Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Enjoyed a short winter break here

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Lovely hotel with great suites/pods. Friendly staff and good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Risco del Gato is a very quite small hotel which consists of a number of detached suites situated in gardens around a central building. The resort has a very nice beach with a couple of beach bars. But there are no independent cafes, bars or restaurants or local life. It is really a collection of very big hotels, you need to be at least half board. Book your airport transfers before you go, as it takes an 1 1/2 hours on the airport coach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great design, perfect quiet beachside bubble

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Loved staying here, quiet area with beautiful beach 2 min walk and so many patches of beach to meander between and choose. The hotel itself is imaginatively designed, rows of pod style apartments surrounded by winding lanes and pools and maintained cactus plants. Food is ok, standard buffets with occasional theme. Their 2nd terrace restaurant is top notch though. Bar could stay open later, closed 11pm. No party animal but for latin folk thats super early!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ashby de la zouch

Great hotel in a quiet area of the resort

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Staff, accommodation, location, facilities, food, landscape gardens, pools - all good Hardly any children 😀
Cons: Smokers on the terrace during breakfast - designated smoking area needed Coffee machine in room but coffee not provided free (?) -creamer is though!
Location: Quiet location on the edge of the resort Few shops restaurants and bars nearby Beach less than10 minutes walk
We loved the quirkiness of the accommodation - the most spacious we have ever had. Private patios with sun beds and outside shower, another patio with table and chairs, huge bedroom, bathroom with jacuzzi and a lounge with to and fridge etc. Very effective a/c Great restaurant on site and other eateries within 1 or 2 km. Beach a short walk away. Loved it all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very peaceful and private hotel, close to beach

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Design/architecture of the rooms. Having a private terrace and garden was great, rooms spacious. Public areas clean, pretty and quiet.
Cons: Not much.... Demolish the rather tacky looking H10 hotel next door so that Risco deal Gato can have all its sea view back - would be great ;-)
Location: Costa Calma is a cultural black hole... This Risco del Gato hotel and lovely beaches are definitely the best features. Restaurants choices v. limited!
This hotel has a unique design, with each room being a detached suite with separate lounge/ bedroom and private terrace. We found this to be a really nice idea. The rooms are very peaceful, and very private making the hotel a very relaxing environment to be in. Cleanliness was good, and staff very friendly. This hotel seemed to be the best in Costa calma - the other nearby 'all inclusives' looked a lot less charming and quiet.
4 out of 5
by Jakub from Bradford, UK

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
awesome staff, food was a little underwhelming: healthy, but not especially tasty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Highly recommended. Calm, relaxing - near beach.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The ambience, both pools (particularly the heated one) and the accommodation
Cons: The bar in the hotel, very slow service
We stayed in a Senior suite which is exactly as described on the web site. The hotel is truly lovely with fabulous staff. The beach is only a 3 minute walk plus many restaurants and bars all within 5- 15 minutes. However you have the best restaurant in Costa Calma on your doorstep... The Terraza Del Gato, do not miss it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Lived up to expectations

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Costa Calma is a quiet resort, ideal for a secluded, relaxing break. If you want things to do I would recommend hiring a car and touring the island
When we first booked our stay at the Risco del Gato we immediately trawled through the countless reviews of the resort, trying to find one which had any real criticism. We couldnt find a single one, so we had a pretty good idea that we had chosen well. It certainly lived up to expectations. The resort was all we'd hoped it would be. The apartments were clean, spacious , and the secluded courtyards were wonderful for catching the last hour or so of sunshine each day. The resort itself has a wonderful aura of calm about it. There was no mad scramble for sunbeds, no bunfight in the restaurant (the food was first class), and all of the staff were wonderfully helpful and polite. If there was anything at all I could change, it would be slightly softer mattresses on the beds (but that's just a personal preference) and maybe a slightly bigger fridge in the apartments, but these really are just minor details. We are already planning another visit here next year. Having visited Fuerteventura several times in the past, no other resort we've visited holds a candle to Risco del Gato.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Unique hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Risco Del Gato. We were very impressed with the hotel, particularly the accommodation in the unique pods. These were very spacious, clean and comfortable and the food in the hotel was very good quality and varied. The only real downside to the stay was that the resort is very quiet indeed.
5 out of 5
by Laura from UK

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was a wonderful place for couples. We went in September and there were hardly any children and the vibe at the hotel was very peaceful and serene. The staff were extremley attentive and the food in the hotel was really delicious. I booked what I thought was room-only, however, when we arrived the staff told us that breakfast would be included in the package. A Bonus! The description states there is free wifi in the rooms - this was not the case, wifi was only free/available in reception building and wifi in rooms and mifi could be paid for. This was not a big deal for us. You do not need a car to get to resturants etc, I would recommend going for a few walks and finding the centres for good places to eat.