Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inland Empire

Great hotel for the quick stay.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and simple.
Cons: The light switches were a little wonky. Once I figured it out, everything was great.
Location: Close to the OC Fair grounds. Easy freeway access which would make beach trips simple.
The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, and parking was easy. Walking distance from the OC Fair and easy access to the freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Wonderful stay

Posted Jul 28, 2017
After a long drive or a day at the beach. The room, pool and staff were all welcoming. The bed wad comfortable and breakfast a very nice touch. I will be recommending this place to all my friends and will be staying again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, price, breakfast was good.
Cons: Room was not cleaned until we asked at 4:45 PM.
Location: Orange Coast, tewinkle field, Costa Mesa HS, and beach all close by.
Great location close to beach and dinning and baseball. We took bp every day at Tewinkle field which is perfect for a baseball family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Unexpected charges that were never disclosed not good at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Dean, Hotel Management
Dear Honorable Guest, Than you very much for taking the time writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you have a charge which you were not aware of it. Please note that we do not have any charges except room rate + 11% taxes, and property damage charge if there is any. Please let me know if you have any extra charges I will be happy to refund you with compensation. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer better experience for guest in the future. Sincerely, Naj Ekhlas General Manager Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SFBayArea

Reasonable hotel close to airport, UCI and freeway

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: It is economical when compared to other hotels nearby. Convenient car access to many attractions. The free breakfast was good,
Cons: The room had a fragrance that was annoying. The air conditioner was noisy and cycled on and off often.
Location: It is close to UCI, John Wayne Airport, Newport Beach, and other attractions. The fairgrounds are nearby.
Check in was fast. Free parking was plentiful and easy. There is a small pool in the back of the hotel. Our room which was on the 2nd floor in back of the hotel was quiet. Freeway is in front hotel. There is a separate building in front near the office for breakfast. The breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast included coffee, juice, waffles, cinnamon rolls, cereal, fruit, bread, scrambled eggs, bacon, and potatoes. The landscaping is bland and uninteresting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Really top notch

Posted Jun 26, 2017
As usual Best Western did an exceptional job from the courteous personnel to the lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland,Ca

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Hotel was very nice. My wife thought the bed sheets felt a bit rough. I had no problems with anything. Very polite staff. We would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com charged me $30 more than the hotel's actual rate on the night of our stay. I will never trust this website and book anything from Hotels.com. The pictures on the website are nothing like the actual hotel, not even close.. Don't be fooled by the pictures. The room was very old and stinky, sheets were old with rough texture and stains on them. Very unpleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017
Dear Honorable guest, Thank you very much for taking the time write a review. We could not understand your all this frustration regarding the $30 over charge as the hotel employees do not have any interest to over charge any guest. We do our best to make sure our guests have comfortable stay with us and we deliver the serve what we promise. We hope we can serve you once again in the near future to be able to earn you satisfaction. Sincerely, Naj Ekhlas General Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay, close to the ocean, good breakfast, and comfy room, nice pool and jacuzzi area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the fairgrounds!

Posted May 19, 2017
The wonderful receptionist on Saturday morning May 13 was so kind to my son and I. The breakfast staff were equally friendly. We were also accommodated in our request to have two adjoining rooms. My only complaint was the shower drain and diverter not working well in rm 117.