Ratings based on 1,220 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin T,x

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice place ,easy access ,convenient, Would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Decent Hotel, Rude Staff

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I have stayed here a few times but never again. Hotel is clean for the most part. The location is nice too as it is right off the 405 and close to restaurants, shopping, and just a short drive from South Coast Plaza. Most of the hotel staff are friendly but the service is painfully slow. All three times I've stayed here it's taken me around15 minutes just to check in. They only ever have one person working the front desk and there always seems to be a line, not to mention it takes a while when you're being helped in the first place. The only reason I won't be returning is because the manager is very rude. Don't expect him to help you out with anything without getting an attitude in return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Funky but Nice

Posted Sep 19, 2017
This place is a bit dog eared, but there is something pleasing about it and I really enjoyed my stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
bed was like a hard board, room smelled like pot, cockroach i killed in the room but the young lady at the first desk was wonderful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs California

Please refer to my two earlier replies to you

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: proximity and location to Laguna Beach where I had meetings.
Cons: Refer to my earlier THREE responses to your requests. Room cleanliness, sanitation, honesty (I still have not received my incidentals deposit back)
Location: Location is fine,, lots to do near by.
I have now filled out three of your requests for my experience with this hotel. I have tried repeatedly to contact Vagabond Hotel's main office with no success. I see by others that they have the same problem trying to contact the corporate offices. I have written them my complaints as well as sending a copy of my experience and complaints regarding the total lack of sanitation to the Orange County Health department. I am still waiting for my cash deposit demanded for "incidentals" although I cannot imagine what incidentals there may have been available. I feel this is a reflection on Expedia and that Expedia would be well advised to take a serious look into this. My name and phone number has now been removed. Anything else?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel, bed was comfortable, restaurants near

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room was clean nothing fancy but quiet and bed comfortable. Pool area clean and pool was heated. Breakfast had good choices for a continental breakfast. Fast food and other restaurants near hotel. Close driving to beach, fair and freeway. Staff friendly and check in was fast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: If this hotel was demolished and cardboard boxes erected for habitation, it would be an improvement.
Location: In n Out burger in the same parking lot.
When I arrived, there were police arresting a couple in the room next to mine. Good start. Once I was in the room, I found that the AC did not work, and there were bugs and roaches crawling about. WiFi did not work as well. I had drank alcohol, so I couldn't drive elsewhere. There were hairs and stains on the sheets, and stains on the overhead lighting fixture (of which one bulb was burned out). I slept with all of my clothes on in order to not catch whatever disease was in the sheets. I would've gone to another hotel, but all in the area were sold out that night (I was in town attending a wedding). Stay away from this hotel unless you're planning on holing up in it and smoking meth for a few weeks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Had a musty smell, need to fix a/c. Not used to older rooms at high rates
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting Experience

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Expect a wait while checking in. Had to go back to the lobby because key card didn't work. Room smelled like mold, no remote for tv in room. TV quality low, and was full of static, definitely free cable. Bag of "something" hidden in toilet tank. When you turned on the bathtub faucet, the shower turns on as well, even if you had the shower off. Also a very large and INTERESTING drawing on the back of the bathroom door. Very loud and questionable clientele
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany California

I had a comment TV bad reception & sink rm-227

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Nice hotel close to everything that we need, inexpensive. We had a good time. Tell next time...