Ratings based on 1,249 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: The beds were super comfortable
Cons: Cost of parking. Too much!
Location: Very convenient location for shopping and dining.
Very happy with our stay here. Staff was great,especially Eduardo, our bartender. Great conversation and perfect cocktails! My only complaint about the hotel is $14 a day for parking is way to steep. I think that paying for parking at all other than valet parking is out of line. Still we will indeed stay here again. G&K
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but....

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The overnight parking fee is $14. That is a bit excessive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai China

Didn’t clean my room.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
With extensive traveling experience, I believe this hotel is 3 star. I stayed 5 days. And member of IHG. It start good. The staff is polite and helpful. however, no one clean up the room for the last day of stay. I returned hotel at 8pm and planned to sleep early for morning flight in Lax. I had to call front desk several times. The room maid finally showed up at 9:30pm and finish at 10pm. The hotel told me they didn’t have enough hands. I left room unoccupied for 8 hours. I asked for refund for the last night. But I didn’t hear anything since I checked out. BTW, the internet sucks, unstable at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Room Smell

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Booked two rooms with queen beds. One room was fine, the other reeked of a sewage smell. Went to front desk to change rooms no options. No queen rooms and no roll away for a King Room. What hotel does not have roll away? The maintenance came and sprayed the room but did not last... Will not be our first choice in future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Put a door on the ice machine room or get rid of it altogether.
Location: Mcdnalds.
The hotel looks good in the pictures, so I figured it would be ok for a night. I was wrong. The hotel room was dingy and had a broken bathroom door that would not shut! The room was also in a terrible location. Not only was it right be the parking lot of McDonalds it was also next to the ice machine. The ice machine was going crazy, so we called the front desk. They were rude and said they already knew about it and were getting it fixed. Well, that didn't happen. We requested to move rooms and were denied. So all night long we were kept awake by the ice machine making crazy noises. Next up was the delivery trucks coming to McDonalds in the morning. We got to hear the beeping and backing up and idling all morning. Then the parking lot of the hotel got very loud in the morning. All in all the hotel has many flaws and should be skipped.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Cons: Black out curtains in the bedroom, better mattress, fix A/C in room.
Disappointing for a Crown Plaza Hotel. I was expecting more from this level of hotel, especially in Costa Mesa.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

Horrible Customer Service

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: Hotel staff, their customer service, and hotel policy
Reserved a room with Crown Plaza before attending a concert, and when my husband and I arrived there at 6:30pm we were told our room won't be available till 9pm. When we inquired why when our check-in time was at 3pm, we were told the previous hotel client had requested to stay additional hours due to delays from their airline. We were stunned to hear no apologies, and no efforts from the hotel staff to make other accommodations for me and my husband, and meantime others would come and ask for their reservations and would have their room. We asked why no one called to inform us, and was told since we booked the room through Expedia it wasn’t their responsibility, and we should call Expedia. We explicated we needed our room for change of clothing to attend dinner and a concert and a night stay so we don’t have to drive home after midnight, and was told they are not able to help us, which at that point we asked for the hotel manager and was told he won’t be there till next morning. Again, no efforts to help us for this inconvenience they have caused. Dismayed and furious we called Expedia and we were offered to be relocated to another hotel, which at that point we asked Expedia to cancel our reservation. With no time for dinner we left the hotel and changed our clothes in the car, and with an unbelievable experience we had encountered from Crown Plaza Hotel attended the concert and drove home afterward. I would never book with this Hotel and wouldn’t recommend them to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met our needs for trip

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Standard hotel room. Good parking access.
Cons: Needs some upgrading.
Location: Segerstrom and South Coast Plaza just down the street.
Not a fancy place, but a good hotel. Very convenient to Segerstrom Concert Hall which was the purpose of our trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Convenient location but rooms are out dated

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location was very convenient.
Cons: Update the carpet and furniture. Put a fridge in the rooms.
We were travelling with our newborn and there was no fridge in the room. We asked for a fridge and they promised that they will bring one to our room. After our 8 days of stay in that room, asking for it almost every other day, they did not bring the fridge to our room. The carpets were old there were some fading here and there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for the OC commuter

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: proximity to 405 & 55
Cons: More reasonable parking fee. Why would you build a "business traveler" hotel by the 405 & 55, and then make renting a car punitive.
Nice location. Comfortable. Clean. Affordable. Think it is absurd to have to pay $17 per day to park your car though.