Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Nice hotel... Excellent location for port avenchura theme park. I found the hotel lacking in activities for children in the evening... It was a struggle as to what yo do in evenings and nights back at hotel with kids. The breakfast was same everyday, slight difference would be good. Overall nice hotel, good location and beautiful place. I felt the rooms could be cleaner, the cleaners need some talking to! Helpful staff at reception. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel close to parks

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Facilites including nice pool and close to the theme parks.
Cons: Reception staff excellent but always queues.
Location: Near to Portaventura and Costa Caribe Aquatic Park
Good hotel with nice pool, comfortable rooms and free train to theme parks. Good buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Caribe - Port Aventura

Posted Aug 22, 2015
This was a very convenient hotel for persons interested in family fun at the Port Aventura theme park as well as leisurely relaxation on the beautiful beaches of Salou and Cambrils. The shuttle service to and from the park was commendable and it was easy enough to get around to local sightseeing. Only advice would be as this hotel gives you certain window times to go to breakfast, it is probably best to choose an earlier window as anything after the 9.30am window resulted in queues to be seated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Tired Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Never again Avoid this one like the plague Food crap Better places to spend your money Beds sandy on our arrival Took an age to check in Overpriced food Rugby scrum for transport to park No mini bar as stated This box ain't big enough to fully list my dissatisfaction
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Not a 4* hotel wouldn't stay again

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We stayed in El Paso hotel before and it was much better than the Caribe Hotel..... Rooms were standard size not cleaned to the best standards...... On arrival we had to que for 1hr 20 mins to check in......... There was only 25 people infront of us!! Once in our room it didn't look like it had been cleaned there was coke stains up the wall the doors had dirty marks on it and the sofa bed my daughter had to sleep in was filthy dirty, beds were very uncomfortable like sleeping on hard floors....... The maids don't do a good job at cleaning, it's the first time I've seen maids Hoover tile floors because of this they miss all the edges especially in the bathroom you could see all the dirt and old hairs around the edges and in the corners of the floor. This hotel is in desperate need of room upgrades. The pools are ok don't expect to have fun tho as the life guards blow their whistle at everything lol we called them the "no fun Guards" no inflatables allowed in the pool either! On a positive note we had bed & breakfast and the food at breakfast was very nice lots of choices to choose from and all freshly cooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel tres bien, proche du parc

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Nous avons passé un excellent séjour. Nous avons apprécié les piscines et plages de sable; la beauté des lieux et espaces ; la qualité et quantité du buffet petit dejeuner ; la navette et les pass illimités pour acceder au parc port aventura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice pool and surroundings

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Pool Theme park
Cons: Check in should be more efficient
Location: I liked the hotel as it was out of the centre
Evening food not great - better to go oufood disappointed that we left an electric toothbrush and it was not found in the room. Check in slow as per previous reviews but a nice hotel with the added extra of the theme park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoofddorp

gunstige ligging, alles ter plaatse

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: De rust in het park, hotel Caribe geeft je echt het gevoel dat je op een tropisch eiland bent.
Cons: Er was 1 oudere dame die heeft lopen klagen over(kinder-) luchtbedden in de zwembaden, nooit eerder gebeurt, in geen jaren! Nu mag het niet meer!!!
Location: Salou was heel leuk! Gezellige winkeltjes en strand, is prachtig! Het park Portaventura is geweldig leuk
Gunstige accommodatie, aan het zwembad/ zandstrandje. Uitstekend eten met all you can eat buffet. Pretpark Port Aventura en Salou (met strand en gezellige winkeltjes) makkelijk te bereiken zelfs loopafstand. Voor gezinnen de ideale vakantie, voor ieder wat wils!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Barr

Hotel nice

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The theme of the Caribbean style a relaxed atmosphere, good size beds
Cons: Tea/Coffee facilities
Location: Salou centre, Beach, theme park, water park, Barcelona
Good hotel would go back again, good hotel grounds and maintained, pool area excellent, staff helpful, food good, Salou centre within walking distance plenty of shops restaurants theme park very good, overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Good hotel, would stay again

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Great location near the partk
Cons: Queues on checkin need to be improved ...
Our second year at Portaventura. This year we chose Hotel Calibre over the Hotel Gold River for a change - there was no much difference in price of the overall holiday The hotel is "ok" - nothing special though, and a short land train ride or walk to the main Portaventura park (and then another 0.5 mile to any decent rides from the actual entry of the park - but thats a park issue not a hotel issue). The room was fine - Room 1010 - although the sliding porch doors would not lock - you could see marks where someone has tried and failed to repair it many times in the past - which meant effectivly the room was insecure all holiday long - but still nothing was stolen... I would have reported it by reception is ALWAYS queued for check ins. I found out as we were leaving - a tip - that the queue is for CHECK IN only - and residents, after checking, can then use the OTHER person on the desk, the customer service dude, where there was never a queue... good tip, as he was also the person to talk to about your bus times back to the airport. The pools were good - but the advertising photos leads you to believe they are all connected when they are not - there are two pools, one with a sandy bottom, and one normal pool - the water between them has a sandy bottom, 2 foot deep and is quite murky and mucky - and not allowed to be entered, think of it like a pond :-) as thats what it really is used as and is for - its NOT a pool!