probably wouldn't let you carry them out anyway. Not cheap at €9 either. They have a spa area offering massages and treatments but you even have to pay to use the jacuzzi. The hotel complex is so large and spreadout that I found it all a bit impersonal. I've stayed at nicer hotels for less money that are more nicely finished, offer cocktails & jacuzzis for free. This one just didn't have any wow factor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Utterly Disappointing

Posted May 31, 2016
Beautiful location, awful hotel. The Melia Gorriones takes full advantage if the beautiful beach surrounding it and takes no care whatsoever of their facilities. Changed rooms twice, beds uncomfortable, room smelly, dirty, curtains in shambles, TV non functioning, bide broken, the establishment is an insult to those who work hard to spend a comfortable holiday weekend away, only to have to spend their time complaining and having to do the hotel's work for them. Melia has no business being in the hotel business and I will not spend another dime in this chain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Beautiful setting with great views

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Loved the setting, very private as it stood on its away away from the town, straight onto the beach. Great for children as it seemed very safe.
Cons: Our room was in need of a refurbishment, it all looked dated.
Location: If you didn't have a car, there s public buses going to the hotel into the nearby towns, or taxis. If you like holidays by the pool, and water sport
Stayed at the hotel as it was my sisters birthday. I had arranged for flowers and a bottle of bubbly to be placed in her room upon her arrival. Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Ours was a late booking, but our room had a view of the beach. Food was good, preferred the quieter restaurant which we paid extra for. If we go again would pay the premium rate for a better bedroom. Have a few complaints about the room that I will address with the hotel. The room was very clean, and new towels and bedding each day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Melia Gorriones

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
The location is quite breathtaking! We only stayed one night but the small kitchen is a very useful addition if one were half board or with children.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Oirschot

Great hotel if you like kitesurfing

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had a perfect stay with kitesurfing friends. Had level all inclusive which was great